We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Besso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Besso to your Saves list
Hotel Besso
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Via Besso 24, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 24 Lugano B&B and Inns
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I have traveled the world and I must say that I am so impressed by gentlemen's attitude who run the hotel. Downsides - Everything in Switzerland is expensive and this hotel is not cheap. Rooms on the front side, facing the road is noisy and should be avoided. The carpets on the floor and staircase is worn out at places. Breakfast is standard with bread, eggs, cornflakes and fruits. Far from city centre but connected by Cogwheel and buses. Upsides - Near the main train station. Excellent staff and you can trust their words. Neat rooms with good toilets. Elevator to reach up to each floors.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms NOT facing the roads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SourabhKar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by the fastidious room. There was a view of the lake, but the street noise was disconcerting. The bathroom shower head was strangely mounted at waist level, although we were able to hang it on the towel bar in order to shower. Also, there was no wash cloth and skimpy soap and shampoo packages. Location is very convenient to the train station and shopping, but a bit over priced compared to others in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for side opposite the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We got to our room which was very noisy from car and motorcycle traffice. when asked for another room, receptionist was rude and said no others available. Neither my husband nor I slept all night. When we left the next morning, they added insult to injurz by charging 30 Swiss Francs for leaving early. Originally we were scheduled for three nights but one night of no sleep was enough. Very small room.

Room Tip: Hotel receptionist indicated all rooms are noisz.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arlene s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lugano hotels

Lugano
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Whilst this hotel is close to the station [10 min. walk max.] it is on the wrong side of town in regards all the attractions and shopping and eating areas. it is a steep walk down to these things and a real steep walk back up. you can catch the funicular up and or down but at a cost of 1.20 euro a trip each mounts up over a few days if you make multiple trips. there are no restaurants / cafes close by. the hotel itself is aok and the included breakfast good. room was neat & tidy with the staff friendly and helpful

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank oieoie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed here as a family and had an excellent stay.At less than 5 mins walk from the train station it was ideal. We were on the main road (noisy) but it had the advantage of a lovely big balcony and large bathroom.It is true that some of the features are tired, but beds were comfortable the room was clean and cleaned well every day.Breakfast was basic but plentiful, one has to remember this is a 2* and for Swiss prices was well worth the money, we would choose to stay here again.The restaurant opposite was basic but gave large portions, not the best Italian cuisine, but served a purpose for a tired hungry family.Staff here are friendly and speak good English. Free Wifi was a real bonus. If you arrive by train cross over to platform four and then walk up the hill,it saves you dragging cases up stairs! Lugano center is just a short walk down hill and take the funicular up the hill on the way back at 1.10chf per person its worth it and will take you to the main train station.

Room Tip: rooms to the back are quieter but without balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
92 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

The hotel is close to the train station but you have to walk over busy streets to get there. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
The room was nice with a very small TV and bathroom. We booked a non smoking room but the room smelled of smoke (even with the windows open). Our room did not face the busy street and the noise of cars did not bother us.
The included breakfast with croissant, buns, cheese, sausage, yogurt and fruit was good and the coffee was delicious.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lu-Gerda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
151 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

There were no family rooms available, so we had to take two double rooms. The location is a reasonably long walk from the city center. The hotel itself is basic, and a little dark. It is located on a busy street. Parking was difficult to access. We had a VW Passat estate, and I found it difficult to enter and exit the car park. The breakfast was somewhat limited. Overall I found it expensive, given its basic condition, and location.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
1.0 mi away
ibis budget Lugano Paradiso
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#16 of 44 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Acquarello
Albergo Acquarello
#34 of 44 in Lugano
3.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Carlo Garni
Hotel San Carlo Garni
#33 of 44 in Lugano
3.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
1.0 mi away
ibis Lugano Paradiso
ibis Lugano Paradiso
#21 of 44 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Besso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Besso

Address: Via Besso 24, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Besso 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Besso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing