We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay at in Lugano” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa to your Saves list
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Tesserete 10, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Tailor Made Package
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
Morrisville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay at in Lugano”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I have stayed at Villa Sassa for a number of times already while on business in Lugano. The rooms I stayed in are pretty spacious and pretty quiet, however, if you get a room that faces the street and not the hotel grounds you may get distracted by noise.
The beds are comfortable, the gym, pool, and other fitness facilities are amazing.
The breakfast is simply very-very good, and the views from the dining room are breathtaking.
And if you need to get to Lugano downtown - it's just 10 minutes walk through the lower parking lot of the hotel.
The noise and a bit outdated bathrooms are the main reasons why I did not give it five stars.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Michael,
Thank you very much for your comment - it is always a pleasure to have you with us and we are looking forward welcoming you soon again. If you mail us on info@villasassa.ch for your next stay, we can make sure that you receive a quite room.

Best regards

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    73
    28
    8
    4
See reviews for
28
80
20
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

During business trips I often stayed in this hotel and always liked it. It can esily happen that you get an appartment instead of a room, so you get a 2 room flat for the price of a hotel room - but no guarantee of course. The SPA inside the hotel is a fitness club open for members and guests of the hotel, so for a hotel the SPA is excellent incl indoor pool, outdoor pool, sauna, steam bath, whirlpool and a good fitness centre. The restaurant is also really excellent, but pretty expensive. A cheap alternative is a pizza place nearby (ABC).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Geschäftsführer at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear guest- sehr geehrter Gast!

Thank you very much for your kind review here on Tripadvisor and it is our pleasure to have you as a repeating client in our Hotel.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the near future!
Kind regards


VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I stayed in Villa Sassa last weekend and I was really impressed by the property.
Rooms are very nice, like a good 4*, but the facilities around are really unique for an hotel of such category.
My accomodation had a large terrace with an amasing view on Lugano and the lake, the hotel is built with very expensive materials, merble is everywhere and service is very attentive in the rooms as well as in public areas. All the staff was also very friendly and they often stopped paying with my 2 yrs old daughter!

What really impressed me is that the hotel has great facilities for a 4*: one of the best SPA I have seen in a 4*, large indoor and outdoor pools, the best gym I have ever seen in an hotel, the only nursery I have seen in an otel accepting the kids from 1 year (not from 3 as usual). Also tis service is complemenary.

I did not mind about the distance from the lake, the hotel is at walking distance from the centre and from the railway station, but other properties on the lake do not offer such a view, such a garden and so many facilities!

Finally, in my opinion this hotel fits for everybody: couples looking for a romantik oasis of peace, families with kids, friends, businessmen looking comfort after a day of work.

Next time I will go to Lugano I will defenitely stop in this property!

PS I forgot to say about the breakfast, I was on diet and I had a wide range of healthy food in my choice, my husband and my daughter, not on diet, really enjoyed the"unhealty" part of the buffet, they told me that the home made cakes were delicious!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Guest- Dear Antonella and Family!

It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest and we appreciate the time you have taken to share your experiences here on Tripadvisor!

We have forwarded your comments also to the relevant departments as positive feedback is very valuable and our employees are very happy to read about your experiences.

Hopefully we will have the great pleasure to have you with us again- please do not hesitate to notify us in advance so we can cater for your special diet needs as per your expectations,

Kind regards

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

The first time we visited Lugano, we stayed at a hotel right on the lake. We enjoyed it then as we watched the August 1 fireworks. This time, Villa Sassa became our Lugano destination as family connected us with Roland Henkel, the Director of the hotel. The hotel was a hit with the family that we decided to stay another night. Our grand daughter was delighted to see that in their huge family room, she has her own separate bedroom. Our rooms are very spacious with lots of storage for long stay, a kitchen, a living room, a lounge and just outside is the swimming pool. The decor, though for others was a bit outdated, made us recall our own versions of the 90's. It simply added to our enjoyment.

