We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Victoria au Lac

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Victoria au Lac to your Saves list
Hotel Victoria au Lac
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riva Paradiso 2b ingresso da Via G.Guisan 3 | Paradiso, Lugano 6902, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 43 Hotels in Lugano
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location, good value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have stayed 2 nights at this hotel.
I should admitt the hotel is not very modern but clean and with the specatular view over the lake
(even from the bathroom, which had enormous size).
We have enjoyed the breakfast at the terrace sharing food with the birds which have flied to our table.
The staff is very nice and helpful. I higly recommend the hotel to not spoiled clients.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    30
    54
    31
    26
See reviews for
26
63
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

the location is very nice but that is all about..breakfast is so poor...rooms are small and smelly..the hotel is simply a tight budget compromise for 1 night..but above all the kitsch decoration is so extreme that it becomes art!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Waiters very disinterested in serving you never loan being hospitable, wondering if there has been a change of management??? We were told "No Food until 6:30 " fine what about drinks??? Had to chase for a drink just not on!! The staff were more interested in catching up with colleagues ! Just such poor Hopitality!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in May. The rooms were clean and plenty big enough. Even thought we didn't use it, we noticed there was tons of closet space for putting away clothes, etc. The bathroom is modern and almost as big as the room! We found the hotel staff to be very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Heads up: They are doing construction on the street just below the hotel. It didn't bother us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel has certainly seen better times; it is clean and a parking opportunity just on the opposite side of the road, but that´s what there is to tell. Old room´s, awful smell. However in case you are travelling on small budget it might be an option, but really only then.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The room was located on a side where in front of them workers began to work with very much noise at 06:00, didn't allowed me to continu to sleep, when i asked them to change my room they asked me for more money!!! I've booked a dubel room like i was allone they gave me a singel room(without returning money and also without changing these noisy room for a normal room).
The service was very arrogant, they don't want to speak with me in English, if they are not abel to speak English then the responsability is from the managment.
If they give so a bad service they should better close the hotel! If these are Swiss hotel service i should prefer the next time Mexican Hotel service, a pity

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

What's good about it:
- Great view, nice location, even if not downtown.
- our room was clean.
- breakfast is included and it's OK for the room price.

What's not good:
- Floors are EXTREMELY creaky (deafeningly loud!)
- Not all the people in the reception are helpful (one lady was extremely friendly and helpful, but another guy: we asked him about buses to downtown and he said "they run about every 15 minutes" - we asked "can you see when the next one leaves" (as it was freezing cold and we didnt want to wait in the cold) he said "no sorry I cant" - excuse me? i know there is like 5 websites where you can look that up within 30 seconds! he was lazy because he wanted to watch youtube with his girlfriend that was there! not what you should do as a receptionist!)
- you can hear everything, even with all windows closed I heard our neighbours talk, walk, fake two orgs...horrible!
- Bed was broken - the grid under it was missing about 4 pieces, hence there was a huge "hole" when sitting on it. Me no like!

I really like non-megachain hotels, but there is a Novotel for the same room price 1 minute walk away... hmm... i might check that out next time i'm in Lugano instead...

The upside really is the location, view (if you have a lakeside room), and that it's clean. but that's really about it.

Room Tip: Do not accept Room 44!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nassa Garni
Hotel Nassa Garni
#36 of 43 in Lugano
3.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.7 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#6 of 43 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#18 of 43 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
0.9 mi away
Albergo Acquarello
Albergo Acquarello
#34 of 43 in Lugano
3.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bellevue Au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria au Lac

Address: Riva Paradiso 2b ingresso da Via G.Guisan 3 | Paradiso, Lugano 6902, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 43 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victoria au Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Victoria au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Au Lac Lugano
Victoria Au Lac Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Victoria au Lac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.