We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Sassa, Lugano” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa to your Saves list
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Tesserete 10, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Tailor Made Package
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
1 review
“Villa Sassa, Lugano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We picked this hotel for our stay during a conference. Despite not being in a city centre, the hotel has very good location with an excellent view over the lake, mountains and over the city.
There is a number of decent restaurants (but not a lot) within walking distance, the nearest one called "ABC" on via Tesserete does very good pizzas and has very hospitable staff. To be honest - we never tried the hotel restaurant and therefore I cannot comment it. Our 2 bedroom family suite was very comfortable for three of us (and it is big enough for 4 people or even more) and had spacious living room and large balcony with a view over the lake and Monte Bre.
The hotel staff is very hospitable and always happy to help you.
There was only one drawback: Whilst the room was fitted with a kitchen, it was completely useless, because there were no cups, no plates, no utensils, no kettle, no nothing. We have been told that all kitchenware can be supplied for extra 50 Euro per day - this would sound ridiculous somewhere in US when you are booking a suite. But to their credit the hotel agreed to provide a kettle and cups free of charge - you just have to ask.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup M, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kind feedback and for having taken the time to write a comment on TripAdvisor. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our guests in order to improve our service and product constantly.

We are happy to read that you spent a great time with us.

We hope you had a good trip back home and we look forward to welcoming you soon back at the Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa.

Best regards,

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Member of WorldHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    70
    27
    8
    4
See reviews for
28
80
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

An overnight stay due to a cancelled flight. The reception service was excellent - the young lady could not have been more helpful. My room was lovely. I only wish I could have stayed longer, as I walked around the hotel NAND all areas looked really very very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup M, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your appreciated feedback about our hotel and service. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your short stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa.

Best regards,

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Member of WorldHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Was in Lugano for a conference. Booked a superior room and was upgraded to a two bedroom apartment with views over the lake, a large balcony to take in the morning sun, and balconies off each bedroom. Although not ornate, it was clean, lovely, marble bathrooms, all done with care. Only down side was no air conditioning in the bedroom, but when asked, had a fan up to the room in minutes. That brings in the element of ….SERVICE. It was great. Fully multi-lingual front desk folks were wonderful. Beautiful (and I mean elaborate) buffet breakfast either served outside on the verandah or inside the dining room with floor to ceiling windows. Those staff superb as well. We heard the restaurant was excellent at night but didn't try it.
Now comes the best part: the outdoor pool was an infinity pool that looked like it was dropping over into the lake. Lots of loungers and umbrellas. Indoor pool, hot tub, gym, classes all available. Spa looked gorgeous but I didn't partake.
It's about a 15 minute walk into the historic downtown. Easy for us.
Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup M, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for you great feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything was to your satisfaction. We are very pleased that you chose Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa for your visit to Lugano, as our hotel does have a great location and amazing view.

We want our guests feel comfortable and memorable and we are satisfied that these efforts have been reached.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa.

Best regards from Lugano

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Member of WorldHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for a long weekend in May.
Although we booked a standard double room, we got a whole apartment, with 2 bedrooms, kitchen, living room and a private balcony with an amazing view of the city, mountains and the lake - which was of course great!
The breakfast buffet is also very good, with a wide selection of fruits, bread, sweets, juices, coffee and even Prosecco! Weather was nice, what allowed us to eat outside all the time.
The only down side is the service: staff at reception was not really helpful or friendly, and most of the restaurant staff seemed to be in a constant bad humor...
We asked for a late check out on Sunday, and were told it was impossible because the hotel was fully booked for the next night (which was of course not through, checking in the internet there was plenty of availability...).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with lake view - it's definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kind feedback and for having taken the time to write a comment on TripAdvisor. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our guests in order to improve our services constantly.

We are happy to read that you spent a great time with us and we apologize for the behavior of staff. Your remarks will be taken into consideration.

We hope you had a good trip back home and we look forward to welcoming you back at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa.

Best regards,

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Member of WorldHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Excellent hotel, beautiful rooms with comfortable beds and outstanding service. Breakfast is sensational. The view is also amazing. It's on the pricey side, but worth it. Try to get a room with a view if you can.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your positive feedback and we are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa.

Best regards from Lugano,

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Member of WorldHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed in this hotel during our trip through south Switzerland. Rooms are big and light, with a spacious balcony and astonishing view on the mountains. Everything is green, stuff is very friendly. Spa is also super. Very delicious breakfasts.

I would recommend to have dinner in the restaurant of the hotel and to choose special chief proposition with wine and 5 different plates. It was something fantastic!

Definitely will come again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice feedback.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa and it is a pleasure to read that you felt very well during your holiday. We also appreciated your precious comment regarding our restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again at the Villa Principe Leopoldo.

Best regards from Lugano,

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Member of WorldHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We've been there in March. Our suite was big, clean, facing north on the swimming pool, with a big balcony. The view, while not on the lake was nice. We were surprised to have a kitchen in the suite (I don't like that so much, I don't feel being in a hotel). We thought we would at least be able some tea or coffee, but there were no pan, no kettle, no cup, nothing, so it really was useless. The breakfast was excellent, with a good choice, but the most impressive was the spa, one of the best I've seen, with a big shared hammam, and two separate sauna.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kind feedback and for having taken the time to write a comment on TripAdvisor. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our guests in order to improve our services and products constantly.
We are happy to read that you spent a great time with us.
We hope you had a good trip back home and we look forward to welcoming you soon back at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa.

Best regards,

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Member of WorldHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa

Address: Via Tesserete 10, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#6 Business Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the hills overlooking Lugano, in a marvellous setting, yet just a few minutes walk from the centre of town, Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa****S is a an oasis of well-being. The hotel enjoays a breathtaking view of Lake Lugano, the city and the surrounding mountains and offers 49 rooms and suites and 71 serviced apartments, a Mediterranean restaurant and lounge bar, conference and banqueting facilities, and a 3,000 sqm Wellness Club and Spa. The very special light shining over Lugano and love of nature are unforgettable at Villa Sassa, the ideal resort to spend a day, a weekend or an entire week or more of pure relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TravelClick, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sassa And Residence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.