We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view, but basic service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lido Seegarten

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lido Seegarten to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Lido Seegarten
Viale Castagnola 24, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Basel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great view, but basic service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Location great,view phantastic, but the hotel has seen better days.

Room Tip: lakeside view, parking expensive. dinner at terrasse worth the price for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    35
    18
    9
    5
See reviews for
5
26
14
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Fantastic views, room basic, no carpet on floor, just something like linoleum for those old enough to remember it! Food excellent, service efficient but not very friendly. Very efficient at extracting money from guests; iron and ironing board not available, you have to pay for someone to do the ironing (expensive but a good job). The electricity supply comes from a very old-fashioned socket that you can't find anywhere else, and they won't lend you an adaptor, they will sell you one! Unnecessarily greedy in my view. I've seen and enjoyed the sensational view but wouldn't go back there if I could avoid it

Room Tip: ask for lake view, other roms have nice views of mountains but the lake view is unforgettable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Hotel Lido Seegarten is a great hotel for a relaxing vacation at Lugano if one wants to enjoy the lake. I have done a bit of research before I decided to choose to stay in this hotel because it is one of the few hotels on the lake side of street and one of the very few hotels with a lake-side pool. There is a stair from the swimming pool to the lake so one can also swim in the lake. There is a restaurant with a terrace by the lake so one can enjoy their complimentary breakfast, which is also pretty decent, by the lake every morning. The view of the lake from the hotel is fabulous. My room is a lake-view room on the third floor and the view of the lake is just wonderful. I have a standard room with a lake-view and the room is very spacious and neat with modern furnitures.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

The Hotel Lido Seegarten is not my first choice for hotels in Lugano but they do have one of the best "Business Lunchs" in town. so for the restaurant I would recommend it. And if you are going to stay at the hotel get a lake side room. They are like 3* but worth the view.

Room Tip: ask for lake side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

The rooms facing the lake have a gorgeous perspective. I had one on the end, 402, that was large and equipped for a disabled person. The Internet connection was good, but not free. The breakfasts were excellent. The entrance did not have a wheelchair ramp, but you could get in through the restaurant without going up a step. The service was a bit lackluster but not terrible. The restaurant's dinner menu was excellent. Overall, a positive experience

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Hotel Seegarten has a great location by the lake of Lugano. The lake side view rooms have great windows over the lake. the rooms are nice and clean and the housekeeping is always on top of things. the walls are very thin and you can hear EVERY SINGLE sounds my neighbors makes, from using the bathroom to snoring in the middle of the night.

the staff is stuffy and im sure they are required by the general management to be as sour and cold as possible with the clients as possible. don't try to have them smile, they are not paid to make you feel welcome.

Now,my hypothesis would be that it all starts with the general manager of the hotel case about his customers as much as he would care about a bag of rotten, stinky potatoes in the middle of his living room! He is still living in the 1960's when all you had to give your guest was a decent room and a bill. However, the general manager should slowly (there is no rush after all, we customers have all the time to waste our time and money on crappy services) to arrive on the 21st century. Catering (based on their own declarations) a target mostly business, you find out with a great stupefaction that you cannot use your computer in the restaurant to read your paper, because papers should not be online, "we have papers, signora, but not the ones you want "nor to work, because it bothers all other 3 business people in the restaurant who are speaking on a cell phone (im ok with that). Oh, also did i tell you that the wireless internet didn not work for 20 h but still they charged me for 'using it". I have a series of meetings each morning and i always want to prepare for the meeting while im having my coffee. today he suggested me to go outside (in 8C) to have my coffee and work.Just like the other traveler marcomassarotto was complaining, when i asked him why, the waiter who reprimanded me and told me that "the boss wants it like that"! really? would the boss prefer me sending the money for the room and don't even show up cause im kind of disturbing his cemetery hotel?

another colleague of mine was here on August 1st, the National Swiss Holiday and he asked for towels (he had none) and he was told" But Signore, this is our national day, our laundry team is not working!!!" oh, if only somebody could invent inventory management!

im so fed up with ignorants, arrogant and all together idiots who believe that just because you have a nice view you can treat me like garbage. even though i have to stay in this hotel about 3 weeks every year, i informed them today that im taking my business elsewhere. answer: whatever you want, signora!

well, i wish you a fast way to bankruptcy,so at least you don't waste other people's time and money and good mood. Shame on you but thank you for giving me enough material to write a "worst service model" case contributing to my classes in hospitality management. without incompetents like you how could we learn what not to do?

Room Tip: don't come here unless you want a sanatorium. if you are looking for a hotel with good service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We did not stay at this hotel but we had the pleasure to dinne at the restaurant. nice and romantic environment, profetional staff with the touch of elegance that unfortunately is disappearing. The food with the Italian touch was great.
Important, reservation at the restaurant strongly advisable......... If you get a table nothing else to say than Buon appetito.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lido Seegarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lido Seegarten

Address: Viale Castagnola 24, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Lido Seegarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Seegarten Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lido Seegarten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.