We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in Lugano” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Walter au Lac

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Walter au Lac to your Saves list
Hotel Walter au Lac
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Rezzonico 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Southport, England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in Lugano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Stayed in Hotel Walter recently and we were very happy with the Hotel and service.
The Hotel was quite small but had pleasant décor throughout.
All staff in every department were helpful, efficient and friendly.
Breakfast was fairly basic but nice choice of food and drinks in general.
Rooms were very clean, quite small but every amenity provided for a comfortable stay. The balcony was a pleasant extra and the safe facility was welcome which is not normally provided in 3 star hotels. Also there was efficient air conditioning available.
Would definitely recommend and would visit again.
Thank you for a wonderful week.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 2nd floor with a balcony and when the doors were shut there was no noise from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walteraulac, Direttore at Hotel Walter au Lac, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our house.

For us it is important that our guests feel at home!

We look forward to your next visit in Lugano!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    81
    37
    6
    3
See reviews for
36
67
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stayed there for two nights. They write that hotel has lake view but please mind that hotel is located on very noisy street, even at night you cant open windows because of the traffic noise. The bedsheets were very worn, feeling like lying on the sand, I couldnt sleep well and asked to change them in the morning. The older woman at the reception was very unfriendly and told that this is because the level of the hotel. But the price was rather high. Finally they have changed them. The bathtube was very old and worn. The teapot was rusty inside. The breakfast was very poor, without hot beverages or dishes. Besides they blocked money on my credit card and I still have them blocked. Lugano is nice sity but I will never stay in this hotel. They should invest money in renovation and hire more friendly staff.

Room Tip: Never chose this hotel, there are more decent hotels in Lugano
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walteraulac, Direttore at Hotel Walter au Lac, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for your review. We always accept critique, which help us to be better. You write that the the bed sheets are worn, but when you were in our house you complained the kind of textile. Also you didn’t ask to change them in the morning, but in the evening, after our staff finished to work. The “older” woman, which is our chef de reception doidn’t say that worn bed sheets are the level of the hotel, but that we use of this kind of textile. She arranged to change you the bed sheets.

We serve Continental breakfast with cold buffet at will, with cold meats and cheese, 10 different types of bread, homemade jam, fruit, fresh fruit salad, cereals, yoghurt, hard-boiled and soft-boiled eggs.

As drinks we offer: coffee (espresso, american coffee, cappuccino), hot and cold milk, hot and cold chocolate, hot and cold ovomaltine, black tea, green tea, different herbal teas, 4 different types of juice.

We don’t consider this a poor breakfast. Please let us know, what else is missing, we will try to serve it at your next visit, thank you.

Unfortunately you booked an classic room and not an executive room. Indeed, we renovated the 1st and 2nd floor last winter. The next winter we will renovate other floors. If you wish a renovated room, please ask for an executive one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Disclaimer - I have stayed at this hotel many times over decades and love it!

I usually opt for 4 star properties, but this 3 star hotel is wonderful and in a perfect location - right on the lake and close to the center of the action in Lugano - the Piazza della Reforma. Rooms are not large, but are very clean and the air conditioning is fantastic. Some rooms have small private balconies overlooking the lake and there is a huge roof deck with spectacular views to enjoy as well.

Continental breakfast is included in the room rate and is delicious: flaky croissants, commercial jams plus homemade ( the fig is not to be missed! ), cheeses, yogurts, etc.

The staff are helpful, friendly and efficient ( thank you, Laura! ).

Take either a cab or the funicular from the railway. If you seek marble bathrooms and chandeliers, Walter au Lac is not for you. . . but for an unparalleled view and reasonable rate, this is the ideal hotel for you!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walteraulac, Direttore at Hotel Walter au Lac, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

we thank you for your good commentary.
It is very important that our staff is always kind, helpful and friendly with our guests: guests’ satisfaction is our challenge.
We take this occasion to inform you and all the other guests that since 4th August 2014 the funicular is be out of order for revision until year 2016: to get to our hotel you can take bus n. 4 direction CENTRO and the bus stop is Piazza Rezzonico, just in front of the hotel.
Hope welcoming you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We had ordered a room with a balcony overlooking Lake Lugano - and what a view. The room was clean and spacious but the view was simply stunning. The hotel is well located to walk along the lakeside attractions and the old city. It is advisable to use the furnicular to reach the hotel from the rwailway station because of the steep descent into the town itself. The hotel breakfast was good and offered a variety of choices although a few were at extra cost.

Room Tip: A room with a Lake view is a must have here !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

My husband and I were so glad to find this hotel during our winter road trip. It was just a quick decision to stay overnigh in Lugano. The room looked fresh and the beddings were soft. The hotel receptionists were also kind and easy to talk to. The breakfast was really a good one. What we loved most was the view of the lake from our room's balcony. We had the view of the lake just before our eyes. We'll definitely stay here when we visit Lugano again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I had a great view of the lake and the street activity. Also had a small balcony to enjoy. I found the room charming, cozy and comfortable. It had everything I needed and was what I expected for a boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely insist on a lake view. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is our 2nd time here because of (i) room with lake view (ii) Coop and Nassa wealking street is at the back of the hotel, Piezza Reconzino (ii) 2 boat piers in front.

Do not expect a cozy room, just a clean standard room with air-con, electric kettle for hot water, fridge and window or balcony facing the lake; good brakfast with boiled eggs, other types of eggs (fried, ommlette) have to pay extra.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walteraulac, Direttore at Hotel Walter au Lac, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your good review. We are happy to hear that you are for the 2nd time guest in our house.
This winter we renewed all the rooms on the 1st and 2nd floor; next winter we will renew the rooms on the 3rd floor. This room are the category “executive” and are modern rooms.
We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Walter au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Walter au Lac

Address: Piazza Rezzonico 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Walter au Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Walter au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walter Au Lac Lugano
Walter Au Lac Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Walter au Lac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.