We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite hotel in Lugano!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa

Save Saved
You added Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Tesserete 10, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Weeken Special Package
Ranked #10 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Zürich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“My favorite hotel in Lugano!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

This hotel is excellent. We arrived with our dog and small baby and the receptionist upgraded us to a suite without even telling us. The customer service is exceptional! The spa/pool area is very nice. The breakfast is excellent and the view even better! I cannot say enough nice things about this hotel. It was very kid and dog friendly too!

Room Tip: Pay more to have a lake view because the view especially at night is remarkable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, General Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Dear Iam, Gruezi nach Zürich

Thank you very much for your reply- we very honoured to have your whole family (including your sweet dog) with us here in Lugano.

The last days spring has arrived so the city will be even more beautiful and we will open our outside Pool soon again.

For any special offers and all news- please follow us on facebook.
Looking forward to your next stay with us,

Best regards

VIILA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    71
    21
    8
    5
See reviews for
26
70
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Al Muharraq, Bahrain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011 via mobile

its has very nice views of the lake. the rooms are spacious. the decoration is quit old. the bed is very hard had stiff shoulders when i wake up.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Direttore generale at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review here on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you overall enjoyed your stay.
There are indeed some plans ti start refurbishing our rooms as from this winter.
Hopefully we will have the pleasure welcoming you next year again to show you the some results.

Follow us on facebook to get the latest updates and news.

Kind regards

Villa Sassa
Hotel, Residence & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

We are a young couple from Switzerland. Coming from the German part of the country, we are always fascinated with the mediterranean charm of Ticino, specially Lugano. We decided to do a quick getaway trip for a weekend and Villa Sassa seemed like the perfect place to go. We booked a special package which includes a 4-course dinner, a full 60 minute facial and free entry to their pools and spa.

The whole Villa has a quite unique contrast between 70's style and modern architecture, which we found to be not of our personal taste but very classy and clean nonetheless.
Staff was helpful, food was great, spa and facial were wonderful. Negative point? If you are not traveling with a car, access to the city center can be a bit tricky. Buses run on time and throughout the day, but when you're on holidays, planning your activities around bus schedules can be a bit annoying.

This hotel is a bit pricy, but you will get your money's worth completely. For us it was a special occasion so we didn't mind spending a bit more to have a memorable weekend.

We totally recommend this hotel for his quality and service.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Leiter Front Office at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us and overall enjoyed our service and facilities.

During your next visit- which is hopefully very soon- we will show you a hidden footbath into town, which takes you in 10 minutes to the shopping street - walking distance.

Keep following us on facebook to get informed about our latest news and offers.

Best regards
VILLA SASSA HOETL, RESIDENCE AND SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

we went to villa sassa for a weekend getaway with a gift voucher. the staff was very friendly.
we stayed in a standard room with pool view. the rooms are very spacious for swiss standards and the balcony was just huge, like 15 m2. nice marble bathroom with shower and bath tub. clean. the general impression of the room was nice but the furniture was not the newest.
the gym is just amazing, probably the best hotel gym in switzerland.
we only ate breakfast at the hotel. it was fine, a good 4star swiss standard plus champagne was included what was very nice. waiters were a bit overcharged but its mostly like this when you have breakfast the last 30 min before the buffet is closing.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate that you have taken some time to share your comments with us and other visitors. It is a great pleasure reading through your impressions and to learn that you have overall really enjoyed your stay.

We have passed on your comments and now we hope that we will have the honour to welcome you soon again,

Meanwhile join us on Facebook to get the latest News!

Kind regards

Villa Sassa Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
389 helpful votes 389 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights on the end of a 9 day tour. Prior to arrival, we had lots of help from the concierge team who were able to help us with our plans. All replies to my emails were helpful and very well informed. It is clear these guys know the city well.

Upon arrival, the reception is bright and airy. Check in took a couple of minutes with a very helpful lady (I couldn’t read her name badge as it was obscured by her hair) Excellent first impression.

Our room (422) on the second floor was spacious with a good sized bathroom – full bath and separate shower (although shower seems to have been fitted at a later date so it looks a little odd as it has different tiles etc but it was a pretty good shower). Excellent amenities and toiletries which were replaced frequently.

