We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lido Seegarten

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lido Seegarten to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Lido Seegarten
Viale Castagnola 24, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Houston
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Best view ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

Inspite of some negative reviews, we drove by and since we were tired of driving in heavy traffic, we decided to check it out. It is one of only a few hotels to have a waterfront property, most are across the street from the lake. It was more expensive than we usually like, but it is Switzerland, and travel bargains are hard to find. We were travelling with our daughter, age 21, and needed space. They had a large corner room with a king and a twin (302), with two balconies overlooking the lake and mountains. Without a doubt it was the most beautiful view we ever had. The furniture was not elegant, but it was satisfactory. The room was very clean and quiet. The bathroom was clean and had all we needed. The floor was carpeted, the bathroom with marble tile. The cost for three with breakfast was 425 euros. Lake view doubles started at 320, mountain/street side doubles started at 260 euros. The euro at this time was $1.24 and falling. The desk was helpful, perhaps a bit formal by American standards, but ready to help. The breakfast was of high quality, scrambled eggs, ham, bacon, sausages, cheeses, fruit, yoghurt, juice, and pleanty of coffee. Parking was free, but the wireless internet cost 25 euros for a day. The fitness center was on the roof, and you could work out with a view that was out of this world.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    36
    19
    9
    5
See reviews for
5
27
14
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

This hotel has a wonderfull view of Lake Lugano, i recomended a lot

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

I would never in my life recommend anyone to stay at this hotel.
I booked through tripadvisor at a nice rate for a room with myself and my daughter. The price was confirmed over the internet for two. When I got there they said they would be charging more - almost double the original amount booked over the internet because we were two people and not one. I asked to speak to the manager and was then told she was eating lunch but I could wait half an hour and she would tell me the same! THe parking for the hotel is also a total rip off - outside and in full sun and the gate does not even work properly.
I told them to keep their room and went across the road to Villa Castagnola - this is the most charming, beautiful hotel and I can so so recommend it for anything from children to the most romantic honeymoon getaway. The staff are magnificent and if you get a garden room it is 1000 times nicer and even cheaper than the Lido Seegarten hotel!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

We are lucky enough to be able to travel a all over the world and had a really bad experience with this Hotel. It has an absolutely wonderful view hence their price probably. When it comes to service , quality and particular attitude from the personal and in particular director, they are a real shame for Switzerland and in particular for the friendly Ticino. I m sure we will be finding other Hotels in Lugano who deserve their 4 stars. Luckily they are but an exception. Claudio

p.s do not expect any bathrobe, househoes, evening service, nor any electronic key for the garage ( particularly nice when it poors with rain you have but get out of the car to do the numbers..when and if it works...! hilarous ) but expect the omelette with your breakfast around 18chf ! when pointing those details out expect to be sent to a 5 star ...as only response by the owner..! I was expecting to see candid camera around the corner... !

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The lack of quality, personal and service in the room...extremely poor...no bathrobe, houseshoes, no evening sevice and this is supposed to be a 4 star...price wise yes...
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

The views of the lake are awesome, the pool is fine and the breakfast and service were fine, but that's about it. Maybe I am just not familiar with the Swiss star-rating system, but the room had linoleum (!!!) floors, dated and very flimsy and cheap bed and furniture. Not four star in any other country I have been to, more like two star. Hotel is mostly full of German and Swiss senior citizen couples or families.

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — linoleum floor in room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2007

Stayed there in 2003 and 2005 with my mother. Good service and food .Not cheap, but Switzerland is never cheap.The Grill Room and Pizzeria menu offer the best value.So you can order of that all day and evening to keep the costs down
Quirky key cards that open the door to your suite and the need to put into slot once inside to turn on the electricity.The hotel does not give you instructions when you check in so it is guess work.Also there are insufficient instructions on how to use the telephone in the suite.Hotel updated in 1995. Rooms could do with an update.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWEDEN
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2007

I have to celebrate my mother who turns 80 in a couple of months. So why not take her to a Grande Olde Dame in Lugano? Which seems reasonably priced? So I whizzed down overnight to scout the Lido Seegarten. After having explained my purpose and asked a couple of routine questions I was mailed back to provide my credit card number. I found this a trifle unusual for just one night with halfboard and said so. Hotel rules however, state that one MUST do so. So I phoned them and gave my number. 2 days before arrival I mailed another question l and got an answer from the owner, stating that "we are not so funny as You are" and that a credit card number was needed. I phoned for the second time, gave the number again, explained that it had been given previously, and the receptionist found the number as well. I asked them to tell the owner this.
On arrival, I was shown to a clean room wit a lovely view. Modern furniture and electronic lock that did not work. Got a key which worked. Had a drink served by Cesare, the kind barman and a very decent three course dinner for CHF 50. Good selection of wine in half bottles. Good service in the restaurant with kind and interested waiters. On leaving I had to give my credit card and then punch in my security code behind the desk. Something I do not remember having been forced to do anywhere else. I would have been quite happy with the stay if the owner, or at least reception staff would have asked if everything was to my satisfaction, and, perhaps, if I would like to celebrate mother there. They did not. I mailed the owner afterwards and told her I felt a bit sad about the reception and the card thing but have to date received no reply. That unfortunately leaves a bitter taste in my mouth. The hotel is nice, the view lovely and the food good. I just wish the owner would have been a wee bit more interested in communication with her guests.

  • Liked — The lovely view
  • Disliked — The lack of interaction between owner and guest
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lido Seegarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lido Seegarten

Address: Viale Castagnola 24, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Lido Seegarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Seegarten Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lido Seegarten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.