We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool and gardens!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Continental Parkhotel

Save Saved
You added Continental Parkhotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Continental Parkhotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Basilea 28, Lugano 6903, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great pool and gardens!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

Lovely place to stay! Amazing pool and gardens to enjoy Lugano's sunny weather. Great modern rooms and private balcony. Convenient location near the train station and funicular to town - loved this hotel (especially the pool!).

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    125
    26
    12
    7
See reviews for
51
168
25
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

Great location and great view over the lake.
Nice park with swimming pool.
Perfect for combining sight seeing (or business) with relaxation.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

My daughter and I spent a week at this hotel in July. Beautiful setting with palm trees, gardens, and paths. We had a lovely room in the main building, with a view from our balcony of the sparkling lake. Nice firm mattress with a fluffy comforter. Large, Immaculate bathroom. Warm, friendly, helpful staff. The breakfast was amazing -whole fruit, yogurt, fresh breads and rolls, cheeses. Dinner was pretty good - what you would expect from a hotel. The hotel is close to the train station, but we were not bothered by train noise at all. It's also about a 10 minute walk into Lugano's old town. Highlights: homemade wine at dinner, tiny cups of espresso in the afternoon, lounging at the pool, learning Italian from the serving staff. We felt right at home at the Continental Parkhotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

We spent one night in this hotel, we got very nice room (i asked a week before our arrival for lake view room) in reconstructed part of the hotel, the bathroom was very nice and modern a the whole room as well, there was a flat tv, minibar. The swimmingpool is also very nice. The breakfast was excellent. The only problem is the train station next to the hotel, but the swiss trains are not very noisy, there is an aircondition in the room, so you can sleep with closed windows. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESHIRE
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

We have just spent four nights here, as part of a motoring tour of Switzerland. All the positives we had read in reviews were accurate. The hotel is very well positioned by the railway station, with an easy funicular trip down to the centre of Lugano. The renovation is almost complete, and ongoing works caused no disturbance. We had booked a superior double, but were upgraded on arrival. The gardens are well-tended, as is the pool and sunbathing area. Sunbeds and towels are provided free, and there are more than enough. Breakfast is a very good spread, and the evening provides a choice between the set menu, at 30 Swiss francs, or a la carte choices. Wine comes from the hotel's own vineyard. However, it was the friendliness and helpfulness of every member of staff which made this into an exceptional stay. As a Duty Manager said, "A smile costs nothing". If you have a choice in Lugano, then give the Continental a try!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

We were looking for a convenient and affordable hotel in Lugano for just one night as we'd just finished the Bernina Express tour.

The hotel was perfect as it was conveniently located right behind the train station. It's an old building, renovated while keeping plenty of old-time charm and personality. It's about 10 minutes to downtown Lugano and 15 minutes to the lake.

(For those who don't know Lugano, the train station is above the center of town but easily accessible by foot or even by a funicular.)

Staff was friendly, efficient and multilingual.

Our room category was "comfort". It was located on the 3rd floor, with great views of Lake Lugano. Our room also had a shared balcony with two chairs. (

Given that the hotel's behind the train station, you do hear the trains go by however, the noise is greatly reduced once all windows closed. It didn’t disturb us at all, in fact, I am a light sleeper and slept like a baby.

Breakfast was good: different breads, cheeses, cereals, yoghurts, juices, and bacon & eggs among others. The hotel has a swimming pool but we didn't use it. There are a bar and a restaurant in the hotel.

Overall we were very satisfied with the hotel. For CHF 160.--, you can't find many hotels with the same quality, service and location in Lugano or even in the whole of Switzerland. We will definitely stay there during our next trip to Lugano.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

We stayed at the Continental Park Hotel for my husband's big birthday. The room was lovely, it had only recently been refurbished and had a balcony and wonderful view of the lake. The food at the hotel was great, good breakfast and the bar had a happy hour. The staff could not have been more helpful (readily lending us an adaptor or the rather unusual swiss sockets). The place was very clean and I can thoroughly recommend it. The hotel is right next to a railway crossing and at first our hearts sank because we thought it would be noisy but in fact the hotel is perched well above it and you could not hear trains at all.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Continental Parkhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Parkhotel

Address: Via Basilea 28, Lugano 6903, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#4 Business Hotel in Lugano
#4 Family Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Continental Parkhotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Tingo, Priceline, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Continental Parkhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Parkhotel Lugano
Continental Parkhotel Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Continental Parkhotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.