We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central and Swissly clean!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Acquarello

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo Acquarello to your Saves list
Albergo Acquarello
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Cioccaro 9, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
London, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Central and Swissly clean!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I have to admit that I only stayed here because, although the hotel has now changed names, I once worked here when it was the Albergo Cristallo, for a whole summer back in 1980, as a waiter and barman. The hotel was a lot livelier then, serving both lunch and dinner, as well as drinks to guests on the terrace. That terrace has now gone, or rather it has been swallowed up by the snack-bar next door, and there are no plants or flowers outside the hotel, which is a great pity.
The hotel itself is clean and the staff friendly, the rooms spacious, very clean and fitted out in a light and airy contemporary style, with quality Swiss fittings throughout. I had a cheaper room overlooking the funicular, but the sound of the railway docking and undocking has never bothered me, but then I had a whole summer to get used to it!
The hotel is at the very centre of the whole town, barely a minute away from the main squares, shopping streets and then on to the lakeside.

Room Tip: Avoid cheaper ones overlooking the funicular if you want to keep the windows open or don't like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    46
    64
    30
    32
See reviews for
32
55
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suwon, South Korea
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We made a reservation for rooms on road because it could take some more hours to the destination. This hotel is located very close to the lower stop of cable car to Lugano railway station, and I could find many of commuters are using this railway. So, somewhat noisy and you can feel some trembling when the car go up and down. The area is, I felt, very center of old city and I could have a walk through allies and in some minutes got to Lugano lake. There were many restaurents around that area, even serve breakfast. It was good to stay this hotel one night but should be aware of the Lugano citta-stazione funicular running from early in the morning to late night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KOS
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

the position of this hotel is the its main advantage. on the foot of the funicular.
rooms facing the funicular are noisy but we knew that beofre coming, they were clean, the pillows however had a strange size, and except from the duvet there were no upper sheets. The bathroom was the smallest we had ever seen. that was in the room number 306.
The personal were friendly and nice with us. The breakfast was great.
we would use aquarello again but in a different type of room

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Some work are in process in the hotel so expect to have a loooot of noise (drill at 8:20 in the morning)

One iron for all the hotel...
You can hear everything from the other rooms.

Bottle of water only the first day, for the other days you have to pay 4CHF

During all my stay I was looking forward to leave this "hotel" it is the worst Hotel I never did

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easter Island, Chile
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This hotel is perfect for people who want a place to stay near to the train station and to down town. The both things are possible because the hotel is located next to the cable car. The only problem is the noise of the cable car but isn't so bad because the cable car is closed at night. The hotel has lifts and wifi. The rooms are small but clean, modern, with tv, privat bathroom and shower.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The hotel is a bit hidden near the fenicular station, 1 stop form the railway station. and still walking distance as going steep street down.It is in the heart of old part of the city. The lake is 5 minutes of walk, also the lake promenadę, the park and funicular station to Mont Bre. It is clean, modernised hotel, the rooms with windowns to towards funicular are a bit noisy. But comparing to other Swiss prices it is very good value for money. Recommended for short stay in the city.

Room Tip: Ask for room not facing the funicular station, less noice to be expected, as funicular starts ca 5 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

My partner and I stayed in this hotel for 1 night. The staff were friendly and helpful and during check in the hotel shock when the funicular went past. It seems strange that a hotel was built over a funicular and parts of the hotel obviously suffer from the noise. Only a faint rumbling could be heard from our room 214.

Our room was small and stuffy with very strange angles. The bed was small and uncomfortable. The flat screen TV with several English channels was the highlight. The bathroom had a glass shelf over the loo. My partner knocked his head on the corner off the shelf and wounded his head. The shelf is difficult to see.

The view from the window was of a wall that had works of art hung on it. Some effort had been made to improve the view.

The hotel is easy to find and centrally located.

Not bad value by Swiss standards and may have reflected the noisy location. Would not recommend.

Room Tip: Anything away from the funicular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Acquarello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Acquarello

Address: Piazza Cioccaro 9, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Acquarello 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Benvenuti all'Acquarello Il nostro albergo e situato nel centro citta, sulla zona pedonale, a pochi passi dal Lago di Lugano, nelle vicinanze del Palazzo dei Congressi, del Casino di Lugano, del Padiglione Conza (centro esposizioni) e della stazione FFS. Il nostro albergo a conduzione familiare e la sosta di chi certa un alloggio economico ed elegante. Hotel Acquarello (Ex Cristallo) e stato recentemente rinnovato ed ora puo offrire ai suoi clienti, nel quadro della rinomata ospitalita svizzera, tutto il confort che si meritano. Tutte le aree pubbliche e le camere sono NON FUMATORI e gli animali non sono ammessi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Albergo Acquarello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Acquarello Lugano
Albergo Acquarello Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Acquarello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.