We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly appartment style hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa

Save Saved
You added Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Tesserete 10, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Weeken Special Package
Ranked #10 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Friendly appartment style hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I have stayed here twice in 2013, with one stay 1 week and the other 3 weeks. It is a friendly, comfortable place, with good facilities. The spa is good (I had a massage that was great but a bit on the pricey side) and the gym is excellent. It has a small but nice pool inside (I used this) and other outside (which I didn't use). The breakfast room has excellent views over the city, lake and mountains and the breakfast is good. From a location point of view it is a long walk down to restaurants and the city (and an even longer walk back up the hill). There are few restaurants nearby too. The outside car park is very busy in the evenings, but the staff will park your car if you have trouble. Overall very recommendable for a comfortable place to stay, but for an extended visit or if you want to see more of the city and surrounding area, having a car is a must.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice and appreciated feedback.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa and it is a pleasure to read that you felt very well during your holiday.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again at the Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa.

Best regards from Lugano,

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Member of WorldHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    66
    23
    7
    4
See reviews for
27
73
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I stayed here for a week with the family over the New Years period. I was positively surprised.

We had a large flat with two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a kitchenette and a large living and dining area. It was spacious and comfortable.

Free parking outside in the private car park was great!

The food was excellent, and so was the service overall.

The highlight was the pool. It was very quiet at all times and really nice. The kids loved it.

Wireless internet unfortunately was a bit patchy as we could only get a connection in one corner of the living room. But it was free and fast enough.

The only source of frustration was that although there was a full kitchen, it was completely empty. Not even a knife, fork, spoon, plate or kitchen towel in it. Nothing at all. Maybe if we had asked they would have brought some stuff, but we just ended up not using it. And the room service was excellent so we were happy with that.

The flat was a bit too warm at night though, sleeping comfort wasn't excellent. But I'm being picky,

Overall, a great stay and a highly recommended place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kind feedback and for having taken the time to write a comment on TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that you spent a great time with us.

It is very important for us to receive feedback from our guests in order to improve our services and product constantly. Your remarks will be taken into consideration.

We hope you had a good trip back home and we look forward to welcoming you soon back at the Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa.

Best regards,

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Member of WorldHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

This hotel is situated in the city and within walking distance to the lake. The staff is very helpful and gives you the feeling of being somebody very special. I had an apartment with 1 bedrooms and a kitchen. The wellness area is absolutely a must RELAX place. The breakfast buffet is gorgeous and Jessica is one of the best waitresses I've ever had. Breakfast with her make every day a special day! I will be back soon!
The price is more than fair!
Raffaele

Room Tip: Do not take e room next to the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your great feedback on Tripadvisor.
It is a pleasure to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that everything was to your satisfaction. We will inform our staff about your review.
We hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back to Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa.
Best regards,

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Member of WorldHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This place is Lugano's gem, with a great view of the lake and the mountains. Our villa was spacious and clean. The staffs were very friendly and very helpful. The breakfast place was the best with a great view oh and also the pool area and the garden. I can stay there the whole day. I wish i live there. They have a really nice restaurant with a great view too. We tried it and it was lovely.

If you come to Lugano you must try this place. You wouldnt want to leave. We will come back again with our whole family next time.

Thank you Villa Sasa.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to post your lovely feedback. It is a great pleasure to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that everything was to your satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa.

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Member of WorldHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel is situated in the city and within walking distance to the lake.
The staff is very helpfull and gives you all explanation needed.
We had an appartment with 2 bedrooms and a kitchen.
Would definately go again when in Lugano.

Room Tip: We stayed in appartment and this is very nice if you are with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to post your lovely feedback. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we have been able to satisfy your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit to Lugano.

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Member of WorldHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Excellent location and breathtaking views within an elegant setting, luxe but not intimidating. The rooms are very spacious, there is even the choice of cushions, all areas are clean, luminous and well equipped. Very good and attentive service from the arrival till departure. Fantastic Spa, with all the facilities and activities included in the price, pristine condition! Lots of space indoor outdoor. Breakfast on the terrace, good choice. Best food at the casual restaurant with good ambience and choice of food, serving excellent Japanese cuisine. You don't wish to leave! It is heavenly!

Room Tip: Would be nice to have free coffee tea making facilities in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind feedback and for having taken the time to write a comment on TripAdvisor. It is important to receive feedbacks from our guests, in order for us to improve the quality of our offer.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa.

Kind regards,

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Member of WorldHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were extremely disappointed in the Villa Salla. We booked a suite, called a Royal Suite. It was large, but that's all I can say about it. I had a kitchen, which I find useless in a resort (especially one with no stores whatsoever nearby) but it did not have a TV in the bedroom. No A/C got to the bedroom so it was really hot. The bathroom would have been OK but the shower is the size of a cruise cabin shower and the curtain stuck to us.

All of that would have been palatable had service been good, but it was not. There was no turn-down service, which I find very surprising in a supposedly luxury hotel. I even inquired and was told "No, management does't want to do that". Every morning at breakfast, we had to stop a waiter to ask them to bring more food out- eggs, water, juice - it was always empty. Even after asking, we'd have to ask a second time and then wait 10 minutes for it to arrive.

Lugano is very expensive, and the Villa Sassa reflects that. We need sunscreen, which the hotel sells in the spa - for CHF 55.00, which converts to US$63.00. Really???

The setting is lovely but for over $700.00 per night, it was a huge disappointment and I could not recommend it at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa

Address: Via Tesserete 10, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lugano
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#6 Business Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the hills overlooking Lugano, in a marvellous setting, yet just a few minutes walk from the centre of town, Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa****S is a an oasis of well-being. The hotel enjoays a breathtaking view of Lake Lugano, the city and the surrounding mountains and offers 49 rooms and suites and 71 serviced apartments, a Mediterranean restaurant and lounge bar, conference and banqueting facilities, and a 3,000 sqm Wellness Club and Spa. The very special light shining over Lugano and love of nature are unforgettable at Villa Sassa, the ideal resort to spend a day, a weekend or an entire week or more of pure relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sassa And Residence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.