We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Continental Parkhotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Continental Parkhotel to your Saves list
Continental Parkhotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Basilea 28, Lugano 6903, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love the location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Lugano is very hilly so I stayed here because the hotel is located next door to the train station and so you don't need a taxi and neither are u dragging bags up or down hills...With the exception of the short hill from the hotels front gate to the front door. Exit train station and turn right and the hotel is located at the end of the car park on the opposite side of the train tracks. Bedrooms are small...a single room means a single bed. Bathroom was immaculate. I had lovely views of the hotels back garden. This hotel has beautiful gardens to wander around. This is a very stylish grand hotel. Service is excellent. Staff are very helpful. Little or no noise from train station in bedrooms. If you don't walk to walk the 4min journey down the hill to the lakeside you can take the Gongerat (tram) which is located directly opposite the train station under the restaurant. The central bus station is also located at the train station.

Room Tip: They're are buildings to the front of the hotel which would obstruct views of the lake from most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    174
    34
    13
    9
See reviews for
75
216
31
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Cozy splendid hotel with history! We had nice room on top floor in the main building facing the lake. Breathtaking view, so when we woke up in the morning we turned around 90 degrees in bed to enjoy magnificent sunrise thru the balcony door whir in bed. Room is modern, new linen. Nice garden (with private villas, I guess) and pool in the rear. The only one negative thing was noise from railway during regular train hours, but it was OK with closed balcony door.

Room Tip: quiet - facing the yard in the rear; train might be disturbing - facing the entrance, but it has unb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is a small hotel right next to Lugano train station. View of the lake is nice. Beautiful garden and outdoor pool. Room was soundproof so the proximity to the train station was not issue.
Room size was on the smaller size but this can be expected in Europe. Other than that, it was perfect - clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was very good and included with my room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

As we came into Lugano by train - being situated right by the station made it very convenient to get around, whether by bus, funicular or by walking 7 minutes to the town centre. Elegantly appointed it harkens to a classic era. High ceilings and all the creature comforts that appeals to Europeans and North Americans alike. Similar in feel to Federale Hotel but better situated to access to transport. Thankfully, we were not disturbed or consciously aware of the trains running nearby. The Trip Advisor recommendations were spot on.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Very nice hotel with good service and a high standard in the room, including great internet access by wifi. A pretty good breakfast buffet, but only very small plates are available - is this a way to stop people overeating?

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The hotel is just walking distance from the railway station and very near to the ropeway cum tram that takes you down to the city centre/ lake lugano. The staff is not too friendly and the rooms are small. Overall an average hotel to stay at

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

we can't say enough good things about the Continentalpark Hotel in Lugano. The management very kindly upgraded us to their Prestige top room (without us asking) which was a gorgeous room. Spotlessly clean and well appointed, like the rest of their hotel. Staff made us feel like welcome and honored guests. Everyone we interacted with went out of their way to be helpful; the location was perfect for easily getting in and out of the city of Lugano. Their breakfast buffet was also a nice surprise, much better than the other 4 hotels we stayed at during our 14 days in Switzerland. Wish they could replicate the Continentalpark and their staff throughout other Swiss cities, we would have stayed at them all. The only downside was leaving and having to stay elsewhere during our trip to other regions (none of the remaining nor previous hotels in Lucerne, Interlaken, Lausanne, or Geneva came close to the 4 star quality of the Continentalpark).

Room Tip: if you are concerned about noise from the trains, request a room facing the back (garden / pool area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.2 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.7 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#13 of 43 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Federale
Hotel Federale
#8 of 43 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Delfino
Hotel Delfino
#9 of 43 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
0.8 mi away
ibis Lugano Paradiso
ibis Lugano Paradiso
#20 of 43 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Parkhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Parkhotel

Address: Via Basilea 28, Lugano 6903, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lugano
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#5 Family Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Continental Parkhotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Otel, Venere, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Continental Parkhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Parkhotel Lugano
Continental Parkhotel Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Continental Parkhotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.