We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Stella Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo Stella Hotel to your Saves list
Albergo Stella Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via F. Borromini 5, Lugano CH-6903 , Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in November. It was just what was offered and it looked just like it was pictured in the site. I enjoy art quite a bit and the art pieces around the hotel, in the bedroom, around the hallway and all over made the stay much more enjoyable. The hosts are quite informative and very helpful. It was great to chat with them and learn a bit more about Switzerland in this Italian city. Hope you like the picture. Mr. Frog got my attention from the first time I visited the website and then I had to snap a pic with it :)

Room Tip: Ask the host, you'll get an honest answer
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    13
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
12
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I stayed at Albergo Stella for one night before boarding the Palm Express to St. Moritz. I went in November, during off season, and expected Lugano to be very low key. As soon as I arrived, someone helped bring my bags upstairs and I was immediately checked in by the very friendly, welcoming owner. My room was perfect for one person: very comfortable, nice, and clean. I had booked the room at the last minute and I noticed that some other rooms had balconies or views of the back garden: I'd suggest asking for one of those if possible. My room was facing the street but it was still very nice - no complaints! The hotel is a 5 min walk from the train station and also very close to downtown Lugano and the lakefront. Breakfast was fantastic. I really liked the carefully selected artwork and overall aesthetic of the hotel: simple but elegant for what it is. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the garden, or a room with a balcony, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We very much enjoyed our two nights at Stella. The hotel is a very short walk from the train station in a quiet space in between office buildings. The hotel's staff, led by Daniel, was extremely friendly and welcoming. Our room was small (especially the bathroom) but had a huge and beautiful balcony what we enjoyed using. Every morning they put out a nice fresh continental breakfast. We strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here 2 nights. This small, family owned hotel is just up a little from the train station and the lakefront. No one was at the desk but they were readily available. And helped with the luggage-thank you! The breakfast was simple but fresh, nice choices and served in a bright, aerie room.It was raining while I was there so couldn't take advantage of the pool but it looked nice. My room was simply furnished and very clean. No problems with water pressure or availability of hot water-plenty of both! My room was facing the street so I could hear street noise with the window open. Couldn't hear anything with the window closed. I never heard any of the other guests either. The friendly and knowledgeable owner arranged for an early morning taxi ride to the airport. I would stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We are lucky that we booked in this hotel,good location,near for everything,all good restaurant around and all activities just nearby,the room was fine,very clean and you will ashame to use their towels and beddings so white and clean,the Best breakfast we had and the important the owner was there and he was a nice guy,thanks Daniel
Tips: Don't hesitate to ask him for anything you wanna know,where to go and where to eat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

What a great find. In what is often a very expensive country, this haven offers great value, service, delicious breakfasts and location. Plus a beautiful garden and pool - just a shame I was on business. A MUST but keep it quiet!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

What a gem to reach the end of a long day's travel! -- Helpful knowledgeable staff and breakfast the best ever. -- Even a quiet seat by the pool for early morning reading. -- Two minutes walk from train station. -- We stayed just one night (in two rooms) and were refreshed to tackle the bus and boat to Bellagio, Italy the following morning.
Would definitely recommend Albergo Stella to friends. And stay there again if ever back in Lugano.
Thank you Daniel and Alexandra Hahne!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Stella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Stella Hotel

Address: Via F. Borromini 5, Lugano CH-6903 , Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Stella Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 100 meters off the central railway station of Lugano, we welcome you to our privately managed hotel called „ALBERGO STELLA“In our centrally located « 3* Garni Hotel », 14 comfortably furnished rooms, as well as a rich breakfast will be awaiting you.All rooms contain air conditioning, shower, WC, hair-dryer, minibar, safe, phone, radio, flat screen TV, and free Wi-Fi .Surrounded by a Mediterranean garden you may refresh yourself in our swimming pool after an exhausting day or you may comfortably spend your day there.Smoke Free HotelNo domestic animals please.Without elevator ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Albergo Stella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Stella Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.