We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply out dated...like someone has forgotten it..” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Victoria au Lac

Save Saved
You added Hotel Victoria au Lac to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Victoria au Lac
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riva Paradiso 2b ingresso da Via G.Guisan 3 | Paradiso, Lugano 6902, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“simply out dated...like someone has forgotten it..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

the location is very nice but that is all about..breakfast is so poor...rooms are small and smelly..the hotel is simply a tight budget compromise for 1 night..but above all the kitsch decoration is so extreme that it becomes art!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    30
    46
    25
    21
See reviews for
22
44
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Waiters very disinterested in serving you never loan being hospitable, wondering if there has been a change of management??? We were told "No Food until 6:30 " fine what about drinks??? Had to chase for a drink just not on!! The staff were more interested in catching up with colleagues ! Just such poor Hopitality!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in May. The rooms were clean and plenty big enough. Even thought we didn't use it, we noticed there was tons of closet space for putting away clothes, etc. The bathroom is modern and almost as big as the room! We found the hotel staff to be very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Heads up: They are doing construction on the street just below the hotel. It didn't bother us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel has certainly seen better times; it is clean and a parking opportunity just on the opposite side of the road, but that´s what there is to tell. Old room´s, awful smell. However in case you are travelling on small budget it might be an option, but really only then.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The room was located on a side where in front of them workers began to work with very much noise at 06:00, didn't allowed me to continu to sleep, when i asked them to change my room they asked me for more money!!! I've booked a dubel room like i was allone they gave me a singel room(without returning money and also without changing these noisy room for a normal room).
The service was very arrogant, they don't want to speak with me in English, if they are not abel to speak English then the responsability is from the managment.
If they give so a bad service they should better close the hotel! If these are Swiss hotel service i should prefer the next time Mexican Hotel service, a pity

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarau, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

What's good about it:
- Great view, nice location, even if not downtown.
- our room was clean.
- breakfast is included and it's OK for the room price.

What's not good:
- Floors are EXTREMELY creaky (deafeningly loud!)
- Not all the people in the reception are helpful (one lady was extremely friendly and helpful, but another guy: we asked him about buses to downtown and he said "they run about every 15 minutes" - we asked "can you see when the next one leaves" (as it was freezing cold and we didnt want to wait in the cold) he said "no sorry I cant" - excuse me? i know there is like 5 websites where you can look that up within 30 seconds! he was lazy because he wanted to watch youtube with his girlfriend that was there! not what you should do as a receptionist!)
- you can hear everything, even with all windows closed I heard our neighbours talk, walk, fake two orgs...horrible!
- Bed was broken - the grid under it was missing about 4 pieces, hence there was a huge "hole" when sitting on it. Me no like!

I really like non-megachain hotels, but there is a Novotel for the same room price 1 minute walk away... hmm... i might check that out next time i'm in Lugano instead...

The upside really is the location, view (if you have a lakeside room), and that it's clean. but that's really about it.

Room Tip: Do not accept Room 44!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

There is good and bad to share. The hotel is Eccentric, which can be good. well located, beautiful views. but you don't earn a "3" for beautiful views. Easily the worst music ever in the dining rooms/restaurant for every visit: non-stop Britney Spears - why!? and the indoor smoking rooms leaked smoke throughout the hotel. I noticed it the moment I entered the reception and noticed it on every floor, even on the 4th floor public and private areas. I agree with other reviewers that a renovation is needed (the rooms are odd), but I wouldn't want the prices to double. At least change the music and take the smoking outside.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Victoria au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria au Lac

Address: Riva Paradiso 2b ingresso da Via G.Guisan 3 | Paradiso, Lugano 6902, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victoria au Lac 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Victoria au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Au Lac Lugano
Victoria Au Lac Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Victoria au Lac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.