We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel in a central location with friendly staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Walter au Lac

Save Saved
You added Hotel Walter au Lac to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Walter au Lac
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Rezzonico 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great little hotel in a central location with friendly staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Very much enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Great central position on the lake which made it easy to explore Lugano. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would stay here again and will definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walteraulac, Direttore at Hotel Walter au Lac, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear guest. Thank you for your visit in our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our house. It is our wish that our guests feel as part of a big family. We hope to see you soon again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    77
    37
    6
    2
See reviews for
34
63
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We were delighted by this place. A short walk from the little funicular at the train station. The location is just perfect. Across the street from the lake, with a great view. This is a stylish place, with great help staff. Unlike some hotel staff, the folk at Hotel Walter au Lac obviously liked working there, and it showed in their attitude towards their guests. Breakfasts were excellent in every regard, with comfortable seating on leather furniture with tables providing a good view of the lake. It is a grand old-style hotel that has been updated to be pretty classy. The central staircase walks you around an inset stainless steel and glass elevator. Stylish place! You could not ask for a more convenient location to the boats, the restaurants, etc. We recommend this place!

Incidentally, go on August 1 and see the fireworks right on the lake. Spectacular!

Room Tip: Go for the balcony. We had room 58 which was on the top floor (four floors) total.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walteraulac, Directeur général at Hotel Walter au Lac, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear guest. Thank you for your visit to our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our house. It is our wish that our guests feel as part of a big family. We hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Staying on the lake is a must for Lugano, also puts you in the prime downtown shopping area. The Hotel has its roots in the hey day of Lugano's tourist era from 100 years ago. The Hotel hold much of this era's charm and old photographs show it as it really was. Staff made this 3 night stay relaxing and enjoyable. Breakfast was taken in the old dining room overlooking the lake and the fare while not lavish was adaquate for our needs.
The room and ensuit clean and bright and double glazing meant the street noise was non existant. The A/c was very quiet and efficirnt. I would definetly stay again.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have a lake view with some also having a balcony although it was not very wide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walteraulac, Directeur général at Hotel Walter au Lac, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your visit. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our house. We are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goondiwindi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Hotel Walter au Lac is situated on the lake and central to everything. The rooms are very clean and well kept. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Sylvia on the front desk and breakfast is served in the dining room overlooking the lake. Some rooms in the hotel have a small balcony, ours did not. We would always stay when visiting Lugano.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walteraulac, Directeur général at Hotel Walter au Lac, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your praise. Please ask for a room with balcony on your next visit.
We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The rooms were clean and the location is excellent. Breakfast was good enough. You get what you paid for. We stayed in A room with balcony with the lake view. We enjoyed the excellent lake view from our room's balcony.

Room Tip: Room with balcony is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walteraulac, Direttore at Hotel Walter au Lac, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear guest. Thank you for your visit in our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our house. It is our wish that our guests feel as part of a big family. We hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for several days in July. Overall, this was a very pleasant hotel to stay in, and I would definitely go back.

The hotel staff were very friendly, welcoming, and accommodating. The hotel itself is very clean and well-kept. My room (and I think every other room in the hotel) had a small balcony overlooking the lake. The bed was comfortable, and the room was a reasonable size for a European hotel. The hotel was reasonably quiet, and I slept well here. The location is also great---the hotel is right next to the lake, in the middle of the downtown area, with lots of shops and restaurants right nearby.

There were a few small negatives that preclude a five star rating. First, the breakfast is only just okay. It's got the typical European selections, but the quality of everything is just average, e.g., so-so bread and croissants, mediocre meats and cheeses, etc. So, it's fine, but it could be far better, especially given the care put into other aspects of the hotel.

Second, the bathtub in my room was extremely narrow, very curved (U shaped with almost no flat area on the tub bottom), and slippery. On my first day there I managed to slip in the tub (I'll blame the jet lag)------ouch. I was more careful the remaining days, but overall bathing in this hotel required too much dexterity.

Third, the curtains on the windows were not opaque, so there was a fair amount of light coming in the room essentially all the time. Fortunately I had a sleep mask, which solved that problem. Definitely bring one if you stay in this hotel in the summer.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walteraulac, Directeur général at Hotel Walter au Lac, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you for your kind review. It’s a pleasure to read that you would like us to be ranked as a 5 star hotel. We wish to remind you, however, that we are a 3 star hotel.
We serve Continental breakfast with cold buffet at will, with cold meats and cheese, 10 different types of bread, jam-tart, homemade jam, honey, fruit, fresh fruit salad, prunes, cereals, yoghurt, hard-boiled and soft-boiled eggs.

As drinks we offer: coffee (espresso, american coffee, cappuccino), hot and cold milk, hot and cold chocolate, hot and cold ovaltine, black tea, green tea, different herbal teas, 4 different types of juice.

To avoid any problems with the bath-tub, when requested we provide non-slip mats. If you’d prefer a shower for your next visit, let us know.

Every window has got rolling shutters on top of the curtains. Using them both will ensure the room is dark enough, even for people who travel without sleeping mask.

We hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelong
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Checked in to Hotel Walter following a train ride from Milan, a quick funicular & walk. Checkin was smooth & the staff very helpful. Our room was fantastic with great views of the lake. We had the penthouse with 2 bedrooms & 2 modern bathrooms. Unfortunately the weather didn't allow us to make full use of the very large balcony. Definitely worth a return visit..... Especially for a visit to the nearby shops!!
If you are travelling by train be prepared for a spectacular train trip if travelling to Lucerne... Just stunning!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walteraulac, Direttore at Hotel Walter au Lac, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your visit. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our house. We are waiting for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Walter au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Walter au Lac

Address: Piazza Rezzonico 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Walter au Lac 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Hotel Walter au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walter Au Lac Lugano
Walter Au Lac Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Walter au Lac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.