We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a weekend escape! Spacious rooms.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa to your Saves list
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Tesserete 10, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Tailor Made Package
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
Lucerne, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great for a weekend escape! Spacious rooms.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Oh my god, I have never seen such spacious double bedroom in Switzerland. the bathroom was renovated and the our room had a huge balcony with a view to the outdoor pool. The breakfast was very nice in the garden overlooking the Lugano lake. amazing flowers and wide area of grass surrounds you. It was not the best open buffet I had but included quite a lot of variety. croissants can improve.nice location, close to train station.I would definitely go for another time.

Room Tip: get a room facing the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear guest, Gruezi Berna,

Thank you very much for your booking at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence and SPA. We are pleased to read that you had a pleasant time and enjoyed your Room and our Breakfast Buffet.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure to welcome you soon again- Lugano is charming and full of life all year around!

Best regards

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    70
    27
    8
    4
See reviews for
28
80
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerpen
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed at Villa Sassa Residence during the 3rd week of july 2012.

3 years ago we had visited the hotel. We loved the spacious apartment, private terrace and 4 star facilities like the pools and the fitness part. Back then all the lifeguards would jump for your wish. When you would be trying to turn your sunbed, they immediately came to help you.

WELLNESS

Today things are a different here. We had issues with the wellness part. The first day we came down there to enter the pool, they stopped us and said that guests of the residence did not have access unless they paid extra for it. They named prices for membership of the wellness club ranging from 50 chf per day per person to 100, 200 and even 1000. They did invite us to go to the reception to clear matters up. We took our booking and since it clearly said that we had access to the pool, they called the Wellness club and insisted that they let us in. This happened. It wasn't nice, but we figured that as a 4* hotel they would get things right the other 6 days of our stay.

This assumption was wrong. The second day we got to the wellness desk and they stopped us again. I explained that this had happened before and that we definitely were allowed to enter the pool. Eventually they called the reception desk that seconded me. By then I was really shocked that they were so incompetent as to make the same mistake twice.

The third day we got through without any problem. We'd split up however and one of our party was not immediately let in.

The FOURTH day we did not expect any problem anymore. There was however a new woman at the wellness desk. She didn't let us in. I'm sure you can understand that by this point things had definitely gone too far. This is not a cheap hotel and they were stretching it. Service is part of what you pay and fighting for every pool entrance is not what I would call 4* service. This new woman (Sara?) claimed that our case had been revised and that the director of the Wellness club himself had sent her an e-mail that morning stating explicitly to not let us in. I have no idea who the director of the Wellness club is, but by that point he was probably one of the only staff who had not yet seen our contract clearly stating access to the outside pool. Even if this were the case, should they not inform us of taking away the privilege of pool entrance? After another call to the reception, we were finally allowed access.

I can understand that if their information is incorrect, they cannot be held accountable. But I find that it is wrong to immediately make us out for "only guests of the residence" and then throw very expensive abonnement prices in chf at our heads for something we had already paid for according to our booking.

As a compensation for all this trouble the Wellness desk gave us 6 coupons for a free drink at the pool bar. This was a nice gesture but it’s quite hard to make up for a bad feeling after being treated this way. Plus, when we bought a drink, the woman at the pool bar immediately summed up all the drinks that did not qualify. We wished to have fresh orange juice which was still allowed. When we asked for it however, she rudely said that that wasn’t possible either.

Not everyone delivered such a bad service. Who was nice? The men behind the bar (not the pool bar), the smiley blond woman of the wellness staff, the reception desk, the guy who took our luggage (and it was a lot!) to the room.

ROOMS

The rooms are very luxurious. We had a big 2 bedroom apartment. It was clean and offered all modern comfort. You should know that there’s a little bit of street noise at night in both the bedrooms. The air-conditioning worked well. However, when you want to sit on your private terrace, you have to turn it off because of the loud noise. It would also be nice to have 2 bathrooms instead of 1. The one bathroom holds a shower and a separate bath.

