We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Lugano

Lake Lugano
Lugano, Switzerland
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 31 attractions in Lugano
Type: Bodies of Water
Attraction Details
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Many, many years ago my parents honeymooned on Lake Lugano so I always promised it a visit.
It is a truly magnificent place in fine weather; the lake itself with it's many colours; the surrounding mountains - some of which are accessible by funicular - are magic; the town and villages on the lake are quaint yet busy; the people don't have the 'Swiss reserve' but the Italian friendliness to visitors and children.
It's got to be on everyone's 'must visit list'!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    136
    24
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great location lots to do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

a busy city with commerce and banking at the fore. Good walks to be had to and in the centre, especially the pedestrianized old parts. We walked round to Mont Bre and beyond, excellent walking with good places to stop and refresh. Local Lido recommended!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Usa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Picture Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed in the small town of Ascona - right on Lake Lugano. Italy and Switzerland share a border there.
The town is lovely with many small local restaurants right on the lake front. We had the most amazing lemon pasta that we'd ever eaten in our lives. It's a local specialty - just wide noodles, lemon zest, lemon juice, cream and salt and pepper - amazing!
There are ferries that go up and down the lake stopping in many small towns - you pay one price and can get on and off as much as you like. The lake is pristine.
We also visited many of the other lakes - each one is sppecial but this one beats them all.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santos, SP
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Just amazed about it's green gardens, wonderful promenade and calm waters. Don't forget to grip a Gellato and enjoy.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond,ky
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“water taxi to gondoria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We ride water taxi to Gondoria was very fun ride. About 20min ferry ride and we ate a lunch at Gondoria which was fishing village.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Lugano also viewed

 

Been to Lake Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Lugano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lake Lugano to your Saves list