We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Stella Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Albergo Stella Hotel to your Saves list
Albergo Stella Hotel
Via F. Borromini 5, Lugano CH-6903 , Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the Albergo Stella. The bed was comfortable, the room was airconditioned, had a mini fridge, and the shower was spacious and had great water pressure!

A continental Breakfast was included in our rate and we found it was quite substantial with a selection of breads, pastries, cereal and fruit.

This hotel is a great place to base yourself in Lugano as it is a short walk from the station (if you use the most north exit, the hotel is only a five minute walk away) and about a 15 minute walk to the lake front.

We wouldn't hesitate to stay at his property again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    13
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
12
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Location five minutes from station and buses also the funicular to centre of town but note that it is being renovated fromAugust 2014 to December 2016 with a bus replacment.
Rooms okay excellent wi-fi, slightly basic air conditioning,small shower room.Reasonable breakfast served in nice room at back with pleasant terrace and small pool. Very helpful and friendly host who speaks at least four languages.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We arrived by bus from Milan Malpensa airport at the Lugano train station. Albergo Stella is a very short walk from the station (behind the station and slightly up the hill--use one of the underground passages to get through the station). We arrived before check-in, thinking they would just store our bags, but we were allowed to store our bags in our room! The room had a small air-conditioning unit that cooled the room well (and pretty quickly). The beds in our twin room were comfortable (and we slept well). There was a little balcony/terrace attached to our room with a table and chairs. The room had a mini-fridge and a TV. The wifi worked OK in the room. The breakfast room was very pretty, and we were able to sit outside. Breakfast included great croissants, great multi-grain bread, 3 cheeses plus "fresh cheese," sliced meat, 2 cereals, yummy strawberry yogurt, good coffee, orange juice, water (with lime?), honey, and ham. The room's ensuite bathroom was small (like a cruise cabin bathroom), but the shower had hot water with decent pressure. The room was non-smoking and did not smell like smoke (hooray!). The only smoke we smelled during our stay was during breakfast when another guest was smoking (and we were disappointed, but this was the first day of our trip, and we learned that all outdoor spaces smell like smoke in this part of Switzerland and Italy--ugh). One of the owners spoke excellent English (the man), but the woman spoke more limited English (but communicated). The only negative of the hotel is the cost--quite expensive (around $200 per night). For a first night in Europe, this was great for us, but now that I have a good feel of Lugano, I would look for a cheaper place if I come again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This hotel is a short walk from the north end of the train station.It is well-maintained with great artwork and lovely garden areas. . We enjoyed the breakfast and coffee each day. The breakfast room is sunny and bright and opens to a lovely garden area. This spot is nice to enjoy in the afternoon, too. Daniel is friendly and most helpful with information about what to do, where to dine, etc. Our room was fine with a very nice balcony, which we enjoyed. The bathroom was clean, but small and somewhat telephone booth-like. It seemed like a separate unit placed in the room. It struck us as a bit odd at first, but we got used to it. We loved this location---above the hustle and bustle of the lake area, an easy walk from the funicular that carries you up the steep hill after dinner, and quietly tucked in on a street near the train station.( from which we heard no noise). We would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. This is a great feature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Very convenient to train station or in our case the Bernina Express bus and an easy walk either to the funicular (very helpful coming home at night) or to streets that offer an easy stroll down to the lake. Our room was comfortable and well-appointed. There are lovely, eclectic art pieces throughout the hotel. The breakfast room opens onto a spacious, two-level deck, perfect for an afternoon break with a drink, a good book or both. The front desk staff were especially friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Of course there are many alternative hotels right by the lake - Albergo Stella is close to the rail station so sits well above the town. It's a nice stroll downhill and there's a CHF 1.10 funicular to take you down, or more likely up, from/to the nearby railway station. If you arrive by train make sure you use the northernmost exit (sp Besso) which very much minimises the climb towards the hotel just 150m away

It's a nice, clean and bright family run hotel and Daniel the husband is helpfulness personified - especially regarding what to do/ see and how to get there and back. Has a ton of good tourist info right to hand, and good recommendations regarding restaurants to try for dinner..

The room was simple, but very adequate, clean and well appointed, though the bathroom was bijou to say the least. Free WiFi. Breakfast was simple too, and in good weather served outside on a patio below the pool (not filled in early May).

A most pleasant hotel, where you are welcomed as a valued guest. No hesitation to recommend.

Room Tip: Our room at the front - when the windows/shutters were open - had some street noise (mainly a result...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaca, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and it was wonderful. The hotel is in a convenient location close to the train station. It is very pretty, very clean, and quiet, and the rooms are quite comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and is in a beautiful room with outside seating. The artwork throughout the hotel is very pretty! The owners are so nice and helpful. We highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Stella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Stella Hotel

Address: Via F. Borromini 5, Lugano CH-6903 , Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 100 meters off the central railway station of Lugano, we welcome you to our privately managed hotel called „ALBERGO STELLA“In our centrally located « 3* Garni Hotel », 14 comfortably furnished rooms, as well as a rich breakfast will be awaiting you.All rooms contain air conditioning, shower, WC, hair-dryer, minibar, safe, phone, radio, flat screen TV, and free Wi-Fi .Surrounded by a Mediterranean garden you may refresh yourself in our swimming pool after an exhausting day or you may comfortably spend your day there.Smoke Free HotelNo domestic animals please.Without elevator ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Albergo Stella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Stella Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.