We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dischma Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dischma Hotel to your Saves list
Dischma Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dischma Hotel
Vicolo Geretta 6 | Paradiso, Lugano 6902, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Albany, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel was an excellent choice for our stay in Lugano. It is clean, comfortable and convenient to Central Lugano. The public transport system is very good. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were of high quality. This is a value for money hotel and is highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    40
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
21
21
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very friendly chef and service staff who made us felt welcome. Breakfast was very good, with a full range of items, including locally made cheese. Location is just a few bus stops away from the Lugano station, and another few bus stops to the city central.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I came again to Hotel Dischma, traveling with a family member from the States. We were very pleased with our choice.

We appreciated the friendly staff, excellent beds, and good layout of the room - with separate bathroom/wardrobe area from sleeping area. The partial wall between made it easier for one to sleep while the other was using the bathroom or wardrobe.

In the morning, breakfast was a delight. A friendly and efficient wait service, and a great meal with a rich assortment of tasty food. A bonus: the comfortable parlor for talking with friends.

All in all a very comfortable stay. I will recommend this hotel to my friends.

no bar of soap, no washcloths.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We did stay one night while driving to Italy.
Room was a bit outdated but fine, good airco, very good breakfast and location is OK (outside the busy and noisy part of the town). Overall rather expensive for the value but a good hotel if you're looking for a place to stay overnight.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Very reasonable cost hotel close to the lake, the rooms could do with a spruce up some of the fittings are not recent but is clean and the staff are efficient and friendly. Would use again if for a short break, limitations (room noise from next door and corridor is quite high, fittings are bit glib) would get to you if you stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We came here to hear pianist Martha Argerich play in two concerts and needed somewhere central to stay that was neither super luxury nor plastic international chain. The Dischma was ideal, it is not super-modern but is comfortable, clean, friendly, helpful, and in easy walking distance (half to one mile, but by the lake) to most of the places you'll want to go. Note that some GPS software needs the entry "Hotel Dischma, Paradiso" rather than "Hotel Dischma, Lugano" (Paradiso is a district of Lugano but is sometimes treated by GPS as a separate village).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I chose this hotel based on the location, reviews and relatively reasonable cost. We stayed two nights for 310 CHF which included all taxes and breakfast for two. We had taken the Bernina Express and that included the bus to the Lugano train station. We took the local train to Paradiso. We were able to walk to the hotel from the local train station. When we disembarked, we walked down towards the lake and had to ask a few people for directions in order to find the hotel but it was an easy 15 minute walk.
The reception was friendly and efficient. The walls throughout the hotel are decorated with dozens of paintings---- reproductions of the Great Masters from every era. The rooms were moderate, plain and quite ordinary, but clean. Same for the bathrooms.
We elected to have breakfast on the "terrace" area outside of the hotel next to the entrance where tables are set up on the small side street under a canopy, unfortunately where everyone smoked. The breakfast room was pleasant,and most guest ate inside. The food included cold meats, cheese, a great selection of breads, sausages, cut up melon and watermelon, small triangles of eggs, cereals, yogurt, juice, and GREAT coffee/tea.
There was a free computer in the bar area.
It was a perfect location for walking 15 min. to the lake and Parco Civico, as well as to the finicular to Mt San Salvatore.
Very convenient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dischma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dischma Hotel

Address: Vicolo Geretta 6 | Paradiso, Lugano 6902, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Dischma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dischma Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dischma Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.