We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Walter au Lac

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Walter au Lac to your Saves list
Hotel Walter au Lac
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Rezzonico 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We were in room 47 which was right in the centre above the main entrance to the hotel and has the most amazing view of the lake and surrounds. Our room was clean and tidy. The bathroom was new, lovely hot shower and amenities provided. Breakfast was on the first floor, with plenty of choices. Location was perfect. Would stay again!

Room Tip: Try for a lake view with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walteraulac, Direttore at Hotel Walter au Lac, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for your recension. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our house.
We look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    86
    38
    6
    3
See reviews for
40
68
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

The hotel needs to renovate their rooms badly.....
Old furniture that has seen better days......
Weak hot water.......
Noisy.......
Was woken up at 5 am
The breakfast is not fulfilling nor rich with choices.
I'm disappointed and I won't go back

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walteraulac, Direttore at Hotel Walter au Lac, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

this winter we renewed all the rooms on the second floor: now they are very modern!
This time you stayed in a classic room, for the next occasion you can ask us the executive rooms-they are a little bite more expensive- but surely they will meet your needs.
Our hotel is situated in the city centre, near the pedestrian area and the shopping centre, just facing the lake: sometimes it could be noisy, but it is enough to close the window (anti noisy) and you can sleep really well.
We serve Continental breakfast with cold buffet at will, with cold meats and cheese, 10 different types of bread, homemade jam, fruit, fresh fruit salad, cereals, yoghurt, hard-boiled and soft-boiled eggs.
As drinks we offer: coffee (espresso, american coffee, cappuccino), hot and cold milk, hot and cold chocolate, hot and cold ovomaltine, black tea, green tea, different herbal teas, 4 different types of juice.
We don’t consider this a poor breakfast. Please let us know, what else is missing, we will try to serve it at your next visit, thank you.
Hope seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Cosy hotel, with great view on the lake. Pleasant service, clean rooms. Extremely good location, close to the city center. Reccomended.
Only little problem is the noise from the street at night. But you can bear with it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walteraulac, Manager at Hotel Walter au Lac, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear guest. Thank you for your praise. We are happy that you fully enjoyed your stay in our Walter au Lac in Lugano. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

The Hotel Walter a Lac is very pleasant. This hotel is refurbished turn of the century resort hotel and that history is tastefully on display. This hotel has a sense of place, it is not another faceless chain hotel. We were with a group of friends and had three rooms in total. All of the rooms were slightly different but of similar quality. The rooms are a bit tight but tolerable. The staff at the hotel were exceptional. All of the staff went out of their way to be helpful. The breakfast was included and of good quality.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walteraulac, Direttore at Hotel Walter au Lac, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure for us to read your review. We are always happy to know that people enjoy their stay at our hotel. We look forward to welcome you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

stayed here for a one day business trip. Perfect location right next to the lake, very pleasant service, room was OK, overall extremely good value! can highly recommend it. Would definitely come back on my next trip to Lugano.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walteraulac, Direttore at Hotel Walter au Lac, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. It’s important for us to know how our guests feel in our hotel.
We are very happy that you had a pleasant stay with us.

We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bribie Island, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed in 2012. The hotel overlooks Lake Lugano, and is situated on the 'promenade' which runs around the Lugano side of the lake. There is traffic along this road but the noise is not intrusive, and overnight the street is very quiet. Our room had beautiful views of the lake and was very comfortable. The bathroom was spacious. I would class this hotel as ageing gracefully with friendly, service driven staff, who make you feel very special. A satisfying breakfast was included and served in the lovely dining room, also with stunning views. There is seating and a spa on the roof for the use of hotel patrons.

Across the road from the hotel are hire boats, ferry service, tour operators and of course the beautiful lake. Behind the hotel is the traffic free shopping area and large cobblestone plaza. This quaint part of town has many reasonably priced cafes and restaurants. There is also a supermarket and post office.

The hotel is within easy walking distance of beautiful churches, city sights and the lovely botanical gardens. There is a tourist office very close to the hotel which runs free walking tours of the town. The gentleman who guided our walk was very informative and we found the tour an excellent way to find out about the history of Lugano. The tourist office also has a number of paid tour options and brochures with ideas for self guided walks along one of the many trails in Lugano. We also downloaded a number of suggested local walks from the internet.

We loved our stay at Hotel Walter au Lac and hope very much to return.

Room Tip: Try to book a room advertised with views - they are well worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walteraulac, Direttore at Hotel Walter au Lac, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear guest,

We are delighted that , after all this time, you still keep good memories of Lugano and Hotel Walter au lac.
Kindly note that use of the upper-floor terrace and the jacuzzi tub are available to all guests of our hotel.

We look forward to welcome you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

After spending three days in Vernazza, Italy, one of the five villages of the Cinque Terre, we took the train to Lugano, Switzerland. And the contrast between the two places seemed glaring.

Vernazza is small, intimate, friendly and flirtatious. Fun loving and fun seeking, the locals seemed to live an unpretentious good life. Our flat was right on the piazza above the cafe and had no air conditioning. So our shuttered windows were always open. The smells of grilled fish and the sounds of lively Italian banter would waft into our apartment. And since the locals enjoyed eating and drinking till the wee hours of the morning, we may not fall asleep 3:30 a.m., lying in bed, feeling both amused and abused by the situation.

Lugano, in contrast, seemed ritzy and glitzy in an understated, Swiss way. The city and the lake are jaw-droppingly beautiful. There’s not a speck of trash to be found. The ferries, the trains, and the buses all run on time. It’s a very beautiful and a very rich city. So I shouldn’t have been surprised that our bill for pizza and beer was over 82 francs.

Since eating out is expensive here, we stayed at the Hotel Walter au Lac. It includes a breakfast buffet. I couldn’t have been more pleased with the hotel or with the breakfast.

The Hotel Walter is a gracious, old hotel. To economize, we had the family room. Actually, the family room was two bedrooms and a bath, plenty of room for the four of us.

We had bought the Swiss travel pass so we spent a day touring the lake by boat and taking the funicular up to Mount Bre. You can catch the ferry directly across from the Hotel Walter. It was an affordable, laid back day.

Room Tip: For families: The family room. Actually, the family room consists of two bedrooms and a bath, plent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walteraulac, Direttore at Hotel Walter au Lac, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your visit in our city and our hotel. We are proud that our country and our city is pleasant and the public transportations are working perfectly.

For us is very important that the services in the city and at the hotel must be guest oriented.

Thank you that you choosed our hotel for your stay in Lugano and we would be happy to welcome your family again at the Hotel Walter au lac.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Walter au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Walter au Lac

Address: Piazza Rezzonico 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Walter au Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Walter au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walter Au Lac Lugano
Walter Au Lac Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Walter au Lac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.