We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Acquarello

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo Acquarello to your Saves list
Albergo Acquarello
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Cioccaro 9, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Location, location, location...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

This hotel is great for the value paid: average clean rooms with no sophisticated furnishings and interior design, good for 1 or 2 nights, not more. Located in the hart of the city, right next to the funicular that takes your straight to the main train station. Paid 150CFH for 1 night for a double room (breakfast incl). The reason it was so cheap comparatively is that the room windows were overlooking the funicular pass, which is in service from 5am till around midnight, which bothered me, but not my super tired friend. You can book rooms on the other side of the hotel, away from the funicular, but the price will be much higher. Staff is a bit grumpy, but warms up if you make a joke or two and smile...most of the customer service personnel I met in Svizzera is like that - specifics of the region I assume. Would recommend if you are looking for a bargain.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    48
    67
    30
    33
See reviews for
32
58
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

Disgusting, hot, dingy little hotel with spectacular views of either a solid rock wall or a grotty alleyway. Room had only 1 lightbulb in working order (out of 4), the bathroom was disgusting, and the tiny geriatric desk fan wouldn't have cooled a fly. As an added bonus, the funicula that runs straight past the windows and through the hotel (!!!!) obviously hasn't been serviced since it was built. The staff were indifferent if not downright rude, the food was suitable for a backpackers' hostel, and any attempts to drink ourselves to sleep were thwarted by the ludicrously overpriced bar.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

This hotel is in a fantastic location in Lugano, and if you have looked at all into hotels in the area, you will know how expensive the area is. This hotel is cheap for the area, and of course, cheap and good location come with tradeoffs. The funicular runs right past the hotel, and so starting in the early morning, if you are on that side of the hotel, it is loud. This is not a hotel for people looking for a quiet place.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

Stayed here with a tour group. I had read some earlier reviews and had pretty low expectations, but I didn't think this hotel was that bad. No, it's nothing fancy... no air conditioning, a rather basic room and few amenities, but the location is terrific. You're just steps from the heart of Lugano and the lakefront. Yes, a funicular runs through the hotel and just outside your window, but it doesn't run all night, and if you close your window and crank down the shutters (and turn on the fan for white noise, since there's no A/C), it's not that loud. Fortunately, it wasn't too hot when I was there so closing the window was an option... Breakfast is rather limited but so are many European breakfasts, and it didn't cost extra, either. My bathroom was huge, although the shower (no bathtub) was tiny. For one night, it was fine, and I can't help but smile when I think about how I stayed in a hotel with a funicular outside my window... a memory that will stay with me!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

Our tour group booked this hotel since I never would have if I thought about a good night's sleep first. The funicular ran until midnight and began again at 5AM. Since our room faced the "beast", the only sleep obtained was between those hours. Aside from the funicular, the hotel is located in the square with everything around it. The bed was clean, the shower and breakfast adequate and a fan provided. If you have a room facing the funicular and open the windows, you will get the smoke which rises from the courtyard below as a bonus. So, think about your choice. If your room is somehow in another part of the building away from the noise, it may be tolerable. However, I doubt it is close to 5* or even 4*. I was probably generous with 3*.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

We loved staying here. The funicular is relatively quiet - it ain't LOUD like road traffic! You would have to stay in all day to be sure to hear it!
Turn the TV volume up to "3" to miss it!
This was so convenient and we loved it. After all we were here for our 31st wedding anniversary - what could spoil that?
Thank you to the friendly staff. Oh, also the better rooms have an alcove lounge area through the hall where you can BREW fresh real Coffee & tea all day & night for FREE . . .
a big T H A N K Y O U !

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

I was disappointed by the hotel facilities. There was no tea/coffee maker, the bathroom was extremely small and the room very ordinary (although clean). Even its main attraction, location in the centre of the city was somewhat of a drawback because the funicular which connects the city centre to the main railway station creates a noise which is audible from early morning to late night. We stayed in the hotel because the booking had been done by an organization which had invited us over. I dont think I would personally have chosen the place myself.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Problems with the room
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-balmelli, directeur at Albergo Acquarello, responded to this review, May 11, 2009
Dear customer,

In europe, there are not a lot of 3 star hotel with tea/coffee maker in the room. But in our superior rooms we do have this service, and the superior room is also less noisier than an economic, as explained in our web site.
It's always better to reserve by yourself, as you better know as any body what are your requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Acquarello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Acquarello

Address: Piazza Cioccaro 9, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Acquarello 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Benvenuti all'Acquarello Il nostro albergo e situato nel centro citta, sulla zona pedonale, a pochi passi dal Lago di Lugano, nelle vicinanze del Palazzo dei Congressi, del Casino di Lugano, del Padiglione Conza (centro esposizioni) e della stazione FFS. Il nostro albergo a conduzione familiare e la sosta di chi certa un alloggio economico ed elegante. Hotel Acquarello (Ex Cristallo) e stato recentemente rinnovato ed ora puo offrire ai suoi clienti, nel quadro della rinomata ospitalita svizzera, tutto il confort che si meritano. Tutte le aree pubbliche e le camere sono NON FUMATORI e gli animali non sono ammessi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Albergo Acquarello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Acquarello Lugano
Albergo Acquarello Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Acquarello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.