We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Stella Hotel

Save Saved
You added Albergo Stella Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Albergo Stella Hotel
Via F. Borromini 5, Lugano CH-6903 , Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Kentucky
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Location and Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This hotel is a short walk from the north end of the train station.It is well-maintained with great artwork and lovely garden areas. . We enjoyed the breakfast and coffee each day. The breakfast room is sunny and bright and opens to a lovely garden area. This spot is nice to enjoy in the afternoon, too. Daniel is friendly and most helpful with information about what to do, where to dine, etc. Our room was fine with a very nice balcony, which we enjoyed. The bathroom was clean, but small and somewhat telephone booth-like. It seemed like a separate unit placed in the room. It struck us as a bit odd at first, but we got used to it. We loved this location---above the hustle and bustle of the lake area, an easy walk from the funicular that carries you up the steep hill after dinner, and quietly tucked in on a street near the train station.( from which we heard no noise). We would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. This is a great feature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
10
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Very convenient to train station or in our case the Bernina Express bus and an easy walk either to the funicular (very helpful coming home at night) or to streets that offer an easy stroll down to the lake. Our room was comfortable and well-appointed. There are lovely, eclectic art pieces throughout the hotel. The breakfast room opens onto a spacious, two-level deck, perfect for an afternoon break with a drink, a good book or both. The front desk staff were especially friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Of course there are many alternative hotels right by the lake - Albergo Stella is close to the rail station so sits well above the town. It's a nice stroll downhill and there's a CHF 1.10 funicular to take you down, or more likely up, from/to the nearby railway station. If you arrive by train make sure you use the northernmost exit (sp Besso) which very much minimises the climb towards the hotel just 150m away

It's a nice, clean and bright family run hotel and Daniel the husband is helpfulness personified - especially regarding what to do/ see and how to get there and back. Has a ton of good tourist info right to hand, and good recommendations regarding restaurants to try for dinner..

The room was simple, but very adequate, clean and well appointed, though the bathroom was bijou to say the least. Free WiFi. Breakfast was simple too, and in good weather served outside on a patio below the pool (not filled in early May).

A most pleasant hotel, where you are welcomed as a valued guest. No hesitation to recommend.

Room Tip: Our room at the front - when the windows/shutters were open - had some street noise (mainly a result...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaca, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and it was wonderful. The hotel is in a convenient location close to the train station. It is very pretty, very clean, and quiet, and the rooms are quite comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and is in a beautiful room with outside seating. The artwork throughout the hotel is very pretty! The owners are so nice and helpful. We highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed here with our two teenage girls. Very nice hotel, reasonably priced for Switzerland, very good location in Lugano, just a short walk from the train station and "downtown" Lugano. The owner and staff were very nice and friendly. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in November. It was just what was offered and it looked just like it was pictured in the site. I enjoy art quite a bit and the art pieces around the hotel, in the bedroom, around the hallway and all over made the stay much more enjoyable. The hosts are quite informative and very helpful. It was great to chat with them and learn a bit more about Switzerland in this Italian city. Hope you like the picture. Mr. Frog got my attention from the first time I visited the website and then I had to snap a pic with it :)

Room Tip: Ask the host, you'll get an honest answer
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I stayed at Albergo Stella for one night before boarding the Palm Express to St. Moritz. I went in November, during off season, and expected Lugano to be very low key. As soon as I arrived, someone helped bring my bags upstairs and I was immediately checked in by the very friendly, welcoming owner. My room was perfect for one person: very comfortable, nice, and clean. I had booked the room at the last minute and I noticed that some other rooms had balconies or views of the back garden: I'd suggest asking for one of those if possible. My room was facing the street but it was still very nice - no complaints! The hotel is a 5 min walk from the train station and also very close to downtown Lugano and the lakefront. Breakfast was fantastic. I really liked the carefully selected artwork and overall aesthetic of the hotel: simple but elegant for what it is. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the garden, or a room with a balcony, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Stella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Stella Hotel

Address: Via F. Borromini 5, Lugano CH-6903 , Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 100 meters off the central railway station of Lugano, we welcome you to our privately managed hotel called „ALBERGO STELLA“In our centrally located « 3* Garni Hotel », 14 comfortably furnished rooms, as well as a rich breakfast will be awaiting you.All rooms contain air conditioning, shower, WC, hair-dryer, minibar, safe, phone, radio, flat screen TV, and free Wi-Fi .Surrounded by a Mediterranean garden you may refresh yourself in our swimming pool after an exhausting day or you may comfortably spend your day there.Smoke Free HotelNo domestic animals please.Without elevator ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Albergo Stella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Stella Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.