We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked it very much and would stay here again.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dischma Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dischma Hotel to your Saves list
Dischma Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dischma Hotel
Vicolo Geretta 6 | Paradiso, Lugano 6902, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Sandy, UT
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We liked it very much and would stay here again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Very close to the funicular up Monte San Salvatore and also very close to the boat dock where we took a cruise around the lake. Short bus ride from the train station and close to the bus stop. Delicious breakfast with a wide variety and outdoor seating available. The room was nice and clean and included a table and chairs. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Our room on the first floor was quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    46
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
23
26
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Our family room at this hotel (2 single beds next to each other and a bunk bed) was compact but clean and reasonably equipped (including air conditioning which was useful in Lugano in May). I would have preferred a double bed - but that's a minor issue. The staff at this hotel are great - really helpful and family friendly.

Most things in Lugano are eye-wateringly expensive but the Dischma is definitely good value.

The hotel is in the Paradiso district which is a 15-20 walk from central Lugano. But there are plenty of restaurants and shops around and most of the boat trips on the lake can be caught from the Paradiso pier. If you are going to be getting boats or funiculars it is worth getting 3- or 5-day passes which cover all transport in Lugano.

Free wi-fi on every floor was an unexpected bonus.

Room Tip: Rooms higher in the hotel will have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Nice hotel, close to lake for major sightseeing and stone's throw from San Salvatore funicular. Clean, medium sized room, good breakfast (with champagne!). Staff friendly and helpful. Free wi-fi in room.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

A friend of mine from Brazil took me to this Hotel when I was in Lugano by chance. I liked the hotel, it was not expensive for Switzerland's standards, and I would surely return. I just missed air conditioning because it was a warm night in Switzerland's summer. Maybe a fan would do it, but it was ok. I could not open the window completelly, but I think thats my fault because I have never seen a window like that one. I think that should be a way to open it completely, maybe it was a security measure for kids, but I did not ask the people from the hotel to open it, it was late at night, so really no problem about it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

The Dischma is a lovely budget option in a very high rent city. The best thing about this hotel ia the incredible staff. Everyone was so kind and so helpful. Our room had bunkbeds and a double bed. It was crowded with furniture but it was clean and very comfortable. We had a nice balcony were you could sit with a book or a drink. It was a very warm and humid evening the night we stayed. We requested a fan and it was brought to our room immediately. The people make this simple place special.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

We stayed at Hotel Dischma with my family for 2 nights. The hotel is well located, few minutes from the lake but at least 20 minutes walk from center. The staff is very helpfull (familly owned hotel) and always happy to help. This is a very good value for money for a short break in Lugano in a 3 stars hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

Lugano is lovely but expensive. The Dischma however is great value with good facilities and very helful staff.
It's a bit quirky but none the worse for that.
The location is fantastic! A 10/15 minute stroll along the beautiful lakefront takes you to the heart of Lugano. You can catch a lake ferry from the bottom of the road, the funiculaire is 2mins and the little tourist road train stops 100 yds away.
Parking is also very close and secure.
Ask for a room with a view of San Salvatore.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dischma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dischma Hotel

Address: Vicolo Geretta 6 | Paradiso, Lugano 6902, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dischma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dischma Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dischma Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.