We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lido Seegarten

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lido Seegarten to your Saves list
Hotel Lido Seegarten
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Castagnola 24, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 43 Hotels in Lugano
Avignon, France
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We recently shared a room with lake view and balcony in this marvenous hotel, the only one in Lugano directly on the lake. It boasts a large swimming pool, a pontoon and platform for swimmers in the lake, excellent facilties ans top notch service.
This is a place where you can rest happily and serenly. Excellent public rooms: bar with incredible selection, large dining room overlooking the lake. Many newspapers daily available. We only tried the breakfast buffet and it was really very good and served with class.
Highly recommend lakefront rooms: large and comfortable, balcony, etc.,

Room Tip: A lake front room is a necessity as the others are on the main road along the coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    43
    23
    12
    5
See reviews for
9
33
15
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there during 7 - 17 Nov, and opted for a lake view room. The hotel decor reminded me of a classic movie location set initially. But I was soon won over by the magnificent view of tranquility. It was qt chilly during my stay and I asked for a flask of hot water daily, which the staff obliged, even though it took them to understand what I was asking, as they spoke little English, mostly Italian.

Near to Lido are a 1-star Michelin restaurant & a short vernacular ride to Mt. Bre not to be missed. Book in advance, or even go in summer, so as not to be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

In comparison to other hotels in Lugano, this hotel was decent for the available rates. I took a room that faced lake lugano and it was relaxing to wake up every morning to a breathtaking view. The food prices are expensive,but then this is Switzerland. You'll probably expect that. A normal meal will easily costs you about 30 CH, the portions are big and can be shared. The staff was nice and friendly and went out of their way to help me. The rooms, however, are not quite sound proof and you can almost here what's happening in the other rooms.
Traveling to the city centre is convenient, just about 10 mins walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
133 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Nice hotel, and splendid location, on the lake of Lugano. The experience changes a lot of course if you do not get a room with lake view. The hotel can become a little noisy when is full, because ir is a little building. The food is good but kind of everpriced. Service is good, but nothing fancy or special. If you don' t get a room with lake view is not much worth the price ((the overall rating would drop in my evaluation).

Room Tip: Ask for lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

What a phenomenal hotel! My husband and I spent three nights at this hotel. It is ideally located on lake Lugano and the view alone is absolutely breathtaking. Location wise it is a ten minute walk from the centre of the town and there is an bank and supermarket just down the street. The rooms are a bit old fashioned but very lovingly maintained and exceptionally clean. The staff was very helpful and very friendly. It has poolside service and the restaurant is ON the water! We had dinner at the hotel twice as the food was exceptional (pricey,but too good to pass on).
We spent part of each day by the pool and it was a relaxed and all round wonderful trip. They can expect us back soon!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Had dinner here a few times (I live in lugano) and the dishes are well presented and delicious (and so is the aperol spritz!). This place is ideal for a romantic dinner thanks to the amazing view over the gulf of Lugano.

however, don't forget you are in the centre of an expensive town and you'll pay for both the view and the quality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

This property is right on the lake and has magnificent views. The outdoor pool and terrace are enjoyable in summer, as is the direct access to the lake. The hotel has one of the best restaurants in the city with a great wine selection. The rooms are a bit dated but comfortable and have all the standard luxury amenities: bathrobes, slippers, free wireless, and parking nearby. The staff is warm and friendly. The city is a short walk away. Suitable for both business and vacation travellers.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.9 mi away
Hotel Walter au Lac
Hotel Walter au Lac
#21 of 43 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#26 of 43 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bellevue Au Lac
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.9 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lido Seegarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lido Seegarten

Address: Viale Castagnola 24, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lido Seegarten 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Lido Seegarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Seegarten Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lido Seegarten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.