We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Room with a View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Walter au Lac

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Walter au Lac to your Saves list
Hotel Walter au Lac
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Rezzonico 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Lugano
Durham
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“A Room with a View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Just a short walk down from the train station and situated on the lakeshore the Walter is ideally situated to explore Lugano and the lake. Small attractive reception area, staff on the desk efficient but not particularly welcoming or friendly. Porter service up to our rooms, I had room 45 which was very clean and modern, small bathroom but no complaints very good shower. The best thing was the balcony and the beautiful view onto Lake Lugano. Despite a busy road infront I never had any problems with the noise.
Breakfast is in a lovely dining room with a very good buffet though no hot food, breakfast staff very pleasant and helpful. Would definetly stay at the Walter again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    92
    39
    7
    3
See reviews for
40
76
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
8 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Plus side: when we opened our balcony doors the lake just took our breath away! The staff was friendly and efficient and the room was clean. Minus side: since it is right on the main street and there was no A/C (??) and the doors were kept open, the noise level was pretty high in the evenings and also in the early mornings when deliveries were being made. Overall, a very nice place to stay but overpriced, in my opinion.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had a junior suite with our 2 sons, and we just all loved it ! Huuuuge balcony, with jacuzzi (in May, just a tiny bit too cold yet to try it), overlooking the beautiful view on the lake.
Lots of room for your stuff.
All facilities, and we could adjust the clim for every room. Nice breakfast buffet, adjoining room with computer and tv. Wifi everywhere.
Very clean. Helpful and smiling staff.
No parking though. You have to let the car outside, or walk to a parking in another hotel with which they have an agreement.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Although the hotel is very old but its very clean and prfictilly located on the heart of the lake especially if you get the nice rooms with balaconies. Moreover, the old market is just behind the hotel. But the price is very high compared to the poor facilities of the dated room. personnaly I won't retuern to this hotel unless they reduce their rates with 25% minimum.

Room Tip: Rooms with balacony on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
60 hotel reviews
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed for 1 night on 2 separate occasions in the last month.

This hotel is very well located on the waterfront and is easily reached from the SBB station using the funicular rail track (CHF1.1) each way per person.

The rooms are very basic and certainly have no feeling of luxury. e.g there was not a single picture hanging from the walls in the room. The bathroom toiletries were sachets rather than some regular hotel branded bottles. The Minibar was well stocked and not to expensive.

Room rate included breakfast which was reasonably ok but limited to cold items.

We paid CHF200 per night plus CHF20 for the inclusion of a Balcony. (approx Euro 180)

If this hotel was in France or Italy, I believe it would be much closer to Euro 100

Room Tip: HIgher up to get better lake views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
13 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Loved this hotel, the location was terrific, in the middle of all the action in town. Bus stop, tourist office right downstairs. Amazing views from the rooms, specially if you have balcony. Friendly helpful staff. good breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed here en route to Tuscany for our honeymoon. My husband had booked us a room with a balcony and the view was simply stunning. On a morning, before the road outside was getting busy, the stillness and tranquility was just incredible. Be aware that you are right in the middle of things so expect a level of noise on an evening. The room itself was fine but dated. It felt like it needed a thorough clean and a lick of paint. Saying that, the views could forgive the room just about anything. Beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Walter au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Walter au Lac

Address: Piazza Rezzonico 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Walter au Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Walter au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walter Au Lac Lugano
Walter Au Lac Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Walter au Lac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.