We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great location, very tacky decor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Victoria au Lac

Save Saved
You added Hotel Victoria au Lac to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Victoria au Lac
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riva Paradiso 2b ingresso da Via G.Guisan 3 | Paradiso, Lugano 6902, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good value, great location, very tacky decor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I reserved this hotel with some "reservations" since there were several reviewers who were disgusted with the decor of the hotel. But I figured, why not give it a try? The price was right, the location was excellent for what I wanted. So we went, we stayed and we have to agree that the decor has serious issues. There are major interior design flaws: conflicts in color matches and choices of design elements, some minor items need repair, and some of their design picks are not very functional (lack of shower curtain). But if you can look past that, you will realize you are staying in an classy, old Victorian hotel, right on the lake, with sensational lake views right out the little balcony. The architecture of the building is actually quite beautiful, so in our lake-view room, we had tall windows, high ceilings and a spacious room with 2 wardrobes, table and chairs. The breakfast room was an old Victorian drawing room with ornate mouldings (though badly offset with tacky gold tinsel balls hanging from the ceiling). Still, the overall value is good for Lugano, Switzerland. This is a very pricey area, since you are staying on what may be one of the most beautiful places you've ever seen. So keep that in mind. If it would drive you nuts to live with yellow walls, flowery orangey curtains, purple blanket, blue linens and red carpet, then stay elsewhere. If you have a sense of humor and just want a great view and good price in Lugano, then just go with it and laugh about the tacky stuff.

Room Tip: Well worth it to get a lake view room, which is spacious, with a stunning lake view. Avoid lower le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    30
    46
    25
    21
See reviews for
22
44
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

First of all let me just say that the location of this hotel is just perfect! I will agree with other reviewers in that the noise of the club downstairs was annoying but we were so tired we fell asleep pretty fast. If you are staying for longer than one night though, it might be a problem.The bed was very uncomfortable for me, but that depends on one's preference. Breakfast I thought was very good, everything from fresh breads, croissants, cereal to cold cuts, cheeses, and all kinds of spreads. The decoration tops everything off! Very heavy set furniture, mirrors, chandeliers, you name it! You have to laugh about it cause if you don't it could get creepy!I have never seen anything like it!Overall, it was clean, cheaper than other and the view of the lake is superb!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

I did a lot of searching before i chose this hotel. I new what I wanted- on the lake, and walking distance to restarants and shops. This place filled the bill. It was clean, and service was great. The restaurant on site was quite good. The room was small- but that's Europe- the view and little balcony made up for it! Breakfast was included - your standard european fare - all fresh, meats, cheeses fruits and breads. Got a huge kick out of the owner - who has dubbed himself a "Lord" - what a riot.
Ferry stop was right across the street - hop on and go anywhere on the lake. Walk to the shops downtown - 15 mins or just take a stroll around the lake. Gorgeous Lake Lugano.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a lake view and ask for a balcony. Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
416 reviews 416 reviews
299 hotel reviews
Reviews in 264 cities Reviews in 264 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Hotel was opposite lake (main entrance was on the other side of building) about 10 minutes walk along lake to the centre. We were offered a (small) lake view room for the same price as a non lake view room. We opted to take that although the weather was so bad it didn't really make a difference. The room was indeed small and rather cramped as was the bathroom. There wasn't much space to lay things down. The room was ok but needed maintenance on the furniture and in the tap and shower fitting in the bathroom. Parking was in a secure garage which even needed a key to go down in the lift to the parking level, excellent! There was a service laundry almost next door which was a little pricey but very convenient. The main restaurant on the first floor seemed to be closed but at the lake side of the hotel there was an Italian restaurant which was pretty good. Breakfast was also served there, just watch your step as you walk from the hotel through the night club to get to the restaurant!!! Only complaint about the restaurant was the number of birds trying to pinch food from the buffet! Hotel was very pricey for what it was, but we found that all over Switzerland. Between hotel and food and drink prices and having to pay for the vignette it will be a while before we visit Switzerland again even although we love it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

STAYED IN A CRAZILY OVERPRICED LAKE FACING ROOM WITH MY 10 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER! She loved it but I found the hotel old, musty and seriously lacking in functionality. The bathroom was straight out of the 1950s but was adequately sized.The shower served its purpose but the toilet seat in brilliant blue was a bit excessive! The bedroom itself had superb, large, old fashioned closets and antique furniture but the beds were neither large nor comfortable. Once again, my daughter probably disagrees with my assessment! The buffet breakfast was pretty decent and the breakfast room with tables on an open verandah overlooking Lake Lugano was old-fashioned but unique! The front desk was staffed by a girl from one of the Russian republics, her manner can be best described as DISINTERESTED ...thats kind on my part!! The hotel's saving graces were a tiny balcony outside our room...great for an evening drink overlooking the gorgeous lake view and a very efficient serving staff (two girls) at breakfast. Even the elevator in the hotel is terribly inaccessible...almost an afterthought one thought. If all 260- plus- chf- hotel rooms in Lugano are like the one I stayed in, I'm afraid Swiss tourism isn"t too standard -concious!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

The hotel is situated near the lake of Lugano. It's situated in almost center of Lugano. Nice value for food and serv ices. The smelling in the hotel is very pleasant, and despite the night club located on the ground floor of the hotel we didn't hear any noise despite the fact that the door was open and the spectacle just began.

Room Tip: Room with a lake view for an extra fee
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We stayed an overnight @ Victoria au Lac in Lugano . From the train station to the hotel, its roughly a 5-6min taxi ride or even the bus which costs $1.50 1way and drops you a street away. The hotel is lovely from the outside but once in the lobby it looked like in the sixties: old decor, old-fashion furniture... the front desk was helpful though. The room was overall clean and cozy. The view was fantastic. The location was great for our needs: a minute walk to the boardwalk . 10 minutes walking distance to restaurants, stores, boutiques... We took a fairy around the lake located few minute away which was breathtaking. For the price we paid it was well worth it !

Room Tip: view on the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Victoria au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria au Lac

Address: Riva Paradiso 2b ingresso da Via G.Guisan 3 | Paradiso, Lugano 6902, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victoria au Lac 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Victoria au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Au Lac Lugano
Victoria Au Lac Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Victoria au Lac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.