OTHER

We’re 2012 and most hotels have by now included free wifi in their room price. Villa Sassa is not one of them. They even charge quite a lot for it in my opinion. Charging is something they like to do. They ask 15 chf for outside parking per night. The pool can also be accessed by Wellness club members that do not stay in the hotel but live in the area. Those people have 5 hours of free parking every day… Also, whenever you want to leave the car park, you have to tell the reception so they can let you out. The cards to do this yourself weren’t available all week.

IN SHORT

The hotel is nice but there’s obviously a lot of issues that a 4* hotel should not have. We’ve visited Lugano a total number of 7 times in recent years and had stays in multiple hotels. The outside pool of Sassa is unbeatable by any hotel in the same price class in Lugano centre but we really did not like the way we were treated. We will file a complaint with our touroperator shortly. In the mean time we can advise you Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso 4* for a luxurious stay in a relaxed atmosphere (with the best breakfast in the world!) and Hotel Delfino 3* + for a good value stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Guest, Dear Julie

Firstly we would like to Thank you for booking one of our Rental Apartments for you Holiday in Lugano.

We are glad that you had a chance to speak to our General Manager during your stay and he took personally note of your comments and remarks.

Unfortunately it still seems that we have not been able to revert your overall disappointing impression over your stay. We take all your suggestions serious and discussed it internally as an oppertunity to improve- including contracted agreements for Rentals.

On a positive note we are happy to share with you that as from August our WIFI will be free of charge and with some amendments at the breakfast buffet we have received (also here on Tripadvisor) very positive comments.

We hope you can reconsider your next visit and are looking forward welcoming you here again.

Best regards

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stayed on my own for a weekend to just relax and enjoy the surroundings. Have to say i was really surprised by the hotel. The room are very spacious and extremely clean. Comfortable beds and the staff is extremely helpful and very friendly.

Spa and gym facilities are of a 5 star hotel standard.Tried some of the spa facilities and i was amazed by their standards.

The only negative (if you could say is negative) is that you have to pay for the parking even if you are a guest (a bit too costly i think) and i think they should reconsider upgrading their breakfast buffet

All in all i would definitely recommend it to anyone who would like to have a quite and good quality stay with a high value on your money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Guest- Gruezi Beren!

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time sharing your experiences here.
It is a great pleasure to read about your enjoyable stay and we have forwarded your comments to the relevant departments.
All feedback is very valuable for us as we can improve our standards and offers as per the guests needs and expectations.

Looking forward welcoming you again and wishing you a great summer!
Best regards

Rolan Henkel
Hotel Manager

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I have stayed at Villa Sassa for a number of times already while on business in Lugano. The rooms I stayed in are pretty spacious and pretty quiet, however, if you get a room that faces the street and not the hotel grounds you may get distracted by noise.
The beds are comfortable, the gym, pool, and other fitness facilities are amazing.
The breakfast is simply very-very good, and the views from the dining room are breathtaking.
And if you need to get to Lugano downtown - it's just 10 minutes walk through the lower parking lot of the hotel.
The noise and a bit outdated bathrooms are the main reasons why I did not give it five stars.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Michael,
Thank you very much for your comment - it is always a pleasure to have you with us and we are looking forward welcoming you soon again. If you mail us on info@villasassa.ch for your next stay, we can make sure that you receive a quite room.

Best regards

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

During business trips I often stayed in this hotel and always liked it. It can esily happen that you get an appartment instead of a room, so you get a 2 room flat for the price of a hotel room - but no guarantee of course. The SPA inside the hotel is a fitness club open for members and guests of the hotel, so for a hotel the SPA is excellent incl indoor pool, outdoor pool, sauna, steam bath, whirlpool and a good fitness centre. The restaurant is also really excellent, but pretty expensive. A cheap alternative is a pizza place nearby (ABC).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Geschäftsführer at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear guest- sehr geehrter Gast!

