We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for one night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Victoria au Lac

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Victoria au Lac to your Saves list
Hotel Victoria au Lac
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riva Paradiso 2b ingresso da Via G.Guisan 3 | Paradiso, Lugano 6902, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
Thessaloniki, Greece
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good for one night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

First of all let me just say that the location of this hotel is just perfect! I will agree with other reviewers in that the noise of the club downstairs was annoying but we were so tired we fell asleep pretty fast. If you are staying for longer than one night though, it might be a problem.The bed was very uncomfortable for me, but that depends on one's preference. Breakfast I thought was very good, everything from fresh breads, croissants, cereal to cold cuts, cheeses, and all kinds of spreads. The decoration tops everything off! Very heavy set furniture, mirrors, chandeliers, you name it! You have to laugh about it cause if you don't it could get creepy!I have never seen anything like it!Overall, it was clean, cheaper than other and the view of the lake is superb!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    26
    47
    28
    23
See reviews for
24
51
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

I did a lot of searching before i chose this hotel. I new what I wanted- on the lake, and walking distance to restarants and shops. This place filled the bill. It was clean, and service was great. The restaurant on site was quite good. The room was small- but that's Europe- the view and little balcony made up for it! Breakfast was included - your standard european fare - all fresh, meats, cheeses fruits and breads. Got a huge kick out of the owner - who has dubbed himself a "Lord" - what a riot.
Ferry stop was right across the street - hop on and go anywhere on the lake. Walk to the shops downtown - 15 mins or just take a stroll around the lake. Gorgeous Lake Lugano.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a lake view and ask for a balcony. Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
480 reviews 480 reviews
329 hotel reviews
Reviews in 291 cities Reviews in 291 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Hotel was opposite lake (main entrance was on the other side of building) about 10 minutes walk along lake to the centre. We were offered a (small) lake view room for the same price as a non lake view room. We opted to take that although the weather was so bad it didn't really make a difference. The room was indeed small and rather cramped as was the bathroom. There wasn't much space to lay things down. The room was ok but needed maintenance on the furniture and in the tap and shower fitting in the bathroom. Parking was in a secure garage which even needed a key to go down in the lift to the parking level, excellent! There was a service laundry almost next door which was a little pricey but very convenient. The main restaurant on the first floor seemed to be closed but at the lake side of the hotel there was an Italian restaurant which was pretty good. Breakfast was also served there, just watch your step as you walk from the hotel through the night club to get to the restaurant!!! Only complaint about the restaurant was the number of birds trying to pinch food from the buffet! Hotel was very pricey for what it was, but we found that all over Switzerland. Between hotel and food and drink prices and having to pay for the vignette it will be a while before we visit Switzerland again even although we love it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

STAYED IN A CRAZILY OVERPRICED LAKE FACING ROOM WITH MY 10 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER! She loved it but I found the hotel old, musty and seriously lacking in functionality. The bathroom was straight out of the 1950s but was adequately sized.The shower served its purpose but the toilet seat in brilliant blue was a bit excessive! The bedroom itself had superb, large, old fashioned closets and antique furniture but the beds were neither large nor comfortable. Once again, my daughter probably disagrees with my assessment! The buffet breakfast was pretty decent and the breakfast room with tables on an open verandah overlooking Lake Lugano was old-fashioned but unique! The front desk was staffed by a girl from one of the Russian republics, her manner can be best described as DISINTERESTED ...thats kind on my part!! The hotel's saving graces were a tiny balcony outside our room...great for an evening drink overlooking the gorgeous lake view and a very efficient serving staff (two girls) at breakfast. Even the elevator in the hotel is terribly inaccessible...almost an afterthought one thought. If all 260- plus- chf- hotel rooms in Lugano are like the one I stayed in, I'm afraid Swiss tourism isn"t too standard -concious!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

The hotel is situated near the lake of Lugano. It's situated in almost center of Lugano. Nice value for food and serv ices. The smelling in the hotel is very pleasant, and despite the night club located on the ground floor of the hotel we didn't hear any noise despite the fact that the door was open and the spectacle just began.

Room Tip: Room with a lake view for an extra fee
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We stayed an overnight @ Victoria au Lac in Lugano . From the train station to the hotel, its roughly a 5-6min taxi ride or even the bus which costs $1.50 1way and drops you a street away. The hotel is lovely from the outside but once in the lobby it looked like in the sixties: old decor, old-fashion furniture... the front desk was helpful though. The room was overall clean and cozy. The view was fantastic. The location was great for our needs: a minute walk to the boardwalk . 10 minutes walking distance to restaurants, stores, boutiques... We took a fairy around the lake located few minute away which was breathtaking. For the price we paid it was well worth it !

Room Tip: view on the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All over the world
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

Overall, my stay at this Hotel was one of contrasts, on checking in, I found the kitsch reception area and stairwells somehow compelling and adding a real air of character to the establishment. Please, if you ever refurbish (which you should) keep all this in tact - it's too cool to remove! The staff here were brilliant! They were polite, friendly and in keeping with the character of the hotel. So far, so good. Then the room... I knew the rate was cheap, but the rooms are a real anachronism. Think 70's soviet and you're getting the picture. They represent space-planning at it's worst, as the overall area of the room would allow a reasonably capacious space in the hands of the right interior designer. The problem is it's just plain wrong inside these rooms. There is also no internet in the rooms. NONE. In 2009 in a developed country. Also, the temperature was furnace-like with no air-conditioning so I slept with the window open. The bathroom: it was possibly designed by the inventor of the Japanese capsule Hotel - it's just that small and cramped.

BUT - I can't help but kind of like the place, I probably wouldn't stay again or recommend it to a friend, but if I had been able to instead sleep in the elaborately decorated stairwells or reception area I probably would go back. A refurbishment in the right hands coupled with it's existing great staff would make this a real gem.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Victoria au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria au Lac

Address: Riva Paradiso 2b ingresso da Via G.Guisan 3 | Paradiso, Lugano 6902, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victoria au Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Victoria au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Au Lac Lugano
Victoria Au Lac Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Victoria au Lac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.