We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa to your Saves list
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Tesserete 10, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Tailor Made Package
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Amazing view on the Lugano lake and the surrounding mountains. Great, spacious fitness and spa. Beautiful outside pool and green areas. Good restaurant. Huge but old-fashioned rooms. Overall, good place to be in.

Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence and SPA as your preferred destination in Lugano.

We are looking forward welcoming you here again.

Best regards
VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA

Roland Henkel
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    72
    28
    8
    4
See reviews for
28
80
20
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Hotel has an extraordinary location. Up the city of Lugano with panoramatic view on Lake Lugano,Alps and city. Top Relax center, Gym and Spa. First class restaurant in the garden. Nice swimming pool outside and indor pool.
The rooms are quite large, especially junior sites, all with balcony. Good service, very professional staff, excellent clean facilities. City of Lugano and Lake are suitable for lot of activities and thera are many possiblities for interesting trip in surrounding of city . Navigation on the Lake is also very interesting.

Room Tip: Take an appartment or junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure having you with us during these fantastic summer days. We are glad to read that you made most of your stay by taking a good balance between visiting the beautiful area of Ticino and Lago Maggiore but on the other hand by relaxing in our gardens and facilities.

We highly appreciate your comments about our facilities, rooms and especially our services and employees. We always focus on the improvement and development in these areas and are glad that we could meet your expectations here.

Hopefully we see you soon again- maybe in autumn when the forest starts to turn into beautiful colors. We have special offers available!

Best regards

Roland Henkel
Director

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The pool is lovely, I spent a happy 8 hours there, although competition for umbrella shade got fierce later in the day.

But other experiences at the hotel were not so easy-breezy. The first difficulty was the parking...there is a big stone barricade saying tow away zone at reception. So I drove into the parking garage, but couldn't get a ticket to make the gate arm go up. Trapped in miniscule drive, car behind me beeping -- not a relaxing start to my weekend getaway.

The rooms are huge, but one air conditioner in the living room DOES NOT do anything to cool the bedroom, very stuffy. (Yeah, I know, at least there is air conditioning! Only helpful if it actually cools, though.)

The staff was not very helpful. Not great English skills, so they yelled Italian at me a lot. I think I didn't follow proper pool towel procedure (staff scowled at me,) and apparently they didn't like me walking around indoor pool with flip flops on (scowl,) or when I wanted ice with my beverage at poolside (scowl,) wanted desperate help with garage (front desk scowl,) wanted directions to town (scowl,) information on how to park in town (scowl)...you get the idea.

I will say the hotel made a very nice gesture & provided nice fruit in our room because it was a special occasion. And the fruit was scowl-free :o)

Room Tip: Ask for big balcony overlooking pool / view to the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear guest!

Thank you very much choosing Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence and SPA for your weekend getaway! Visiting us for you special occasion honored us and we had hoped that you would have an overall relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Reading here that we have not been able to fulfill all expectation especially concerning of the service from our employees is for this even more serious for us. Even though we are normally very proud on the feedback we receive for them and nearly everyone speaks at least two languages we do take your comments very serious and will discuss this internally to improve our procedures and approach.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure to welcome you again, so you will experience the services that you (and we ) expect from our Hotel.

Looking forward to your next visit in Lugano

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE AND SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Oh my god, I have never seen such spacious double bedroom in Switzerland. the bathroom was renovated and the our room had a huge balcony with a view to the outdoor pool. The breakfast was very nice in the garden overlooking the Lugano lake. amazing flowers and wide area of grass surrounds you. It was not the best open buffet I had but included quite a lot of variety. croissants can improve.nice location, close to train station.I would definitely go for another time.

Room Tip: get a room facing the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear guest, Gruezi Berna,

Thank you very much for your booking at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence and SPA. We are pleased to read that you had a pleasant time and enjoyed your Room and our Breakfast Buffet.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure to welcome you soon again- Lugano is charming and full of life all year around!

Best regards

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed at Villa Sassa Residence during the 3rd week of july 2012.

3 years ago we had visited the hotel. We loved the spacious apartment, private terrace and 4 star facilities like the pools and the fitness part. Back then all the lifeguards would jump for your wish. When you would be trying to turn your sunbed, they immediately came to help you.

WELLNESS

Today things are a different here. We had issues with the wellness part. The first day we came down there to enter the pool, they stopped us and said that guests of the residence did not have access unless they paid extra for it. They named prices for membership of the wellness club ranging from 50 chf per day per person to 100, 200 and even 1000. They did invite us to go to the reception to clear matters up. We took our booking and since it clearly said that we had access to the pool, they called the Wellness club and insisted that they let us in. This happened. It wasn't nice, but we figured that as a 4* hotel they would get things right the other 6 days of our stay.

This assumption was wrong. The second day we got to the wellness desk and they stopped us again. I explained that this had happened before and that we definitely were allowed to enter the pool. Eventually they called the reception desk that seconded me. By then I was really shocked that they were so incompetent as to make the same mistake twice.

The third day we got through without any problem. We'd split up however and one of our party was not immediately let in.

The FOURTH day we did not expect any problem anymore. There was however a new woman at the wellness desk. She didn't let us in. I'm sure you can understand that by this point things had definitely gone too far. This is not a cheap hotel and they were stretching it. Service is part of what you pay and fighting for every pool entrance is not what I would call 4* service. This new woman (Sara?) claimed that our case had been revised and that the director of the Wellness club himself had sent her an e-mail that morning stating explicitly to not let us in. I have no idea who the director of the Wellness club is, but by that point he was probably one of the only staff who had not yet seen our contract clearly stating access to the outside pool. Even if this were the case, should they not inform us of taking away the privilege of pool entrance? After another call to the reception, we were finally allowed access.

