We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lugano Youth Hostel

Lugano Youth Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Lugano Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Lugano Youth Hostel
Via Cantonale 13 | Savosa, Lugano CH-6942 , Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Cavite City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Perfect for Families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Warm welcome, good room, nice amenities (kitchen, pool), wonderful surroundings and a nice location on the outskirts of Lugano. The Bus takes you to the city centre in about 10 minutes. Breakfast is good and nearby is a good pizzeria. We stayed as a small family with a baby and a baby-bed was provided in a studio bedroom with shower. There is also a playground and grill-area and a nice garden in the back. Security was good, we had our own card-keys for the room and communal kitchen. Curfew is at 10pm but a key can be requested for a main gate when you know that you will stay out longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    7
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
7
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We stayed in the Youth Hostel lugano-Savosa during eastern 2012. The hostel is nicely located on the sunny side of a hill, with a large enclosed garden containing comfortable seats, a small swimming pool and lots of (small) attractions for children. It is a quiet place (at least when we visited) because it's not in the city centre and this allows you to really relax. The rooms are simply but complete (our room had its own bathroom, but this is optional), cooking can be done in a seperate kitchen which is very well equipped. Of note though, the prices are counted per person and not per room, so in the end we (2 persons) still had to pay a little over 100 CHF per night, which, in light of the simple rooms, may be a bit too much. You can easily reach the hostel by car or by taking bus nr 5 from the train station, get out at Crocifisso. All in all I can certainly recommend this location for a weekend.

Room Tip: Since there are no busy streets in the near vicinity of the hostel, I think all rooms are fine. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

We checked-in into one of their comfort rooms (4 bunk beds with kitchenette facilities) for 5 nights and we were pleased with the stay there. Certainly, it exceeded our expectation of a youth hostel as it is nothing like any of the usual youth hostels that we've been to. The 3-storey modern building requires card access to their doors and lift, overlooking a rather large swimming pool and lawn. The beds and bathroom are spotlessly clean. Breakfast is served in another building so making it there in the summer rain can be rather discomforting. Being a family-run establishment, every guest is expected to chip in with the housework including washing/drying plates after breakfast and bringing the bedsheets down to the reception when checking-out. Guests traveling on public transports with many/heavy luggage should be prepared with a short steep hill climb when making their way here..which is a norm with Lugano being in the hilly part of the Swiss country.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

This was the first time my friends and I stayed at a hostel- and it was surprisingly good.
We paid roughly 26 CHF for a 4 bed dorm excluding the 10 chf breakfast (though I heard that there was a lot of food) and 2CHF extra for a towel.You could pay a deposit for a key if you will be returning later than10:30 at night- because that's when they close the gates. But overall- it was a cheap- yet good- deal.

The room was clean with cupboards for bag storage with a lock, beds, shelves, some chairs and sink. Because we booked a dorm, we had to share a bathroom with the rest of the people on our level. The bathroom was alright, there was a hairdryer, 5 sinks, 2 toilets and 2 shower stalls. Luckily the rest of the people on our floor were girls, because one would have to either change outside the stall ( but in the bathroom still) or open the stall doors to grab your clothes ( as there was not place to put them inside the stalls).

The location was not in the town centre, but there is a bus stop close by- just a few streets away- that can take you directly to the town centre. There is a migros and denner ( supermarket) close by as well. As a previous reviewer said- the hostel is uphill, so just beware if you are bringing heavy luggages with you. We stayed for only 1 night so heavy luggage was not a problem.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

Very clean but there was no hot water for showers for a couple of days. All the sockets in the room were blocked up so we couldnt charge our phones, laptops etc. Very picturesque location but it is difficult enough to find and is up a hill (hard with a lot of luggage). Its a very nice place but I wouldnt reccommend it for the price.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

This hostel is excellent for those wanting to watch their budget. Although they are not located directly in the city of Lugano they are just close enough to walk.(about 15minutes) There is also a bus stop not far from the hostel where you can catch the bus into the city.

The hostel is located off the main road so it's nice and quiet at night!I went with a group of girlfriends and we stayed in the 4bed dormitory. We had great fun! There is even a pool in the back and a nice picnic area.

Breakfast is excellent and the staff are very friendly! Will definatly be staying here when i go to Lugano again!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naarden, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2007

This is the best hostel I have ever been!

The hostel is situated in the lovely place Lugano.

The hostel offers nice and clean rooms. You can book a room for 2 persons, a family or you just sleep in a dormitory.

The hostel has a great garden with a swimmingpool. You can relax while laying in the garden under a palmtree!

The personel is very friendly and helpfull, the breakfast is good.

Just go there and have a great holiday!

  • Liked — the beautiful garden with swimmingpool
  • Disliked — there is nothing i didn't like
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lugano Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Youth Hostel

Address: Via Cantonale 13 | Savosa, Lugano CH-6942 , Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and visit our family youth hostel, an Oasis of peace, in a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. The area is calm and quiet, however it's the ideal starting point for nice excursions, relaxing sails on the lake and interesting visits to museums and art exhibitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lugano Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Youth Hostel Lugano-Savosa Ti Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lugano Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.