We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful visit, free wireless Internet, amazing view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nassa Garni

Save Saved
You added Hotel Nassa Garni to your Saves list
Hotel Nassa Garni
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Nassa Garni
Via Nassa 60 / 62, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Wonderful visit, free wireless Internet, amazing view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Expats from Geneva arrived for a weekend visit in May. We had our teenage daughter and small dog with us. The triple room, 306, had a spectacular view, we sat out with a glass of wine for hours. The room was truly triple, with nice empty fridge which we stocked from Coop City up the street, 5 minutes. The bathroom as a very nice size, all very clean. In the room was large built in storage, two very nice recliners, table and chairs on balcony. There was an individual air conditioner in room that we didn't need. Wireless Internet worked great though once we had log in and reuse a different code. Outside our room was a simple but nice sitting area with large flat screen TV, massage chair, free ice machine. On same floor was where breakfast was served by a friendly lady that brought you coffee or tea. Breakfast was very Swiss and simple. Some cold meats, cheese, bread, hard boiled eggs, juice, milk, and cereal. The location of this hotel is what makes it. Right across from the lake in old town with restaurants within minutes and shopping. The boats for the lake across and just down a couple of minutes. If you arrive by train take the funicular down, the head at a diagonal to your right towards lake. This is not a fancy place but staff were pleasant, helpful, spoke English. Additional charge for pets.

Room Tip: I suspect your experience here will depend on room. No view would be no good. Also hotel was pretty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    16
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
11
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Nassa for one night on September 03rd 2011. The hotel has agood location and a nice view of the lake if the room has that view. We were promised an internet connection: this proved to be false. Usually Swiss hotels are very correct: this was not the case with the Nassa! There were no amenities in the room: no tissues, small soaps. The cleanliness was basic. It was acceptable but so over-valued for 260 Swiss Francs a night for a double room ($ 325). This proved to be our least desirable hotel while traveling across Switzerland.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights.
Given the price, we were expecting something nicer. Although we had a nice balcony with a lake view, the place was poorely kept. Its a pitty because there is great potential. Our balcony was more like a terrasse, and rather than having some flowers or arranging it nicely, it was completely bare except for 2 plastic chairs.
The room was average but carpet was stained and we just hoped for more.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

we staied there 1 night - location is great, you can walk to/from the train station, great lake view, close to everything.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2008

a room with a view of paradise. a small but comfortable room, helpfull staff and nice breakfast. location is very good and prices are good. clean hotel, the only thing is they have no refregarator in the room. stayed there 10 days and it was lovely.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — needs a refregaretor in room
  • Stayed October 2005, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asiago, North of Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2008

This hotel is not that special. I went there cos another hotel where I usually stay was closed in that period. Rooms are clean, but furniture is really out of date (I think it dates back to 1930, as the style is pretty simple and old-fashioned). There's a nice wide terrace in each room, but it is not that private as you can easily see what all the other guests are doing in their rooms. Breakfast is not that bad and staff is really helpful, kind and they speak several languages. Price is not that cheap compared to what you get.
There a bad point: there's a computer with internet connection, but you need a card to have access to it and it costs quite a lot (5 francs for 25 minutes).
A good point is that the hotel is centrally located, so you can easily reach any part of the town in a few minutes.

  • Liked — the location (it's centrally located)
  • Disliked — expensive internet connection
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2007

We spent 5 nights at this great little hotel on the lake at Lugano and loved the experience.
We booked directly with the hotel by email which worked really well and upon arrival our booking was exactly as requested.
We had a large room with a balcony with stunning views across the small square to the lake.
We would particularly recommend the boat trips on the lake and a visit to the village of Gandria is a must ! Another top trip is to Morcote, a lakeside town with 17th century arcades and steep, narrow streets leading up from the lake. There are good restaurants over the water with wonderful views and flowers everywhere.
We found the hotel staff very helpful and pleasant and the included breakfast was more than adequate. We would definately stay here if we are in Lugano again.

  • Liked — The position and the view from our balcony
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nassa Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nassa Garni

Address: Via Nassa 60 / 62, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Nassa Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nassa Garni Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nassa Garni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.