On our first evening, we went for drinks in the restaurant-bar and enjoyed the spectacular view of Lugano which we failed to see last time not having stayed at a higher location. For dinner, we walked to town and it was easy given the age range of our family present at 13-69. We enjoyed breakfast at the restaurant overlooking Lugano. Being a spa, breakfast has its good selection of healthy options. The full blooms of the begonias in the garden added to the beauty of the place.

Younger members of the family really enjoyed the pool. Next time, we plan to stay a bit longer and try some of the offers at the Spa.

What we notice is that the staff quietly but effectively run the hotel and gave us a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: If you have children, go for the corner rooms as they have separate bedrooms for kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Dear guest,

It was our great pleasure to have you and your family with us and we are pleased to read here that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Lugano has certainly a lot to offer so it is always worth it to visit our beautiful city not only twice but at least twice a year.

Mr Roland Henkel and his Team is waiting for you to return. Meanwhile please stay friends with us on facebook to receive the latest news and offers.

Best regards

RETO STOECKENIUS
VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESORT AND SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

This spa hotel has excellent facilities with great large suites, suitable for families or anyone who likes to have space. Fully equiped with kitchen and full bathrooms, great view of the lake and garden. Breakfast is abundant of all sorts of delicious cold cuts, cereals, omelettes, etc. The spa has a really great turkish bath and sauna. Lovely indoor pool and outdoor also, indoor pool not suitable for children under 4. Children need supervision at the pool.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review.

We are very satisfied to read that you have had a pleasant time in our Hotel and enoyed your stay in Lugano.

It is highly appreciated that you have taken the time to share this experience with us and others here on Tripadvisor.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards

VILLA SASSA HOTEL RESORT AND SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed for a weekend and felt at home away from home right away. A great place in a park like setting yet within the town of Lugano - so in walkable distance to the city center via small cobbled roads or major arteries ...
The room was well appointed with a marble bathroom (nice size, for a standard size room in which we stayed). Breakfast was plentiful and the rooms have a balcony or patio!

Room Tip: Building is L -shaped with the east side of the vertical leg getting the lake view. The horizontal b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, General Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us at Villa Sassa, Hotel, Residence and SPA.
We are honoured to read your positive comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay so much.

Additionally we wanted to say Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences here.

Hopefully we will welcome you soon again in Lugano- spring has just arrived as well.
All news and updates you can find on our Facebook page- please follow us!

Best regards
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I stayed in a very spacious room with two double bedrooms, two bathrooms, a kitchen and a spacious living-room with a dining table. Very very clean hotel. Spacious bathroom and bath tube. There was a shower as well. I had a view to the lake and the surrounding mountains, it was great. Large balcony for summer nights, this place is ideal for couples. The staff was very polite and friendly. The breakfast room was wonderful, with large windows that let the morning light in, providing a great view to the magic scenery.

Room Tip: Select a room with view at the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, General Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Dear Guest- Kalimera Sotiaki,

Thank you very much for your review here. We are honoured that you find your way to Villa Sassa all the way from Cyprus. We understand you enjoyed the view over our Lugano Lake and we hope you had the possibility to explore the area.

Especially your comments about our staff are highly appreciated and we have shared them internally.

Wishing you all the best

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa

Address: Via Tesserete 10, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#6 Business Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the hills overlooking Lugano, in a marvellous setting, yet just a few minutes walk from the centre of town, Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa****S is a an oasis of well-being. The hotel enjoays a breathtaking view of Lake Lugano, the city and the surrounding mountains and offers 49 rooms and suites and 71 serviced apartments, a Mediterranean restaurant and lounge bar, conference and banqueting facilities, and a 3,000 sqm Wellness Club and Spa. The very special light shining over Lugano and love of nature are unforgettable at Villa Sassa, the ideal resort to spend a day, a weekend or an entire week or more of pure relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Escapio and Tingo so you can book your Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sassa And Residence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.