We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Weekend Away!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nassa Garni

Save Saved
You added Hotel Nassa Garni to your Saves list
Hotel Nassa Garni
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Nassa Garni
Via Nassa 60 / 62, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Wexford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Weekend Away!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We arrived to this beautiful part of the world on a friday night late last August... what a great stay! The staff were so friendly and could'nt do enough, opened the door for us from the lift on every occassion. One could not help but feel special in this amazing place. As i work in the hotel industry myself, i was amazed to see the level of service and politness we received from the people in the area and in the hotel. From the lovely blonde girl serving us breakfast, that greeted us with a big smile every morning to the kind gentleman on the reception desk that helped us with our travel plans! We spent a great three nights at this welcoming hotel and our room had an exceptional view of the amazing local scenery. Ill never forget this trip, Australia, New Zealand, Cuba- none of these add up to Lugano. Thank you

Room Tip: Stay in this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    16
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
11
7
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hotel is very close to the centre of Lugano and many rooms have a small balcony with a view over the small square to the lake and mountains beyond. The reception is small and the staff are efficient. The decor throughout the hotel is dated and it is in need of updating (there are some awful paintings hanging in the corridors, some unframed). However the rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast room is adequate, there is car parking but needs to be booked in advance, the only mini bar is in the reception. I did not try the internet nor the air conditioning (free-standing units). Lugano generally is an expensive place to visit and this hotel definitely reflects this - you could get a decent 4* room in central London or NY for less than I paid for this one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The hotel promised air conditioning and free wireless internet, with your own computer. The air conditioner was a stand alone unit in the room and made so much noise we could not have it on at night. It was VERY hot and with the window open we could not sleep for the traffic noise. Also the air con did not cool the room below 27C, so was obviously not working properly.

When asked about changing the air con unit the staff said that all units were the same. The promised free internet connection was not working 'at the moment' but we were told we could purchase a pre paid connection! Rooms were definitely over priced. The small fridge did not work.

The hotel was very central with a nice view of the lake form the front rooms, and the young woman serving the breakfast was charming. Other staff were not so helpful.

Better places to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Expats from Geneva arrived for a weekend visit in May. We had our teenage daughter and small dog with us. The triple room, 306, had a spectacular view, we sat out with a glass of wine for hours. The room was truly triple, with nice empty fridge which we stocked from Coop City up the street, 5 minutes. The bathroom as a very nice size, all very clean. In the room was large built in storage, two very nice recliners, table and chairs on balcony. There was an individual air conditioner in room that we didn't need. Wireless Internet worked great though once we had log in and reuse a different code. Outside our room was a simple but nice sitting area with large flat screen TV, massage chair, free ice machine. On same floor was where breakfast was served by a friendly lady that brought you coffee or tea. Breakfast was very Swiss and simple. Some cold meats, cheese, bread, hard boiled eggs, juice, milk, and cereal. The location of this hotel is what makes it. Right across from the lake in old town with restaurants within minutes and shopping. The boats for the lake across and just down a couple of minutes. If you arrive by train take the funicular down, the head at a diagonal to your right towards lake. This is not a fancy place but staff were pleasant, helpful, spoke English. Additional charge for pets.

Room Tip: I suspect your experience here will depend on room. No view would be no good. Also hotel was pretty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Nassa for one night on September 03rd 2011. The hotel has agood location and a nice view of the lake if the room has that view. We were promised an internet connection: this proved to be false. Usually Swiss hotels are very correct: this was not the case with the Nassa! There were no amenities in the room: no tissues, small soaps. The cleanliness was basic. It was acceptable but so over-valued for 260 Swiss Francs a night for a double room ($ 325). This proved to be our least desirable hotel while traveling across Switzerland.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights.
Given the price, we were expecting something nicer. Although we had a nice balcony with a lake view, the place was poorely kept. Its a pitty because there is great potential. Our balcony was more like a terrasse, and rather than having some flowers or arranging it nicely, it was completely bare except for 2 plastic chairs.
The room was average but carpet was stained and we just hoped for more.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

we staied there 1 night - location is great, you can walk to/from the train station, great lake view, close to everything.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nassa Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nassa Garni

Address: Via Nassa 60 / 62, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Nassa Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nassa Garni Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nassa Garni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.