We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lido Seegarten

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lido Seegarten to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Lido Seegarten
Viale Castagnola 24, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there during 7 - 17 Nov, and opted for a lake view room. The hotel decor reminded me of a classic movie location set initially. But I was soon won over by the magnificent view of tranquility. It was qt chilly during my stay and I asked for a flask of hot water daily, which the staff obliged, even though it took them to understand what I was asking, as they spoke little English, mostly Italian.

Near to Lido are a 1-star Michelin restaurant & a short vernacular ride to Mt. Bre not to be missed. Book in advance, or even go in summer, so as not to be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    36
    19
    9
    5
See reviews for
5
27
14
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

In comparison to other hotels in Lugano, this hotel was decent for the available rates. I took a room that faced lake lugano and it was relaxing to wake up every morning to a breathtaking view. The food prices are expensive,but then this is Switzerland. You'll probably expect that. A normal meal will easily costs you about 30 CH, the portions are big and can be shared. The staff was nice and friendly and went out of their way to help me. The rooms, however, are not quite sound proof and you can almost here what's happening in the other rooms.
Traveling to the city centre is convenient, just about 10 mins walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Nice hotel, and splendid location, on the lake of Lugano. The experience changes a lot of course if you do not get a room with lake view. The hotel can become a little noisy when is full, because ir is a little building. The food is good but kind of everpriced. Service is good, but nothing fancy or special. If you don' t get a room with lake view is not much worth the price ((the overall rating would drop in my evaluation).

Room Tip: Ask for lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

What a phenomenal hotel! My husband and I spent three nights at this hotel. It is ideally located on lake Lugano and the view alone is absolutely breathtaking. Location wise it is a ten minute walk from the centre of the town and there is an bank and supermarket just down the street. The rooms are a bit old fashioned but very lovingly maintained and exceptionally clean. The staff was very helpful and very friendly. It has poolside service and the restaurant is ON the water! We had dinner at the hotel twice as the food was exceptional (pricey,but too good to pass on).
We spent part of each day by the pool and it was a relaxed and all round wonderful trip. They can expect us back soon!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Had dinner here a few times (I live in lugano) and the dishes are well presented and delicious (and so is the aperol spritz!). This place is ideal for a romantic dinner thanks to the amazing view over the gulf of Lugano.

however, don't forget you are in the centre of an expensive town and you'll pay for both the view and the quality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

This property is right on the lake and has magnificent views. The outdoor pool and terrace are enjoyable in summer, as is the direct access to the lake. The hotel has one of the best restaurants in the city with a great wine selection. The rooms are a bit dated but comfortable and have all the standard luxury amenities: bathrobes, slippers, free wireless, and parking nearby. The staff is warm and friendly. The city is a short walk away. Suitable for both business and vacation travellers.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I live in Lugano but I spent a night at the Lido Seegarten due to some work in the bathroom of my house. As I work in the city I selected an hotel close to the city. The hotel is located 10-15 minutes on foot from Lugano downtown. What I think that it is important to note is that the Lido Seegarten is the only one hotel, and I would like to emphasize the only one!, that is direct on the lake side! (The others have always the street before the lake or like the Eden in Paradiso are composed of two buildings). In my opinion another very interesting aspect is that the hotel is managed by a family that in my opinion is big plus. The hotel as a swimming pool on the ground floor direct on the lake side (you can also go swimming in the lake) and two restaurants with a lovely terrace on the lake! This time I didn’t eat at the restaurants but I tried them before and I suggest everyone to have dinner there (think also about the location!) as the food is excellent. In the morning I had breakfast in the restaurant with a superb view on the lake (even if I see it every day it was a great experience so I can guess that from someone coming from another country is still better!).
The staff is extremely friendly and very helpful. As I didn’t need the lake side I booked a double room (for single use) called “Vista Monte Baro”. This kind of room have view on the Monte Baro and on the street in front of the hotel. I had no problem with the street as in fact in the night there is very little traffic (it begins in the morning). What surprised me was the size of the room: very comfortable with a double bed, a desk, a big armchair, etc. Really a nice room! In any case I can understand why someone told that 4 stars are too much: in my opinion the room should be refurnished as soonest (and the carpet removed) as it looks more like a 3 stars hotel. The bathroom was ok (with a shower) but again it would be better to renew it. Overall I would rate my stay as a 4 stars: ok the room maybe like a 3 stars but remember the excellent location of the hotel (on the lake, close to the city, etc) that are really a big plus and don’t forget the passion of the family owner of the hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lido Seegarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lido Seegarten

Address: Viale Castagnola 24, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Lido Seegarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Seegarten Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lido Seegarten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.