I can understand that if their information is incorrect, they cannot be held accountable. But I find that it is wrong to immediately make us out for "only guests of the residence" and then throw very expensive abonnement prices in chf at our heads for something we had already paid for according to our booking.

As a compensation for all this trouble the Wellness desk gave us 6 coupons for a free drink at the pool bar. This was a nice gesture but it’s quite hard to make up for a bad feeling after being treated this way. Plus, when we bought a drink, the woman at the pool bar immediately summed up all the drinks that did not qualify. We wished to have fresh orange juice which was still allowed. When we asked for it however, she rudely said that that wasn’t possible either.

Not everyone delivered such a bad service. Who was nice? The men behind the bar (not the pool bar), the smiley blond woman of the wellness staff, the reception desk, the guy who took our luggage (and it was a lot!) to the room.

ROOMS

The rooms are very luxurious. We had a big 2 bedroom apartment. It was clean and offered all modern comfort. You should know that there’s a little bit of street noise at night in both the bedrooms. The air-conditioning worked well. However, when you want to sit on your private terrace, you have to turn it off because of the loud noise. It would also be nice to have 2 bathrooms instead of 1. The one bathroom holds a shower and a separate bath.

OTHER

We’re 2012 and most hotels have by now included free wifi in their room price. Villa Sassa is not one of them. They even charge quite a lot for it in my opinion. Charging is something they like to do. They ask 15 chf for outside parking per night. The pool can also be accessed by Wellness club members that do not stay in the hotel but live in the area. Those people have 5 hours of free parking every day… Also, whenever you want to leave the car park, you have to tell the reception so they can let you out. The cards to do this yourself weren’t available all week.

IN SHORT

The hotel is nice but there’s obviously a lot of issues that a 4* hotel should not have. We’ve visited Lugano a total number of 7 times in recent years and had stays in multiple hotels. The outside pool of Sassa is unbeatable by any hotel in the same price class in Lugano centre but we really did not like the way we were treated. We will file a complaint with our touroperator shortly. In the mean time we can advise you Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso 4* for a luxurious stay in a relaxed atmosphere (with the best breakfast in the world!) and Hotel Delfino 3* + for a good value stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Guest, Dear Julie

Firstly we would like to Thank you for booking one of our Rental Apartments for you Holiday in Lugano.

We are glad that you had a chance to speak to our General Manager during your stay and he took personally note of your comments and remarks.

Unfortunately it still seems that we have not been able to revert your overall disappointing impression over your stay. We take all your suggestions serious and discussed it internally as an oppertunity to improve- including contracted agreements for Rentals.

On a positive note we are happy to share with you that as from August our WIFI will be free of charge and with some amendments at the breakfast buffet we have received (also here on Tripadvisor) very positive comments.

We hope you can reconsider your next visit and are looking forward welcoming you here again.

Best regards

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stayed on my own for a weekend to just relax and enjoy the surroundings. Have to say i was really surprised by the hotel. The room are very spacious and extremely clean. Comfortable beds and the staff is extremely helpful and very friendly.

Spa and gym facilities are of a 5 star hotel standard.Tried some of the spa facilities and i was amazed by their standards.

The only negative (if you could say is negative) is that you have to pay for the parking even if you are a guest (a bit too costly i think) and i think they should reconsider upgrading their breakfast buffet

All in all i would definitely recommend it to anyone who would like to have a quite and good quality stay with a high value on your money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Guest- Gruezi Beren!

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time sharing your experiences here.
It is a great pleasure to read about your enjoyable stay and we have forwarded your comments to the relevant departments.
All feedback is very valuable for us as we can improve our standards and offers as per the guests needs and expectations.

Looking forward welcoming you again and wishing you a great summer!
Best regards

Rolan Henkel
Hotel Manager

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I have stayed at Villa Sassa for a number of times already while on business in Lugano. The rooms I stayed in are pretty spacious and pretty quiet, however, if you get a room that faces the street and not the hotel grounds you may get distracted by noise.
The beds are comfortable, the gym, pool, and other fitness facilities are amazing.
The breakfast is simply very-very good, and the views from the dining room are breathtaking.
And if you need to get to Lugano downtown - it's just 10 minutes walk through the lower parking lot of the hotel.
The noise and a bit outdated bathrooms are the main reasons why I did not give it five stars.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Michael,
Thank you very much for your comment - it is always a pleasure to have you with us and we are looking forward welcoming you soon again. If you mail us on info@villasassa.ch for your next stay, we can make sure that you receive a quite room.

Best regards

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa

Address: Via Tesserete 10, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#6 Business Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the hills overlooking Lugano, in a marvellous setting, yet just a few minutes walk from the centre of town, Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa****S is a an oasis of well-being. The hotel enjoays a breathtaking view of Lake Lugano, the city and the surrounding mountains and offers 49 rooms and suites and 71 serviced apartments, a Mediterranean restaurant and lounge bar, conference and banqueting facilities, and a 3,000 sqm Wellness Club and Spa. The very special light shining over Lugano and love of nature are unforgettable at Villa Sassa, the ideal resort to spend a day, a weekend or an entire week or more of pure relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Odigeo, Escapio, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sassa And Residence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.