Thank you very much for your kind review here on Tripadvisor and it is our pleasure to have you as a repeating client in our Hotel.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the near future!
Kind regards


VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I stayed in Villa Sassa last weekend and I was really impressed by the property.
Rooms are very nice, like a good 4*, but the facilities around are really unique for an hotel of such category.
My accomodation had a large terrace with an amasing view on Lugano and the lake, the hotel is built with very expensive materials, merble is everywhere and service is very attentive in the rooms as well as in public areas. All the staff was also very friendly and they often stopped paying with my 2 yrs old daughter!

What really impressed me is that the hotel has great facilities for a 4*: one of the best SPA I have seen in a 4*, large indoor and outdoor pools, the best gym I have ever seen in an hotel, the only nursery I have seen in an otel accepting the kids from 1 year (not from 3 as usual). Also tis service is complemenary.

I did not mind about the distance from the lake, the hotel is at walking distance from the centre and from the railway station, but other properties on the lake do not offer such a view, such a garden and so many facilities!

Finally, in my opinion this hotel fits for everybody: couples looking for a romantik oasis of peace, families with kids, friends, businessmen looking comfort after a day of work.

Next time I will go to Lugano I will defenitely stop in this property!

PS I forgot to say about the breakfast, I was on diet and I had a wide range of healthy food in my choice, my husband and my daughter, not on diet, really enjoyed the"unhealty" part of the buffet, they told me that the home made cakes were delicious!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Guest- Dear Antonella and Family!

It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest and we appreciate the time you have taken to share your experiences here on Tripadvisor!

We have forwarded your comments also to the relevant departments as positive feedback is very valuable and our employees are very happy to read about your experiences.

Hopefully we will have the great pleasure to have you with us again- please do not hesitate to notify us in advance so we can cater for your special diet needs as per your expectations,

Kind regards

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

The first time we visited Lugano, we stayed at a hotel right on the lake. We enjoyed it then as we watched the August 1 fireworks. This time, Villa Sassa became our Lugano destination as family connected us with Roland Henkel, the Director of the hotel. The hotel was a hit with the family that we decided to stay another night. Our grand daughter was delighted to see that in their huge family room, she has her own separate bedroom. Our rooms are very spacious with lots of storage for long stay, a kitchen, a living room, a lounge and just outside is the swimming pool. The decor, though for others was a bit outdated, made us recall our own versions of the 90's. It simply added to our enjoyment.

On our first evening, we went for drinks in the restaurant-bar and enjoyed the spectacular view of Lugano which we failed to see last time not having stayed at a higher location. For dinner, we walked to town and it was easy given the age range of our family present at 13-69. We enjoyed breakfast at the restaurant overlooking Lugano. Being a spa, breakfast has its good selection of healthy options. The full blooms of the begonias in the garden added to the beauty of the place.

Younger members of the family really enjoyed the pool. Next time, we plan to stay a bit longer and try some of the offers at the Spa.

What we notice is that the staff quietly but effectively run the hotel and gave us a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: If you have children, go for the corner rooms as they have separate bedrooms for kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Dear guest,

It was our great pleasure to have you and your family with us and we are pleased to read here that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Lugano has certainly a lot to offer so it is always worth it to visit our beautiful city not only twice but at least twice a year.

Mr Roland Henkel and his Team is waiting for you to return. Meanwhile please stay friends with us on facebook to receive the latest news and offers.

Best regards

RETO STOECKENIUS
VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESORT AND SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa

Address: Via Tesserete 10, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#6 Business Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the hills overlooking Lugano, in a marvellous setting, yet just a few minutes walk from the centre of town, Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa****S is a an oasis of well-being. The hotel enjoays a breathtaking view of Lake Lugano, the city and the surrounding mountains and offers 49 rooms and suites and 71 serviced apartments, a Mediterranean restaurant and lounge bar, conference and banqueting facilities, and a 3,000 sqm Wellness Club and Spa. The very special light shining over Lugano and love of nature are unforgettable at Villa Sassa, the ideal resort to spend a day, a weekend or an entire week or more of pure relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sassa And Residence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.