We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Walter au Lac

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Walter au Lac to your Saves list
Hotel Walter au Lac
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Rezzonico 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 42 Hotels in Lugano
Macau
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

The hotel is well located in the lakefront. It is close to town centre, eateries and shopping area. The location is very convenient and it is a pleasure to walk along the lakeside at all times. The staff at reception are helpful as well.

It is an old building but reasonably maintained. The triple room that I stayed has lakeview. The room is not very big but is still sufficient for us to manage 2 nights stay.

The restaurant is located on 1st floor of the hotel with very nice view of the lake. There is not much choice in breakfast, but the bread, jam, etc. are still OK.

The room is clean and tidy, despite the facility cannot be considered as modern. Having said all that, we have what we need during our stay.

  • Liked — convenient location
  • Disliked — the inner decoration is a bit old
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    92
    39
    7
    3
See reviews for
40
75
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2008

We stayed four nights at this Hotel and loved our room on the third floor with a fantastic view of the lake and mountains. The staff are friendly and very helpful. A particularly nice touch was the provision of a kettle and selection of teas, very much appreciated, other hotels take note !!. Our room was very comfortable and a nice size. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and modern and quite large. Free Internet access was available in the first floor sitting/reading room. Breakfast was served in a spacious and airy dining roomoverlooking the lake. There was a good selection of cold meats and cheeses, cereals, fruit and yoghurts etc. The coffee was fresh and good. Another plus point is the good location on the lakeside and proximity to the funicular leading to the railway station and shopping area. The landing stage for the lake steamers is just across the road. We had dinner at the Hotel International Au Lac for three nights of our visit as the meals were superb either from the a la carte or set menus, highly recommended. Walter au Lac is a great hotel and we will definately stay there again if we return to Lugano.

  • Liked — Location, attention to detail, cleanliness, views from room, rooftop terrace---
  • Disliked — liked everything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Walter Au Lac for one night enroute to Lake Como. We enjoyed our stay - the hotel was clean, and the staff was helpful. The air worked well, and the lake view was very nice. The room was on the small side, but the bed was comfortable and no issues with traffic noise at night with the window closed. The breakfast was typical European fare - nothing fancy, but tasty. My only complaint was the lack of parking - only one spot reserved for the hotel, with the only alternatives a few blocks away at a cost of CHF 20-25 per night. For our one-night stay, it was fine.

  • Liked — Lake view
  • Disliked — Limited parking
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

I stayed here in June 2008, and I can say without reserve that I would return. It´s a clean, well managed hotel, very centrally located; the fact that they offer AC in the rooms was a big factor for me. Internet availability was also a big plus.

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2008

Stayed four nights at end May beginning of June. Hotel clean, staff excellent, views fabulous, location in the town great with shops and restaurants nearby.
Can be noisy at night, but aircon means windows can be closed and should not be a problem for most people.
Meal prices and quality varied a bit so worth looking around, but restaurant next to hotel entrance as good as most.
car parking CHF 20 per 24 hour period at nearby international hotel - if it looks full the big door at the end of the parking is a fully automatic car lift to next floor - a first for me!
Good base for touring, lovely town, bit pricey but worth it.

  • Liked — great views, location, friendly staff and cleanliness
  • Disliked — noise when windows open
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

We had a double room with a balcony. The furniture was a bit worn looking and plain but was also very comfortable. The bathroom was a nice size with a great shower. Everything was spotless. We had an electric kettle and tea makings which we used often during our rainy stay. The balcony had a great view of the lake but was directly over the busy main street which was a bit noisy at night but didn't keep us awake.
There was a room with two computers for guests to use.
The breakfast buffet was all cold but was a very nice spread. The staff was very nice and accomodating, allowing us to cut short our visit by one night, to allow us to go to Zurich where we heard the sun was shinning.
I would return to the Walter au Lac

  • Liked — The location by the water
  • Disliked — the unstylish decor
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2008

Had a wonderful time in Lugano. We stayed at Hotel Walter from May 8- 13, 2008. The Hotel staff was very helpful and pleasant. the Hotel is in a perfect central location - next to Via Nassa, Plaza Reforma, all transportation modes, etc. Yes, it can be a bit noisy from the main street traffic (it is right off the lake) but well worth it. Great breakfast with eating area overlooking the lake - all rooms are overlooking the lake. Rooms can be small but mine was clean and had updated bathroom. I didn't spend much time in my room anyway. They did have internet access. I was very happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Walter au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Walter au Lac

Address: Piazza Rezzonico 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 42 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Walter au Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Walter au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walter Au Lac Lugano
Walter Au Lac Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Walter au Lac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.