We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly and no hospitality” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Acquarello

Save Saved
You added Albergo Acquarello to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Albergo Acquarello
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Cioccaro 9, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 41 hotels in Lugano
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Unfriendly and no hospitality”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Location of the hotel is good but the rooms are not that good and to top it all hotel staff is unfriendly. We selected this hotel for its proximity to Ticino but this was quite unfortunate and credited to humiliating experience on our long excursion with family. We asked for more facilities in the room like extra fan, better blankets and bigger room even if it costed extra but we did not get.

My recommendation is to look out for this only if someone is devoid of options.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    40
    59
    29
    31
See reviews for
28
52
14
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed only one night here as we were passing through. Coming from Italy I was disappointed that we had paid more than twice as much & our stay did not include free wifi nor did it include breakfast.
This hotel is very conveniently located right by the cable car from the main station, the downside to this however is that you can hear the car & the bell that is rung every time it leaves/arrives from 5:30am to just shy of midnight.
This was not my favourite hotel by any means, the room thankfully had some sort of air conditioning unit installed - but it was a free standing unit with pipes going out the open window & it was extremely loud!! At least we didn't melt through our sleepless night!
The bathroom was acceptable however the shower head did not sit in the shower rose at all which meant the water splashed onto the wall & not onto you, hence you had to hold the shower head in your hand :(
My other complaint about the bathroom is that the only towel rack was above the toilet, a bit germy if you ask me...?!
We did not have breakfast rather walked down to coop & bought some pastries/yogurts for us to eat. One of the things I found good was that the room had a fridge & a coffee machine so we could at least be caffeinated & keep things cold.
For the price I have stayed in much nicer hotels, this hotel was conveniently located & in our price range however if I were to return to Lugano I would look at spending between 150/200chf night to ensure I received a quieter hotel which included things I think should be included in the hotel price.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Clean, ok priced, but extremely loud! Staff not the friendliest in the world and services are basic. This hotel is very strange! It's rooms literally look the entrance of the cable car! The entire hotel shakes every time there is a cable car arrival / departure (that is all the time except some hours during the night).

Definitely will not go back and will not recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island, WA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel is close to town but the Funicular runs 5 AM to 12:00 midnight which shakes the hotel and is loud. The hotel has no air conditioning and the open windows front on a large square which has lots of bars/restaurants. If nightlife is your thing it's great but a good nights sleep is iffy.

Room Tip: See review
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Got a room above funicular, so a bit noisy but wanted an a/c room, and this was the only one available. Walking distance to lake and restaurants. Lady at reception was pleasant and helpful. Clean room and bathroom, although small, but then we have come to expect that everywhere in Europe. Very practical for short stays especially if traveling by train to other destinations as funicular takes one right inside the train station in 40 seconds and is right next to hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for one night during the business trip. Perfect central location next to shops and Manor store. Next to funicular -if you want a quiet early night or stay longer ask for a quiet room. Modern functional room. Was impressed by spotless clean everything, nice bed and sheets. Lovely helpful staff. The Internet connection is great and costs a minimal amount. Coming from Britain I did not have the Swiss adapter- the hotel lent me one for free for whole stay- just perfect.
Nice breakfast, fresh orange made with juice press in front of you and plenty of juice to have, fresh fruit, selection of yogurts, oats, eggs and pastry.
I would stay again if visiting for work or require a less costly accommodation with great service and facilities.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

On arrival we discovered that we weren't assigned a room even though the reservation thru the Cosmos group was made weeks ago. The room they ended up giving us was close to the sky tram (which is like being next to a mini rocket taking off every few minutes from 5:30AM or earlier to 12 Midnight) even though we had requested a quiet room weeks ago. I suspect most of their rooms are impacted by the noise. The room had a non functional AC and the front desk response was that by their determination the room was at optimal temperature and so there was nothing to be done about the AC not working! There was just one person at the front desk and so things could get very slow. The room was small and dated. The shower didn't have space for soap/shampoo bottles and there was no tub. There were safety hazards all over the hotel, from tile sized holes in walkway at the entrance on 5th floor to screws protruding from the floor in the bathroom being used as door stoppers. Insulation between rooms was so bad that everything said in one room could be heard in the other.
The unique part about this (and other hotels in the area) was that the car road entrance is above the 5th floor and reception is on the ground floor next to the mall and trail to the lake.Out of the two lifts one was reserved for staff as it opens in an area used by reception. With the second one, one is not allowed to go to the ground floor where reception is, so count on climbing steps.
Cold breakfast was ok, vegetarian options included bread, milk and cereal, raw fruits and fresh squeezed orange juice.
The redeeming things about this place were i)a nice inexpensive panini/falafal take out place just outside to left of reception (next to air tram) and ii)the lakefront being a few minutes walk from the hotel.
Wifi was available for 2Francs and worked well, though if you need it for just a few minutes some shops nearby offer it for free.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Acquarello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Acquarello

Address: Piazza Cioccaro 9, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 41 hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Acquarello 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Benvenuti all'Acquarello Il nostro albergo e situato nel centro citta, sulla zona pedonale, a pochi passi dal Lago di Lugano, nelle vicinanze del Palazzo dei Congressi, del Casino di Lugano, del Padiglione Conza (centro esposizioni) e della stazione FFS. Il nostro albergo a conduzione familiare e la sosta di chi certa un alloggio economico ed elegante. Hotel Acquarello (Ex Cristallo) e stato recentemente rinnovato ed ora puo offrire ai suoi clienti, nel quadro della rinomata ospitalita svizzera, tutto il confort che si meritano. Tutte le aree pubbliche e le camere sono NON FUMATORI e gli animali non sono ammessi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Albergo Acquarello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Acquarello Lugano
Albergo Acquarello Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Acquarello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.