We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel excellent value, great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Continental Parkhotel

Save Saved
You added Continental Parkhotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Continental Parkhotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Basilea 28, Lugano 6903, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel excellent value, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

We chose this hotel based on T.A. reviews and were not disappointed. Everything that was said about this hotel and staff was accurate. We booked our two night's bed and breakfast stay with booking.com
The location was perfect for us as we were arriving and departing by train so wanted to be near the station.
As the reviews say, it is a 5 min stroll along the platform to the hotel which has a nice approach with a sweeping cobblestone drive and garden setting.
Check in was quick and we were given a nice quiet clean room in tje main building with a balcony with a view towards the mountain. The trains did not disturb us as they are very modern and quiet.
Breakfast was very good and would cater to most needs.
As the weather was overcast and a bit drizzly most of our two day stay in Lugano, we didn't check out the pool.

We had a lovely meal at the hotel which was excellent value and we were served by a charming Irish girl.
The young girl at reception was most helpful in giving us advice regarding where the best place to go the following day due to the inclement weather in Lugano.
We took her advice and headed off in the train to Lake Como, checked out the lakeside and then returned to Lugano and then took a train to Lake Maggiorie (absolutely beautiful!) it was sunny so we took a 2 hour cruise on the lake. This was wonderful and we highly recommend it.
The distance by train from Lugano to Maggiorie is not much and the trains go regularly. We certrainly weren't rushed to see both places and staying where we did gave us quick access to the trains.

The Continental Parkhotel has that old world charm with good old fashioned 5* service.
There is a nice lounge bar area where you can sit and relax and enjoy a chat and a quiet drink before dinner .
We highly recommend this hotel to all travelers and we will certainly stay here again if we return to Lugano.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    119
    24
    12
    7
See reviews for
47
159
22
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

This is a beautiful hotel with immaculately maintained landscaping. We had booked a room for 2 nights for $415 (breakfast included). At check-in we were upgraded and the room was very spacious with a balcony overlooking the lake; very clean. The hotel is just down the street from the train station, but about a 20 minute walk to the "center" all downhill. The walk back up is the killer. Parking is on site at no charge. Breakfast was very good and dinner (we ate at the hotel restaurant both nights) was pricey, but also very good. All staff were exceptionally friendly and eager to assist. Lugano has a casino and we left a few bucks there one afternoon. Drive about 30 minutes to Bellinzona to see castles.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

Lovely place to stay! Amazing pool and gardens to enjoy Lugano's sunny weather. Great modern rooms and private balcony. Convenient location near the train station and funicular to town - loved this hotel (especially the pool!).

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

Great location and great view over the lake.
Nice park with swimming pool.
Perfect for combining sight seeing (or business) with relaxation.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

My daughter and I spent a week at this hotel in July. Beautiful setting with palm trees, gardens, and paths. We had a lovely room in the main building, with a view from our balcony of the sparkling lake. Nice firm mattress with a fluffy comforter. Large, Immaculate bathroom. Warm, friendly, helpful staff. The breakfast was amazing -whole fruit, yogurt, fresh breads and rolls, cheeses. Dinner was pretty good - what you would expect from a hotel. The hotel is close to the train station, but we were not bothered by train noise at all. It's also about a 10 minute walk into Lugano's old town. Highlights: homemade wine at dinner, tiny cups of espresso in the afternoon, lounging at the pool, learning Italian from the serving staff. We felt right at home at the Continental Parkhotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

We spent one night in this hotel, we got very nice room (i asked a week before our arrival for lake view room) in reconstructed part of the hotel, the bathroom was very nice and modern a the whole room as well, there was a flat tv, minibar. The swimmingpool is also very nice. The breakfast was excellent. The only problem is the train station next to the hotel, but the swiss trains are not very noisy, there is an aircondition in the room, so you can sleep with closed windows. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESHIRE
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

We have just spent four nights here, as part of a motoring tour of Switzerland. All the positives we had read in reviews were accurate. The hotel is very well positioned by the railway station, with an easy funicular trip down to the centre of Lugano. The renovation is almost complete, and ongoing works caused no disturbance. We had booked a superior double, but were upgraded on arrival. The gardens are well-tended, as is the pool and sunbathing area. Sunbeds and towels are provided free, and there are more than enough. Breakfast is a very good spread, and the evening provides a choice between the set menu, at 30 Swiss francs, or a la carte choices. Wine comes from the hotel's own vineyard. However, it was the friendliness and helpfulness of every member of staff which made this into an exceptional stay. As a Duty Manager said, "A smile costs nothing". If you have a choice in Lugano, then give the Continental a try!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Continental Parkhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Parkhotel

Address: Via Basilea 28, Lugano 6903, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#4 Business Hotel in Lugano
#4 Family Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Continental Parkhotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Tingo, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Continental Parkhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Parkhotel Lugano
Continental Parkhotel Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Continental Parkhotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.