We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa

Save Saved
You added Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Tesserete 10, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Weeken Special Package
Ranked #9 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel is situated in the city and within walking distance to the lake.
The staff is very helpfull and gives you all explanation needed.
We had an appartment with 2 bedrooms and a kitchen.
Would definately go again when in Lugano.

Room Tip: We stayed in appartment and this is very nice if you are with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to post your lovely feedback. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we have been able to satisfy your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit to Lugano.

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Member of WorldHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    71
    21
    8
    5
See reviews for
26
70
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Excellent location and breathtaking views within an elegant setting, luxe but not intimidating. The rooms are very spacious, there is even the choice of cushions, all areas are clean, luminous and well equipped. Very good and attentive service from the arrival till departure. Fantastic Spa, with all the facilities and activities included in the price, pristine condition! Lots of space indoor outdoor. Breakfast on the terrace, good choice. Best food at the casual restaurant with good ambience and choice of food, serving excellent Japanese cuisine. You don't wish to leave! It is heavenly!

Room Tip: Would be nice to have free coffee tea making facilities in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind feedback and for having taken the time to write a comment on TripAdvisor. It is important to receive feedbacks from our guests, in order for us to improve the quality of our offer.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa.

Kind regards,

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Member of WorldHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were extremely disappointed in the Villa Salla. We booked a suite, called a Royal Suite. It was large, but that's all I can say about it. I had a kitchen, which I find useless in a resort (especially one with no stores whatsoever nearby) but it did not have a TV in the bedroom. No A/C got to the bedroom so it was really hot. The bathroom would have been OK but the shower is the size of a cruise cabin shower and the curtain stuck to us.

All of that would have been palatable had service been good, but it was not. There was no turn-down service, which I find very surprising in a supposedly luxury hotel. I even inquired and was told "No, management does't want to do that". Every morning at breakfast, we had to stop a waiter to ask them to bring more food out- eggs, water, juice - it was always empty. Even after asking, we'd have to ask a second time and then wait 10 minutes for it to arrive.

Lugano is very expensive, and the Villa Sassa reflects that. We need sunscreen, which the hotel sells in the spa - for CHF 55.00, which converts to US$63.00. Really???

The setting is lovely but for over $700.00 per night, it was a huge disappointment and I could not recommend it at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed in one 'room' and a friend of ours stayed in another 'room'. I put room in quotes because in both cases, we got suites -- ours had 2 bedrooms and a living room (about 150 square meters total with white marble floors), his had 1 bedroom and a living room, and both had kitchens with dishwashers, ovens and large refrigerators (but no in-room coffee/tea making facilities!) -- leading me to believe this is not what you would normally understand as a 'hotel'. Rather, I think it is the kind of development where the rooms are individually owned and sometimes occupied by investors while the operator provides hotel booking/hotel management services. There are not so many staff (1-2 on the front desk during the day and a night manager only at night) and the airport pickup service/porterage seems to be provided by a single person so we had to have the front desk book a cab to the airport when we left (6:00 am) because he wasn't on duty at that time of day. In spite of this, the staff were all very pleasant and helpful with restaurant bookings in town, etc. The breakfast buffet (served in the hotel's only restaurant -- although the bar has a fairly large menu of grilled meats, etc) was not the most extensive I have ever seen but the quality of the food was completely satisfactory. In the evenings, the restaurant becomes quite an upscale eatery with many locals (rather wealthy judging from the Ferraris/Maseratis/Bentleys parked outside) dining here. The restaurant terrace offers stunning views over the town to the lake. The fitness center seems to be run as a separate operation but hotel guests have full access, although establishing your right to use it with the staff on the fitness reception desk can take a bit of doing. There is a good level of training equipment and there are two pools, one indoor and one outdoor. The location is not central (this is either good or bad depending on what you like: if you're like me you'll value the space, green lawns and the quiet), it's about a 10-15 minute walk into town and since Lugano is partly built on a mountainside it's a steep uphill walk back. However the station is only about 5 minutes' away so you can always take the funicular railway into town for about 1 Franc and save yourself most of the walk. It also puts Switzerland's amazing but expensive (it's Switzerland so don't ever expect cheap) rail service at your disposal: you can get to Lake Como in about 40 minutes from the hotel on a local train. Overall, it was an excellent stay and I think I got extraordinary value for what I paid. I'm thinking of going back there again and negotiating for a month-long stay (I seriously like Lugano and have friends living there). As the hotel's name says, it's a hotel residence, and I could very happily reside there long term.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and for the time taken to write a review of your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you had a very pleasant stay in our hotel and that we have been able to satisfy your expectations

We look forward to welcoming you again in Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa in the future.

Kind regards,

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Member of WorldHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is on the expensive side but we enjoyed our weekend stay here. The highlight was our balcony and the heated outdoor pool overseeing Lake Lugano. The hotel itself is about a 15 walk to the centre and it isn't the most scenic route into town but we purposely chose to be just outside of the centre. The rooms are large and we had more than enough space for the 2 of us. The bathroom had a separate shower and bath. We also had a small kitchen but we didnt use it. Breakfast unfortunately wasn't anything amazing but it did have a wide range of food on offer and you could eat your breakfast outside which was a nice touch. All the staff I encountered were lovely and friendly. They helped us out with some restaurant choices and always greeted us in the corridor. There is also a indoor swimming pool and spa, but it wasn't made clear if we could use it or whether we had to pay extra (though I hope it is included in the rate, as per night isn't cheap!). As it was so nice outside we used the outdoor pool anyway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your lovely feedback and for the time taken to write us. We are delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay with us.

For your next visit, we kindly inform you that you have free access to heated indoor swimming pool, outdoor swimming pool (from Mai to September), whirlpool bath, sauna, Turkish bath and relaxation area.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa.

Kind regards,

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Member of WorldHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The rooms are a bit old fashioned but big, the full hotel is pretty big but clearly structured with a large choice of spa, haircut, wellness etc.
The terrace and the bar are just fantastic, the service kind of fast and the drinks just delicious.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind feedback and for having taken the time to write a comment on TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We kindly inform you that we have already started the project for renovating our rooms.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again at the Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa.

Kind regards,

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Member of WorldHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Even Yehuda
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

we were 4 grown ups, ordered 2 double rooms facing the pool but they assigned us to other rooms. To compensate we were upgraded to 2 suites. These are very big appartmnets with 2 bedrooms, kitchen, balcony etc, so eventually we chose to stay all of us in one suite because it is so big. Great view from the hotel pool, the spa is good. The hotel is great to use as a center, good for family trip, couples, friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive and appreciated feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa.

We look forward to welcoming you here again.

Kind regards,

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Member of WorldHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa

Address: Via Tesserete 10, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lugano
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#6 Business Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the hills overlooking Lugano, in a marvellous setting, yet just a few minutes walk from the centre of town, Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa****S is a an oasis of well-being. The hotel enjoays a breathtaking view of Lake Lugano, the city and the surrounding mountains and offers 49 rooms and suites and 71 serviced apartments, a Mediterranean restaurant and lounge bar, conference and banqueting facilities, and a 3,000 sqm Wellness Club and Spa. The very special light shining over Lugano and love of nature are unforgettable at Villa Sassa, the ideal resort to spend a day, a weekend or an entire week or more of pure relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sassa And Residence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.