We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in gorgeous location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Walter au Lac

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Walter au Lac to your Saves list
Hotel Walter au Lac
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Rezzonico 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Moraga
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value in gorgeous location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

The view from our third floor room was 5-star. Hotel website says every room has a lake view; my sister stayed on the second floor, and her view was breathtaking too. With the windows open, you do hear a fair amount of street noise from below. It's very qui,t however, with the windows closed. We had a comfortably clean and large room. European twin X twin = "King sized" bed had very clean, fluffy down comforters. Large bathroom, not glamorous, BUT it had a granite vanity, very hot water, and was clean and totally functional with separate tub & shower & large opaque windows. Could watch the sun come up over Monte Bre & moon rise over Lake Lugano. Breakfast room large and cheerful; solicitous kitchen service staff and typical Swiss breakfast including various cheeses, fresh fruit salad, muesli, yogurt & fresh croissants. Private rooftop sun chairs & jacuzzi. Easy, short walk to dining of all kinds, shopping, funicular to train station, bus line right outside front door. I have stayed twice in a much more expensive hotel in Lugano and not gotten the same value nor upbeat ambience.

Room Tip: Ask for room on an upper floor or at end of hallw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    83
    37
    6
    3
See reviews for
38
67
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

I came back in this hotel after an year and I'm not dissapointed from my decision. The service is still on good level with friendly staff. Yes, the rooms are not a modern perfection ( my current was relativly very small ) and it's still too noisy due to the near street, but the atmosphere, the location and the view compensate this. Also, I can't say that this is an expencive hotel, compared to the other prices that I've checked.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooball Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

We chose this hotel based on the many good reviews below, and ultimately weren't disappointed. We only had one night in early January for a business trip and the hotel wasn't full by any means. Although we had booked a normal room we were upgraded to a room on the 4th floor with balcony, although I couldn't comfortably go out on it as I am tall the railing seemed very low. The 180 degree views were stunning, despite the overcast and sometimes misty weather. At night the lights on the hillsides, and in the trees along the lake were very pretty, although we did get some light seepage into our room from the light on the outside of the hotel which illuminates their sign. The room was charming with polished wood floors and nice rugs, very comfortable bed, reasonably attractive 'shabby chic' decor, very clean (if small) bathroom with bath and shower above and flatscreen TV (not much choice of English-speaking shows though). Heating (looked like reverse cycle split system) worked well and we didn't have too much traffic noise. Obviously we had the french doors to the balcony shut, and they appeared to be double-glazed. Reception were unfailingly helpful, happy and polite, with good English. We enjoyed walking up and down the old stair case which twines around the smallish lift. Breakfast was lovely with a good selection and lovely view to the lake. Didn't use the small sitting room but it looked charming too. We had arrived from Milan Malpensa by the express bus and were dropped at the railway station. We managed to find our way down the zig-zag streets to the hotel (all shops shut because it was 3 Kings holiday), but when we left the next day we walked only as far as the funicular and then took it up to the station - much easier. Our room was around Swiss francs 220, which was cheaper than many others we had considered in Lugano (without the lovely view) but still reasonably expensive compared to other countries. It was worth the splurge however.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

Very central hotel. It has an amazing view on the lake.
But unfortunatly it has very old fashion rooms and it's very expensive...
Very good brekfast.
Jimmy.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

We choose this hotel for an over night stay, we live in Switzerland so are used to Swiss prices but this hotel was very expensive for what it was. It is in a great position on the lake and right by the town, the staff were helpful and gave us a great recommendation for a restaurant. But the room was small, looked very 'tired', chipped paint, bathroom very dated, very hot bedroom and we couldn't turn down the heating. There was a general air of needing a good bit of modernization. The hotel had a bit of charm in the main rooms, but the bed was very uncomfortable, the pillows very hard and it was very noisy on the main road. Yes the lake view is amazing when its clear but we have stayed in much better and nicer places for much less a night. All in all disappointed this time I'm afraid.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, Brazil
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

A very good friendly staff. We have been given a 5th floor spacious room with a balcony and a splendid view of Lake Lugano. The room was quiet, with a good double bed. The bathroom had its shower over the bathtub and this was not large enough; a person can experience some difficulties to stand up because the bathtub's botton was narrow and you may have to put your feet one in front of the other to achieve equilibrium. The breakfast was great. Our car was parked in another hotel about 5 min walking. We certainly would come again to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

This is our second stay at the Hotel and we were not disappointed. We requested a box shower since during our first stay we found it difficult to get into a very high and narrow tub/shower combination. The shower was very good and large enough. Since our last stay the hotel has added flat screen televisions which are very nice. The programming is somewhat limited to those of us who are English speaking, but we did not travel to Lugano to watch TV. The hotel is located on the lake whith a spectacular view from every room. Although it is on a busy street noise is not a problem with the windows closed. Breakfast is more than adequate with many selections. I would also recommend a restaurant nearby, La Tinera which has very good food and is reasonable priced. You do need to get directions from the hotel however since it is on a side alley and is not easy to find.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Walter au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Walter au Lac

Address: Piazza Rezzonico 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Walter au Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Walter au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walter Au Lac Lugano
Walter Au Lac Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Walter au Lac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.