We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap. Loud. Tacky.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Acquarello

Save Saved
You added Albergo Acquarello to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Albergo Acquarello
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Cioccaro 9, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Cheap. Loud. Tacky.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

If I could give this place 0 stars, I would. The furnicular that is in the courtyard of this ill-conceived "hotel" might be convenient, but if you like sleeping in a hot room with an open window, no air conditioning, no fan, and no shade so the people across the courtyard can watch you undress, and you like listening to the racket of people talking and the furnicular going off every 5 minutes--- then this is your place. Adding to the quaint charm, mold in the bathroom, dented lamp shades, and I am not exaggerating---they actually placed a damp and wet comforter on the bed. Oh, and you will need to use a key to lock your room from the inside. How hard could it be to actually replace that with something more modern and safe?

The bathroom looked like a bottle of pepto bismol pink had exploded in there. Don't expect anything but the absolute basics with this hotel and the standards are minimal to say the least. I have traveled to 17 countries and this might just be the worst hotel I've stayed in. If you are looking for cheap, then you get will exactly what you pay for. My recommendation, spend a bit more to actually get something better or just buy a tent.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    57
    66
    41
    34
See reviews for
26
48
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Recently stayed one night here when passing through Lugano. Found it a convenient, reasonably priced (for the area) place to stay. The funicular did not bother us that much; for those sensitive to noise, it may not work. Weather was mild when we were there, and a very quiet table fan was a nice breeze. Room was very basic, no frills, basic TV, but that's all we needed. Shower was tiny but good. Towels/toiletries were cheap, but for one night, no problem, we used our own toiletries. Breakfast not included, so we walked to McDonald's for cappuccinos and rolls. The location is great, just down steps (or funicular) from train station. We didn't know about the funicular so got slightly confused finding the hotel at first, but the location is super-convenient to lakefront, sights of Lugano, plus easy access back to the train station, all walking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The location of this hotel is very good as it is close to the station and central to the town and the lake. It is worth paying more to get away from the funicular (the hotel is built around it). Breakfast was 14 euros each which was costly on top of an expensive room. The room was comfortable and the staff were helpful.

We found Lugarno to be one of the most expensive places we have visited.

Room Tip: Book a room away from the funicular to minimize noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My wife and I decided to go to Lugano and the Ticino region for a week-end, to enjoy great weather and eat well.

So we booked this hotel, which had a perfect location, a few steps from Piazza Riforma and the lake. As we were going to arrive quite late, we called the reception to let them know, and we did well, as they close the reception and give you a passcode to open the entrance door. Your room is open, and the key can be found on the bed. I found this solution interesting and original.

The weather this week-end was very hot (37°C - 98.6°F), with night temperatures above 20°C (68°F). The room didn't have any A/C, so you can imagine how difficult it was to get some some sleep, even though we managed in the end.

The hotel is literally next to/above the cable car that takes you the central train station. As of 6am we will here the train leave and go. If your plan is to sleep until 11am, yes, it might disturb you. Otherwise, it's as good as any wake-up call ! If you want to get in shape, there's even a small fitness.

We chose to have a full breakfast for two, at a price of 15CHF each. Knowing the prices of a breakfast in another restaurant, I strongly suggest that you have breakfast at the hotel. You will find coffee, latte, cappuccino, tea etc. Croissants, bread, eggs, cereals, cheese, ham, salami and fruits.

In terms of service, the receptionist was very nice, asked us if we were able to enter without trouble the night of arrival. She asked us where we had parked, and offered the possibility to buy an exit ticket for our parking lot at a flat daily rate of 25CHF. In the end our parking stay was lower so we declined. This lady spoke Italian, English, Spanish and a bit of French and German.

Overall, it was a nice stay, with enough comfort for 2 nights, in the heart of Lugano. Would recommend it to young couples and people who just want to stay in a relaxed place and at a normal budget. We would come back next time we are there.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms that are away from the cable car. They are more expensive but it might help you if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Location of the hotel is good but the rooms are not that good and to top it all hotel staff is unfriendly. We selected this hotel for its proximity to Ticino but this was quite unfortunate and credited to humiliating experience on our long excursion with family. We asked for more facilities in the room like extra fan, better blankets and bigger room even if it costed extra but we did not get.

My recommendation is to look out for this only if someone is devoid of options.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed only one night here as we were passing through. Coming from Italy I was disappointed that we had paid more than twice as much & our stay did not include free wifi nor did it include breakfast.
This hotel is very conveniently located right by the cable car from the main station, the downside to this however is that you can hear the car & the bell that is rung every time it leaves/arrives from 5:30am to just shy of midnight.
This was not my favourite hotel by any means, the room thankfully had some sort of air conditioning unit installed - but it was a free standing unit with pipes going out the open window & it was extremely loud!! At least we didn't melt through our sleepless night!
The bathroom was acceptable however the shower head did not sit in the shower rose at all which meant the water splashed onto the wall & not onto you, hence you had to hold the shower head in your hand :(
My other complaint about the bathroom is that the only towel rack was above the toilet, a bit germy if you ask me...?!
We did not have breakfast rather walked down to coop & bought some pastries/yogurts for us to eat. One of the things I found good was that the room had a fridge & a coffee machine so we could at least be caffeinated & keep things cold.
For the price I have stayed in much nicer hotels, this hotel was conveniently located & in our price range however if I were to return to Lugano I would look at spending between 150/200chf night to ensure I received a quieter hotel which included things I think should be included in the hotel price.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Clean, ok priced, but extremely loud! Staff not the friendliest in the world and services are basic. This hotel is very strange! It's rooms literally look the entrance of the cable car! The entire hotel shakes every time there is a cable car arrival / departure (that is all the time except some hours during the night).

Definitely will not go back and will not recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Albergo Acquarello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Acquarello

Address: Piazza Cioccaro 9, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Acquarello 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Benvenuti all'Acquarello Il nostro albergo e situato nel centro citta, sulla zona pedonale, a pochi passi dal Lago di Lugano, nelle vicinanze del Palazzo dei Congressi, del Casino di Lugano, del Padiglione Conza (centro esposizioni) e della stazione FFS. Il nostro albergo a conduzione familiare e la sosta di chi certa un alloggio economico ed elegante. Hotel Acquarello (Ex Cristallo) e stato recentemente rinnovato ed ora puo offrire ai suoi clienti, nel quadro della rinomata ospitalita svizzera, tutto il confort che si meritano. Tutte le aree pubbliche e le camere sono NON FUMATORI e gli animali non sono ammessi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Albergo Acquarello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Acquarello Lugano
Albergo Acquarello Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Acquarello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.