They even put a bottle of Prosecco in our room which was a nice touch. There are no tea and coffee facilities in the room but there was a well fitted kitchen (which I was surprised to find). The kitchen although fitted out with dishwasher, oven, fridge etc did not have any cooking pots/utensils/ plates etc so I don’t know how we would have cooked in there had we chosen to do so.

Wardrobes – a double wardrobe with real hangers rather than those annoying clip on ones. Fairly limited space but more than enough for us as were only staying a few nights.

The rooms are very well soundproofed

Beds – very comfortable but would benefit from more pillows (just a personal preference that I like lots of pillows). The pillow that was on there was very flat indeed so I had to fold it over. Reception said they were the only pillows available.

Air-con is a unit in the corner of living room with a hose pipe leading out to the balcony/terrace. Not very effective and quite noisy.

Breakfast was included in our package. An excellent choice of hot and cold foods, pastries, cheeses fruit and meats etc.

The restaurant is very nicely decorated with the most stunning views of Lugano, the lake and the mountains. The food was excellent with a good range of choices.

The staff were uniformly very good. Service is flawless and knowledgeable. They were all, without exception, friendly and charming.

Spa – I had a facial and my partner had a massage. We both concluded these were excellent and the choice of therapies and sports and fitness advice available is very impressive.

Pool – wonderful infinity edged pool but I don’t like the penny pinching towels part – they would only let us have one each and they were quite small. We did however get a towel each from the fitness centre. Also, you need a ticket (obtained from fitness centre) which you then hand to the lifeguard in exchange for the towel. Seems very inconvenient for guests.

The only real downside I can think of is the layout of the building. To get from room to pool, we had to go down in the lift to level -1, then walk to the fitness centre (collect towel ticket), exit through the fitness centre side door, go up a flight of stairs and then you were beside the pool. This would be extremely difficult if you have mobility problems although there are lifts. It is a long walk and unnecessary – as there was a door leading from the lift to the outside which would have meant we could have missed out the fitness centre part – but this door was locked and we were told could not be opened. A small niggle really but it meant if you left something in your room, you had to go right through the hotel, up and down stairs/lifts and quite a long walk to get it.

Overall – would I stay here again? Without doubt. An excellent base for the city with excellent views to the lake.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel as a destination to explore our beautiful Ticino.

We are honoured to read your review and would like to say Thank you very much for the time and effort that you have invested to share your comments with us and other users on Tripadvisor.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you with us again very soon and please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your booking.

Best regards

Villa Sassa Hotel & Residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

very good service
delicious food
Very clean, quiet, beautiful lake views
excellent service in a spa
swimming pool complex
proximity to the lake to the city center
Definitely a hotel to a command for a romantic travel, to relax in the beautiful mountains and clean lakes ..
great communication, easy to move in August.
important note is that mainly uses in Lugano in August taxis, a place generally not the cheapest

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are honoured to read that you had an enjoyable time and appreciate that your feel like sharing this with others.
Hopefully we will have the honour welcoming you soon again with us
Villa Sassa Hotel & Residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011 via mobile

I read that this is a nice hotel to go, With a nice view so I tried it. The view was fantastic indeed, but that was all. The room furniture ikea!! There was a spa that we didn't manage to get any because I had to book in advance (something that no one told me) and this because outsiders can use it, therefor won place for customers paying 700 franks per night!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa

Address: Via Tesserete 10, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lugano
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#6 Business Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the hills overlooking Lugano, in a marvellous setting, yet just a few minutes walk from the centre of town, Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa****S is a an oasis of well-being. The hotel enjoays a breathtaking view of Lake Lugano, the city and the surrounding mountains and offers 49 rooms and suites and 71 serviced apartments, a Mediterranean restaurant and lounge bar, conference and banqueting facilities, and a 3,000 sqm Wellness Club and Spa. The very special light shining over Lugano and love of nature are unforgettable at Villa Sassa, the ideal resort to spend a day, a weekend or an entire week or more of pure relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sassa And Residence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.