We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lido Seegarten

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lido Seegarten to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Lido Seegarten
Viale Castagnola 24, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Buford, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What a Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Very nice hotel, directly on the lake. Close to Restaurants, Bus and Boat station, shopping and hiking. Nice size rooms, clean, great hotel staff. The breakfast was wonderful with a nice selection of food.

Room Tip: Lake view, great choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    36
    19
    9
    5
See reviews for
5
27
14
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
amman
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I am a regular customer at the Lido but not out of choice. There are a few good things about the hotel such as the lake view and the superb restaurant food. Its short falling is its front desk and hideous room decor--wall-to-wall green carpets, pastel peach-colored walls, and pastel green bed and side tables. Customer service shows when you are faced with a problem, and the front desk failed me twice. The first time when my meeting ran over the schedule and I requested one-hour later for check out. The second time when I had a problem with my room and I asked for another one. Both times the front desk acted as if it was the most difficult request (and I'm a regular customer). She denied me the first time and the second time she managed to give me a worst room than the first one. The hotel has so much potential and it can easily become the best hotel in Lugano if they renovate the rooms and send their front desk staff for training! (PS: restaurant and bar staff are fantastic...they should give the front desk some tips!)

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view on the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I´ve been a few times in this hotel and it always puzzles me the huge difference between the very elegant and tasty decoration of the common areas, and the ugly aspect of the rooms. Rooms with such a great view definitely deserved a more clean, contemporary decoration. In summary: a wonderful hotel if you don´t consider the rooms decoration.

Room Tip: Any room facing the lake offer astonishing views.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

To have a room with view over the lake is a must. Ideal location and very dedicated staff. Delicious breakfast and food, the terrace is a beautiful place where to relax and enjoy the serene atmosphere of the lake.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My room was booked for me as part of a conference, and I was disappointed to find that it was quite small, facing inland over the street (which however is reasonably quiet at night), and somewhat lacking in basic facilities such as a convenient electric socket for charging a phone or tablet. The restaurant has a spectacular lake view and the food is good Italian-Swiss. So "adequate" must be the verdict. Key point: when booking, ensure a lake view.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The location of the hotel is simply perfect!! The hotel stuff is so helpful. The hotel cleanliness and room furniture is satisfying!. The restaurant services great & delicious food for breakfast & dinner with a great atmospheric view on the lake!

You can reach the city center from the hotel within 10-15 min walking and enjoy exploring the city or you can use the bus if you're a lazy [--] :P

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I give this hotel a good rating because of the view, which compensates for any shortcomings. Do not bother staying here unless you get a room with a view of the lake. My room was big and clean, but very basic - more a 3* than a 4*. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom good, but the desk was substandard and there was not a proper chair to sit if you wanted to get some work done. The noise from the corridor and other rooms is also noticeable.

As for the service, I found it to be adequate. The restaurant is ok, particularly the breakfast (dinner was not that great in my opinion). The gym is also fine, but it is very odd to have to go up through a dimly lit corridor and ask for a key to get in there... I must say I didn't feel very comfortable in there and had to lock the door while I was working out.

Go for the lake view (I suppose this must be a terrific place to stay to enjoy the lake in warm weather)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lido Seegarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lido Seegarten

Address: Viale Castagnola 24, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Lido Seegarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Seegarten Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lido Seegarten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.