We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome time @ Cadro Panoramico” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cadro Panoramica

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cadro Panoramica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cadro Panoramica
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Dassone, Lugano 6965 , Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome time @ Cadro Panoramico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was an amazing place to stay! We stayed in the Rustico and what an absolutely gorgeous view The hotel staff was quite attentive, very professional and certainly loved what they do. I especially enjoyed dining at the Il Grottino. Great food made and served by equally enthusiastic staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    17
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
9
15
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Olen
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed a few time in Cadro, for business and pleasure. It is just an old and overpriced hotel. Bathrooms are from the mid sixties and pretty basic. The showers are just old, some with plastic doors, others with curtains that stick to your body if you take a shower.. It needs renovation. Even the sauna, jacuzzi is old. The rooms are spacious but also old, carpeting needs replacement, put some more comfortable chairs in there and the desk is pre-historical. The food is good and good wine. Bar, restaurant everything is old.
Rooms are not very sound proof and it can be very noisy especially if they have weddings/parties going on in the restaurant.
Above all it is indeed very expensive for what you get. Give a little bit more money and go the Dante Hotel down town.

Room Tip: Avoid a room with connecting doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This place is a little out of town so you need a car to travel around. The accomodation is comfortable and well equipped, though the bathrooms are old. What is really outstanding is the view of Lugano and the lake. A wonderful place for a sunset drink. But, like many things in Switzerland, it was expensive.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here two nights. As stated by many, the name tells it all... Very panoramic. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Meals here were very good. My room was a serious letdown. All tile floor, very spartan, very cold looking and uninviting. No thermostat, not sure how the temperature was supposed to be controlled. Got very hot overnight. Two tiny uncomfortable chairs, no other place to sit. There was a beat up old desk, but the Internet cable was by the TV table and you could either connect the laptop, or work at the desk, but never both at the same time. Connectivity was very poor as well. Come for dinner, enjoy the view, but stay elsewhere.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel is a little old, but the view of Lugano is amazing. By the pool you can see the Lugano Lake. The staff is friendly too. The price is a little high, but Lugano is a rich city, so you can't find options with this structure for lower prices.

Room Tip: Pick the second floor room because of the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

The Hotel Cadro Panoramica Lugano is situated at the top of mountain. We stayed in the apartment which is of villa style (Rustico). It is quiet and comfortable.

There is a big terrace at the entrance of our house which can overlook the tennis courts, a restaurant and beautiful mountain view.

The downside is that it is far away from the bus stop. As it is uphill and we were carrying heavy luggage under the scorching sun, it took us almost half an hour to reach it.

The hotel provides free car transfer service to the city centre at 10am, 2pm and 5pm daily. There are also indoors and outdoors swimming pools which offer magnificent mountain scenery. I felt like swimming on the very top of the mountain which was really cool. There is also free internet-computer available near the reception of the hotel.

The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. We are especially grateful for the hotel car driver. He came 10 minutes earlier than we expected for sending us to the train station. Beyond our expectation, we could catch an earlier flight to our next destination.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We found Hotel Cadro Panoramica online as a last minute booking option the night before arriving in Lugano. The views from rooms and the restaurant facing down the mountain toward Lugano are fantastic. Even though there are homes and buildings leading all the way down, each of them seem to fit quite naturally into the landscape and nothing looks out of place or artificial.

The restaurant was nice and accommodated us well after a very late arrival. Our waiter was charming and kept our very daughter amused and happy despite being tired from our long drive coming in. The hotel is situated among loads of tennis courts and other sport facilities, and it clearly has a history as a destination for avid tennis players and families. Our waiter did note that the relative change in popularity of golf (increasing) versus tennis (decreasing) did affect how busy the hotel is currently versus prior years.

The hotel is built into the mountain and the balconies have nice views. Some might find the decorum a little dated with it's lodge-like motif, but we were comfortable and happy. Given the fact that we only had a one day visit, maybe it isn't surprising that the "highlight" was that last hour we spent basking in the sun on the terrace next to the restaurant. With the mountain breeze and fantastic view, we were content to rest our heads on the nice outdoor furniture and relax.

Our room did not have air conditioning, which might not be unexpected due to the hotel's mountainside location. However, the room did get a little stuffy because the breeze stopped at the balcony and didn't really give circulation within the room itself.

The hotel can honestly advertise that it is minutes from Lugano, since the distance and proximity make it feel very close. However, being up the mountain at one end of Lugano, it does take some time to wind up to Cadro by car. Even though we had GPS, it took a bit of driving back and forth to find the right route to the hotel (maybe our GPS wasn't precisely finding the destination), but the hotel staff guided us in via a few successive calls as we inched our way closer. I would also add that locals in Lugano quickly recognized the area when we mentioned Cadro and a few people pointed us in the right direction quite readily. That's just to give some additional context that Cadro is indeed close and accessible to Lugano. Just make sure you have good directions/maps, because the few minutes it takes to get there when you know the destination can turn into half an hour of more very quickly if you keep missing the right turns. No knock on the hotel, just a suggestion to prevent frustration for any future visitors.

For better or worse, Swiss hotels will often strike visitors as being expensive for foreign visitors, which I attribute mainly to the value of the franc and probably a bit to the fact that Swiss hotels tend to be independently owned and less oriented to the whole discounting phenomenon that large and small chains use to attract visitors.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Cadro Panoramica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cadro Panoramica

Address: Via Dassone, Lugano 6965 , Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cadro Panoramica 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Hotel Cadro Panoramica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centro Cadro Panoramica Hotel
Centro Cadro Panoramica Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cadro Panoramica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.