We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lugano Youth Hostel

Lugano Youth Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lugano Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Lugano Youth Hostel
Via Cantonale 13 | Savosa, Lugano CH-6942 , Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

This was the first time my friends and I stayed at a hostel- and it was surprisingly good.
We paid roughly 26 CHF for a 4 bed dorm excluding the 10 chf breakfast (though I heard that there was a lot of food) and 2CHF extra for a towel.You could pay a deposit for a key if you will be returning later than10:30 at night- because that's when they close the gates. But overall- it was a cheap- yet good- deal.

The room was clean with cupboards for bag storage with a lock, beds, shelves, some chairs and sink. Because we booked a dorm, we had to share a bathroom with the rest of the people on our level. The bathroom was alright, there was a hairdryer, 5 sinks, 2 toilets and 2 shower stalls. Luckily the rest of the people on our floor were girls, because one would have to either change outside the stall ( but in the bathroom still) or open the stall doors to grab your clothes ( as there was not place to put them inside the stalls).

The location was not in the town centre, but there is a bus stop close by- just a few streets away- that can take you directly to the town centre. There is a migros and denner ( supermarket) close by as well. As a previous reviewer said- the hostel is uphill, so just beware if you are bringing heavy luggages with you. We stayed for only 1 night so heavy luggage was not a problem.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    7
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
7
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

Very clean but there was no hot water for showers for a couple of days. All the sockets in the room were blocked up so we couldnt charge our phones, laptops etc. Very picturesque location but it is difficult enough to find and is up a hill (hard with a lot of luggage). Its a very nice place but I wouldnt reccommend it for the price.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

This hostel is excellent for those wanting to watch their budget. Although they are not located directly in the city of Lugano they are just close enough to walk.(about 15minutes) There is also a bus stop not far from the hostel where you can catch the bus into the city.

The hostel is located off the main road so it's nice and quiet at night!I went with a group of girlfriends and we stayed in the 4bed dormitory. We had great fun! There is even a pool in the back and a nice picnic area.

Breakfast is excellent and the staff are very friendly! Will definatly be staying here when i go to Lugano again!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naarden, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2007

This is the best hostel I have ever been!

The hostel is situated in the lovely place Lugano.

The hostel offers nice and clean rooms. You can book a room for 2 persons, a family or you just sleep in a dormitory.

The hostel has a great garden with a swimmingpool. You can relax while laying in the garden under a palmtree!

The personel is very friendly and helpfull, the breakfast is good.

Just go there and have a great holiday!

  • Liked — the beautiful garden with swimmingpool
  • Disliked — there is nothing i didn't like
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lugano Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Youth Hostel

Address: Via Cantonale 13 | Savosa, Lugano CH-6942 , Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and visit our family youth hostel, an Oasis of peace, in a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. The area is calm and quiet, however it's the ideal starting point for nice excursions, relaxing sails on the lake and interesting visits to museums and art exhibitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lugano Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Youth Hostel Lugano-Savosa Ti Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lugano Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.