We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Spa hotel ...wonderful lugano stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa to your Saves list
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Tesserete 10, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tailor Made Package
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Luxury Spa hotel ...wonderful lugano stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

This spa hotel has excellent facilities with great large suites, suitable for families or anyone who likes to have space. Fully equiped with kitchen and full bathrooms, great view of the lake and garden. Breakfast is abundant of all sorts of delicious cold cuts, cereals, omelettes, etc. The spa has a really great turkish bath and sauna. Lovely indoor pool and outdoor also, indoor pool not suitable for children under 4. Children need supervision at the pool.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review.

We are very satisfied to read that you have had a pleasant time in our Hotel and enoyed your stay in Lugano.

It is highly appreciated that you have taken the time to share this experience with us and others here on Tripadvisor.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards

VILLA SASSA HOTEL RESORT AND SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    68
    27
    8
    4
See reviews for
28
78
19
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed for a weekend and felt at home away from home right away. A great place in a park like setting yet within the town of Lugano - so in walkable distance to the city center via small cobbled roads or major arteries ...
The room was well appointed with a marble bathroom (nice size, for a standard size room in which we stayed). Breakfast was plentiful and the rooms have a balcony or patio!

Room Tip: Building is L -shaped with the east side of the vertical leg getting the lake view. The horizontal b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, General Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us at Villa Sassa, Hotel, Residence and SPA.
We are honoured to read your positive comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay so much.

Additionally we wanted to say Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences here.

Hopefully we will welcome you soon again in Lugano- spring has just arrived as well.
All news and updates you can find on our Facebook page- please follow us!

Best regards
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I stayed in a very spacious room with two double bedrooms, two bathrooms, a kitchen and a spacious living-room with a dining table. Very very clean hotel. Spacious bathroom and bath tube. There was a shower as well. I had a view to the lake and the surrounding mountains, it was great. Large balcony for summer nights, this place is ideal for couples. The staff was very polite and friendly. The breakfast room was wonderful, with large windows that let the morning light in, providing a great view to the magic scenery.

Room Tip: Select a room with view at the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, General Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Dear Guest- Kalimera Sotiaki,

Thank you very much for your review here. We are honoured that you find your way to Villa Sassa all the way from Cyprus. We understand you enjoyed the view over our Lugano Lake and we hope you had the possibility to explore the area.

Especially your comments about our staff are highly appreciated and we have shared them internally.

Wishing you all the best

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

This hotel is excellent. We arrived with our dog and small baby and the receptionist upgraded us to a suite without even telling us. The customer service is exceptional! The spa/pool area is very nice. The breakfast is excellent and the view even better! I cannot say enough nice things about this hotel. It was very kid and dog friendly too!

Room Tip: Pay more to have a lake view because the view especially at night is remarkable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, General Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Dear Iam, Gruezi nach Zürich

Thank you very much for your reply- we very honoured to have your whole family (including your sweet dog) with us here in Lugano.

The last days spring has arrived so the city will be even more beautiful and we will open our outside Pool soon again.

For any special offers and all news- please follow us on facebook.
Looking forward to your next stay with us,

Best regards

VIILA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Muharraq, Bahrain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011 via mobile

its has very nice views of the lake. the rooms are spacious. the decoration is quit old. the bed is very hard had stiff shoulders when i wake up.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Direttore generale at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review here on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you overall enjoyed your stay.
There are indeed some plans ti start refurbishing our rooms as from this winter.
Hopefully we will have the pleasure welcoming you next year again to show you the some results.

Follow us on facebook to get the latest updates and news.

Kind regards

Villa Sassa
Hotel, Residence & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

We are a young couple from Switzerland. Coming from the German part of the country, we are always fascinated with the mediterranean charm of Ticino, specially Lugano. We decided to do a quick getaway trip for a weekend and Villa Sassa seemed like the perfect place to go. We booked a special package which includes a 4-course dinner, a full 60 minute facial and free entry to their pools and spa.

The whole Villa has a quite unique contrast between 70's style and modern architecture, which we found to be not of our personal taste but very classy and clean nonetheless.
Staff was helpful, food was great, spa and facial were wonderful. Negative point? If you are not traveling with a car, access to the city center can be a bit tricky. Buses run on time and throughout the day, but when you're on holidays, planning your activities around bus schedules can be a bit annoying.

This hotel is a bit pricy, but you will get your money's worth completely. For us it was a special occasion so we didn't mind spending a bit more to have a memorable weekend.

We totally recommend this hotel for his quality and service.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Leiter Front Office at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us and overall enjoyed our service and facilities.

During your next visit- which is hopefully very soon- we will show you a hidden footbath into town, which takes you in 10 minutes to the shopping street - walking distance.

Keep following us on facebook to get informed about our latest news and offers.

Best regards
VILLA SASSA HOETL, RESIDENCE AND SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

we went to villa sassa for a weekend getaway with a gift voucher. the staff was very friendly.
we stayed in a standard room with pool view. the rooms are very spacious for swiss standards and the balcony was just huge, like 15 m2. nice marble bathroom with shower and bath tub. clean. the general impression of the room was nice but the furniture was not the newest.
the gym is just amazing, probably the best hotel gym in switzerland.
we only ate breakfast at the hotel. it was fine, a good 4star swiss standard plus champagne was included what was very nice. waiters were a bit overcharged but its mostly like this when you have breakfast the last 30 min before the buffet is closing.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate that you have taken some time to share your comments with us and other visitors. It is a great pleasure reading through your impressions and to learn that you have overall really enjoyed your stay.

We have passed on your comments and now we hope that we will have the honour to welcome you soon again,

Meanwhile join us on Facebook to get the latest News!

Kind regards

Villa Sassa Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa

Address: Via Tesserete 10, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lugano
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#6 Business Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the hills overlooking Lugano, in a marvellous setting, yet just a few minutes walk from the centre of town, Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa****S is a an oasis of well-being. The hotel enjoays a breathtaking view of Lake Lugano, the city and the surrounding mountains and offers 49 rooms and suites and 71 serviced apartments, a Mediterranean restaurant and lounge bar, conference and banqueting facilities, and a 3,000 sqm Wellness Club and Spa. The very special light shining over Lugano and love of nature are unforgettable at Villa Sassa, the ideal resort to spend a day, a weekend or an entire week or more of pure relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, TravelClick, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sassa And Residence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.