We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try it, it wouldn't hurt” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Walter au Lac

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Walter au Lac to your Saves list
Hotel Walter au Lac
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Rezzonico 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Lugano
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Try it, it wouldn't hurt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

It's an old ( and family I think ) hotel, just beside the Lake of Lugano. The location and the view are perfect. You can go to the lake or to get lost into the tangle of old streets in the central part.
The rooms are comfortable, but don't expect perfection from a 120 years building. If you want to be pamper, go elsewhere. The only bad impression that I have is the noise from the street outside - is too higher during the night.
If traveling by car, you may have problems with parking - the public parking nearby is always full.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    96
    41
    9
    3
See reviews for
40
81
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

Lugano is a beautiful city. Our only regret was that we couldn't spend more than a day/night here.

Key Points
- free internet computer room
- 10 minute walk from the train station but be prepared for a lot of stairs
- very noisy with a busy street beside the hotel (windows are not soundproof at all)
- AC was not effective at all

Bottom line: would love to go back to Lugano but would not stay at the Walter.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

Location couldn't be better, this hotel is right on the lake and next to a number of main squares. Also directly behind the main street with all the shops and funiculare. We spent new years eve here and hotel staff were lovely.

Room was clean but old, tired, small dated tv but a spotless bathroom as stated by other reviewers, and generous shampoo / shower cap / body lotion etc.

We were breath-taken when we came down for breakfast for the first time. With views over the lake you just find yourself sitting staring out the window for hours. Food was absolutely fine, there was plenty of it and it was fresh.

Free internet was also a great bonus. 2 computers which were rarely used by other guests. It was always free when we wanted to send emails home. There are also a number of games and a pack of cards to play.

Highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Walter au Lac in Lugano, from 22 September to 1 October, and would most definitely stay there again on our next visit. Built in 1888, the Walter is a grande dame on the lakefront in this busy Swiss-Italian city.

All rooms face Lake Lugano, and most of the rooms have balconies. Our room had a small balcony, big enough for a small table and two chairs, and just perfect for afternoon relaxation and viewing the lake, or just sitting out there in the warm evening air with a bottle of wine.

If you're American and accustomed to staying at Marriotts or Hiltons, you'll likely be disappointed with the room; however, we prefer to stay in European-type hotels when in Europe. This room, while not large, had a very comfortable queen-size bed, plenty of closet space, radio, small TV (but really, who wants to watch television in beautiful Lugano?), safe, mini-bar, coffee/tea maker, and spacious bathroom (more about the bathroom later). There is now air-conditioning in the rooms. I can't imagine staying here in the warm weather without A/C, because the only "windows" are the French doors which open to the balcony, and leaving them open at night would not be an option for me.

Our bathroom was spotless and had a combination shower/bath. The bathtub's bottom was so narrow that we had a hard time standing up in it (really!) and I used one hand to hold the shower head for balance. It took some getting used to, and next time I would ask for just a shower without bathtub.

Walter's breakfast buffet, included in the price, is generous by European standards and includes fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, a wide assortment of rolls, croissants, and breads, cured meats, cheeses, and delicious preserves. The staff was always friendly and attentive.

There is free interent access on the first floor in a common area suitable for reading or watching a larger television.

It's Walter's location that is one of its best selling points. Situated on the lake, it's a very short walk to the ferries which travel Lake Lugano between April and October. Taxi to or from the Lugano railway station will cost approximately SF20.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

if it werent for the fact that this hotel is in just about the most convenient location in town it would be remarkable only for its half hearted refurbishment, tired rooms, perfunctory service at reception and street noise at night....HOWEVER it really is in a very good location being right across from the main lake boat terminus, adjacent to the main upmarket pedestrianised shopping areas and not too far distant from the funicular that leads to the main line station...moreover it has a superbly located breakfast room on the first floor overlooking the lake (meaning second floor to americans)

so if what you are looking for is the best of swiss hotels and dont care about location this is absolutely not for you ...however if location is more important then this may be a compromise worth making

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison wi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

had a delightful room with huge marble bathroom, a/c a plus, insulated windows that deadened the street noise at night, great value for location. had internet room which was great. CNN was the only english channel- as was the case in every other hotel we stayed in. Could walk to most places, nice park by the lake.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.1 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.2 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#6 of 43 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#13 of 43 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Federale
Hotel Federale
#8 of 43 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#18 of 43 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Walter au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Walter au Lac

Address: Piazza Rezzonico 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Walter au Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Walter au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walter Au Lac Lugano
Walter Au Lac Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Walter au Lac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.