We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location, noisy, friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nassa Garni

Hotel Nassa Garni
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nassa Garni to your Saves list
Hotel Nassa Garni
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nassa 60 / 62, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 43 Hotels in Lugano
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“nice location, noisy, friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

we staied there 1 night - location is great, you can walk to/from the train station, great lake view, close to everything.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    18
    7
    7
    3
See reviews for
14
11
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2008

a room with a view of paradise. a small but comfortable room, helpfull staff and nice breakfast. location is very good and prices are good. clean hotel, the only thing is they have no refregarator in the room. stayed there 10 days and it was lovely.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — needs a refregaretor in room
  • Stayed October 2005, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asiago, North of Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2008

This hotel is not that special. I went there cos another hotel where I usually stay was closed in that period. Rooms are clean, but furniture is really out of date (I think it dates back to 1930, as the style is pretty simple and old-fashioned). There's a nice wide terrace in each room, but it is not that private as you can easily see what all the other guests are doing in their rooms. Breakfast is not that bad and staff is really helpful, kind and they speak several languages. Price is not that cheap compared to what you get.
There a bad point: there's a computer with internet connection, but you need a card to have access to it and it costs quite a lot (5 francs for 25 minutes).
A good point is that the hotel is centrally located, so you can easily reach any part of the town in a few minutes.

  • Liked — the location (it's centrally located)
  • Disliked — expensive internet connection
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2007

We spent 5 nights at this great little hotel on the lake at Lugano and loved the experience.
We booked directly with the hotel by email which worked really well and upon arrival our booking was exactly as requested.
We had a large room with a balcony with stunning views across the small square to the lake.
We would particularly recommend the boat trips on the lake and a visit to the village of Gandria is a must ! Another top trip is to Morcote, a lakeside town with 17th century arcades and steep, narrow streets leading up from the lake. There are good restaurants over the water with wonderful views and flowers everywhere.
We found the hotel staff very helpful and pleasant and the included breakfast was more than adequate. We would definately stay here if we are in Lugano again.

  • Liked — The position and the view from our balcony
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
226 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2006

What a treat! The lake view room was large w/a very comfortable bed. The best was the view from the balcony - worth MUCH more than they charge. Set just back from the loud street w/an amazing view of the lake, & 2 mountains. The balcony was large enough for a cafe table and 2 chairs, so we enjoyed breakfast out there every morning. Simple, but adequate breakfast w/great cappuccinos . Friendly, helpful staff (complete w/umbrellas to loan out to guests). Good central location in the middle of shops and not far from the train station (must take finicular tho). We would love to return there and would definately recomend this hotel. With the crazy Swiss prices, this was a jewel to find.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2006

Nassa Garni was a great hotel to stay at in Lugano. We were there during the first week of high season (April 8, 2006) but they only charged us Chf 160 per night which I believe is low season prices. Price includes a simple (not rich as they) Swiss breakfast buffet. The staff are friendly and if you ask for a room with a balcony and view, it's worth it. Good location-near the main piazza and across the street from the lake. Room was comfortable and big for Switzerland. No coffee machine or internet, but there was a TV, phone, and hairdryer. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2004

I have no idea what the other reviewer was writing about, but this is a nice 3 star hotel not a pension and a good place to stay for a while. It's right across a small park from the beach and in the center of everything. The mgmt was willing to negotiate to 120sf making it the cheapest place to stay as well -- lake views were 180sf. Clean, ok breakfast, good location, dont know what else you can ask for. late June 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.2 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.2 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#6 of 43 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Federale
Hotel Federale
#9 of 43 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Walter au Lac
Hotel Walter au Lac
#18 of 43 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#20 of 43 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nassa Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nassa Garni

Address: Via Nassa 60 / 62, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 43 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nassa Garni 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Nassa Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nassa Garni Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nassa Garni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.