We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tired looking hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Victoria au Lac

Save Saved
You added Hotel Victoria au Lac to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Victoria au Lac
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riva Paradiso 2b ingresso da Via G.Guisan 3 | Paradiso, Lugano 6902, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“tired looking hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we took the Bernina Express from Chur and decided to stay over in Lugano for the night. i would not have stayed here if i had read all the reviews here. internet does not work and the hotel badly need a make over. the floor squeaks and the air-conditioning noisy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    30
    46
    25
    21
See reviews for
22
44
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

On the website and at first glance the hotel Victoria au Lac is a good choice and in a very good location, but that's where it ends.
The whole hotel is tired and faded with an attempt to make it look 'stressed' by the random application of bronze paint on walls and columns. The room was spacious with a small step-on balcony overlooking the lake. The view was superb. The bathroom was adequate, clean, but very tired with the enamel on the bath rough and unglazed, the wall tiles unmatched and '60s' style . Cooling was from a remote controlled wall unit that was noisy and ineffective. There was an old one that did not work but had not been removed. An old water leak on the ceiling had been repaired but the rest of the ceiling was unmatched. The centre ceiling rose was loose and heldonly by the light fitting. The bed was lumpy and uncomfortable, the decor peeling and outdated.
On arrival the reception staff were unsmiling, unhelpful and distant, I wonder why? Parking was across the road in a key operated underground carpark at 20sf per day.
As a retired construction engineer my assessment of the hotel showed that there was much wrong with the hotel with respect to fire and general safety and means of escape.
The room doors were inadequate and by any standards presented no protection at all from smoke or fire. The door latch was difficult to operate and you could see light all round the door from the corridoor lights. The staircase floor landings had timber doors and frames that had no fire resistance and were poorly decorated and most of the so-called automatic door closers failed to act. I have serious reservations that the hotel complied with the fire regulations and safety requirements of the Canton and ask why that is? I wonder if these failings stem from the top of the hotel's management who seem to be feared by the staff and certainly set no standards to follow.
Parking outside the hotel is problematic whilst unloading and loading luggage with no help offered from staff, the ground floor lift access is poor and dark.
Breakfast was barely adequate, but the evening meal we had in the outside restaurant was good with attentive service and seemed popular with locals.
I will never go back or recommend this hotel to anyone....stay away!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Prostitutes live on the 5th floor and are walking at night in the corridors, the owner who also 'lives' upstairs smokes his cigar at night around the whole building (against the law), and walks heavily so that customers downstairs cannot sleep. The building is rundown, with peeling and fading wallpaper, torn and distasteful reproductions of all 'art' kinds, dirty carpet, (wartime) covers and toiletry. The mattress is terrible. Single rooms are as small as possible. The railing of the balcony is shaky and the second door doesn’t open anymore. There is no isolation whatsoever in the whole building and you hear your neighbours talking normally, their TV and bathroom activities, as well as the ‘dancing’ downstairs. There is no one at the reception desk at night and one cannot dial emergency numbers from the room. Breakfast is as basic as it can, no fresh products besides bread, and birds are flying inside where they may carry disease! How come this hotel got 3 stars? Shocking and not worth the money.

Room Tip: none, avoid at least Nos 41 and 57, and actually the whole gloomy place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

we stayed at this hotel on 19/5/2014 fortunately for one night, the room was clean, the sheets were blue but the top sheet was a different blue than the bottom sheet ergo bedding did not match. The mattress was smaller than the base of the bed !
We were not told that there was an ALL NIGHT DISCO in the basement 8pm-6am
we had very little sleep.
Breakfast was abysmal, bread, cheese ,yoghurt, coffee I asked for toast to be told NO TOAST no juice no fruit no eggs no croissants !!!!!
So if you stay here all I can say is you were warned 185 swiss franch's per night

Room Tip: the hotel is far from user friendly they did not offer to assist us with our suitcases. our room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night on business and had it not been pre-paid by my company I'd have gone somewhere else...indeed, anywhere else.

The greeting on arrival was non existent. No hello, no smile and although not normally a problem, no English.

The hotel is like stepping back 25 years. Pokey reception and everything needs decorating. The halls and corridors are awful and the decoration is unbelievably bad.

And the rooms are dire. Small, cramped, old and chipped furniture, dodgy front doors, showers built for midgets, no air conditioning, plastic flowers are just some of the highlights...

The only saving grace is that there was a safe (made me feel better when going out), and the door to my room locked and had a safety chain as well. In addition the room was pretty clean - so a message to the cleaner is "go elsewhere!".

Can't comment on anything else as decided not to eat breakfast.

One final point - the walls appear paper thin and certainly if I did speak Italian I'd have learnt a lot.

With what looks like a new ish Novotel visible from my window there has to be somewhere better to stay when in the area...or is my trust in Switzerland mid-placed? Having skies here for 18 years I cannot believe this to be true...

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haworth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Was quite dissapointed Inside quite old, which could be accepted but could do with a good clean. Breakfast ok had to wait a Long Time before we were Asked if we want coffe or Tea. Breakfast Staff were Not very friendly, only on the reception.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

The rooms have squeaky floors, our first night was above a band where we heard the bass and drums all night. We changed rooms, only to be under the "dancers" changing and living quarters for the hotel, who walked around over our heads all night, finally to be quiet at six in the morning. The personel is unfriendly and bossy, and seem to be unaware of how unfriendly to guests they are. Don't stay here!!!!

Room Tip: Do not stay here! It is adjacent and working with a strip club next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
Charming, City...
Show More
0.9 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#15 of 42 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
3-star, Non smo...
Show More
1.1 mi away
Albergo Acquarello
Albergo Acquarello
#33 of 42 in Lugano
3.0 of 5 stars 213 reviews
Bar/Lounge, Pet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
#17 of 42 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
1.3 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#4 of 42 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
City Center, Po...
Show More
1.3 mi away
Albergo Stella Hotel
Albergo Stella Hotel
#6 of 42 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Quiet, Mid-rang...
Show More
1.9 mi away
Hotel Delfino
Hotel Delfino
#10 of 42 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria au Lac

Address: Riva Paradiso 2b ingresso da Via G.Guisan 3 | Paradiso, Lugano 6902, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victoria au Lac 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Victoria au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Au Lac Lugano
Victoria Au Lac Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Victoria au Lac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.