We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location,lively nightlife and restaurant open when others are closed........” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Victoria au Lac

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Victoria au Lac to your Saves list
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“Good location,lively nightlife and restaurant open when others are closed........”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Found purely by accident whilst trying to find somewhere to eat on the Riva Paradiso,brightly lit Boutique hotel with lively entertainment when everything around is closed.I was directed to their second floor restaurant called La Terazza delle Stelle.............Cosy a bit dated decor,and a menu mostly of pizza and fast food but a few exceptions.A very young waiter with 1960s sideburns introduced himself as Mirko and I was alone except for one other diner tucking away into what appeared a very nice scallopine of veal but I could not find it on the menu...Mirko said the kitchen would prepare anything within reason so I agreed to have the same and perhaps try a carafe of local wine,I chose red and he brought out a 1 litre carafe,this together with the oil fired heater had me sipping away till the meal arrived piping hot and freshly pounded as I had heard the preparation as the kitchen was close by.
Delicious with crisp veggies in a butter sauce and mini roasted potatoes,he talked me into wild berries and fresh cream as a dessert and coffee,actually two double expressos as the wine had taken its toll.A fun evening breaking the deserted streets,helpful waiter good service full of smiles and happy with a generous tip he said little else was ever open but they stay open till the wee hours as customers come from Italy for the nightclub and they get busy toward midnight.Very reasonable prices,worth a visit I would certainly go back..............I checked out some of the rooms and would stay there on a future visit as price and facilities as offered where very good value,

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    24
    45
    27
    22
See reviews for
23
48
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

At the low end of the Lugano lakeshore hotel price range. For a great price we had a very large and clean bed & bathroom, direct view on the lake and on-site parking. Yes it's a bit old and some of the colouring is odd, but it's definently great value.

Room Tip: Room 51 was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daejeon, South Korea
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

This hotel is located on the side of lake Lugano and the building seems to be pretty old - the carpeted wooden floor gives the creeking sound as you walk about. But the ceiling was pretty high and the room size was okay compared to what we got in Lucern. The hotel had a grand view over the lake from the breakfast room and the location was pretty close to Lugano. To walk to the center of Lugano, it takes more than 10 mins but still walkable and the way to Lugano center is along the lake side which is beautiful.

Anyway, the hotel could have been very classy and historic but the decor is VERY tacky. Too much of unprofessional touch was put in and it looks like a cheap antique shop. Too much colors, too much details, too many artifacts... Breakfast was not so great: continental breakfast lacking variety and fresh fruits. I remember croissant was not so crunchy outside and didn't have many different cheese.
Every hotel in Switzerland charged parking fee about 30 something CHF per day and Victoria au lac was no exception.

During the night, the heating was way overworking and the temp inside the room was almost unbearable (believe me, I live in Abu Dhabi) so we had to keep the window open. The toiletry is not very nice either so you better take your own shampoo, conditioner and shower gel if possible.

I think the hotel could have done so much with the building that has potential but the management doesn't have that vision. (I think it is run by a family of noble descendants which tacky taste)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

La qualité de cet hôtel est son emplacement, face au lac et au jet d'eau... là s'arrêtent les points positifs. La réception de l'hôtel est un musée en soi du mauvais goût et à l'image du reste. Une espèce de "culte" du propriétaire a lieu partout dans l'hôtel avec des photos et des tableaux de lui et de son fils, façon Louis XIV... c'est presque à en rire. Le déjeuner très pauvre... et la cerise sur le gâteau est le cabaret et bar à champagne situé dans l'hôtel. A éviter en tous cas en famille.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I reserved this hotel with some "reservations" since there were several reviewers who were disgusted with the decor of the hotel. But I figured, why not give it a try? The price was right, the location was excellent for what I wanted. So we went, we stayed and we have to agree that the decor has serious issues. There are major interior design flaws: conflicts in color matches and choices of design elements, some minor items need repair, and some of their design picks are not very functional (lack of shower curtain). But if you can look past that, you will realize you are staying in an classy, old Victorian hotel, right on the lake, with sensational lake views right out the little balcony. The architecture of the building is actually quite beautiful, so in our lake-view room, we had tall windows, high ceilings and a spacious room with 2 wardrobes, table and chairs. The breakfast room was an old Victorian drawing room with ornate mouldings (though badly offset with tacky gold tinsel balls hanging from the ceiling). Still, the overall value is good for Lugano, Switzerland. This is a very pricey area, since you are staying on what may be one of the most beautiful places you've ever seen. So keep that in mind. If it would drive you nuts to live with yellow walls, flowery orangey curtains, purple blanket, blue linens and red carpet, then stay elsewhere. If you have a sense of humor and just want a great view and good price in Lugano, then just go with it and laugh about the tacky stuff.

Room Tip: Well worth it to get a lake view room, which is spacious, with a stunning lake view. Avoid lower le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

First of all let me just say that the location of this hotel is just perfect! I will agree with other reviewers in that the noise of the club downstairs was annoying but we were so tired we fell asleep pretty fast. If you are staying for longer than one night though, it might be a problem.The bed was very uncomfortable for me, but that depends on one's preference. Breakfast I thought was very good, everything from fresh breads, croissants, cereal to cold cuts, cheeses, and all kinds of spreads. The decoration tops everything off! Very heavy set furniture, mirrors, chandeliers, you name it! You have to laugh about it cause if you don't it could get creepy!I have never seen anything like it!Overall, it was clean, cheaper than other and the view of the lake is superb!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

I did a lot of searching before i chose this hotel. I new what I wanted- on the lake, and walking distance to restarants and shops. This place filled the bill. It was clean, and service was great. The restaurant on site was quite good. The room was small- but that's Europe- the view and little balcony made up for it! Breakfast was included - your standard european fare - all fresh, meats, cheeses fruits and breads. Got a huge kick out of the owner - who has dubbed himself a "Lord" - what a riot.
Ferry stop was right across the street - hop on and go anywhere on the lake. Walk to the shops downtown - 15 mins or just take a stroll around the lake. Gorgeous Lake Lugano.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a lake view and ask for a balcony. Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Victoria au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria au Lac

Address: Riva Paradiso 2b ingresso da Via G.Guisan 3 | Paradiso, Lugano 6902, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victoria au Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Victoria au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Au Lac Lugano
Victoria Au Lac Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Victoria au Lac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.