We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Lugano” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Continental Parkhotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Continental Parkhotel to your Saves list
Continental Parkhotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Basilea 28, Lugano 6903, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
Haifa, Israel
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great stay at Lugano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is a small hotel right next to Lugano train station. View of the lake is nice. Beautiful garden and outdoor pool. Room was soundproof so the proximity to the train station was not issue.
Room size was on the smaller size but this can be expected in Europe. Other than that, it was perfect - clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was very good and included with my room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    141
    28
    12
    8
See reviews for
54
182
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

As we came into Lugano by train - being situated right by the station made it very convenient to get around, whether by bus, funicular or by walking 7 minutes to the town centre. Elegantly appointed it harkens to a classic era. High ceilings and all the creature comforts that appeals to Europeans and North Americans alike. Similar in feel to Federale Hotel but better situated to access to transport. Thankfully, we were not disturbed or consciously aware of the trains running nearby. The Trip Advisor recommendations were spot on.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Very nice hotel with good service and a high standard in the room, including great internet access by wifi. A pretty good breakfast buffet, but only very small plates are available - is this a way to stop people overeating?

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The hotel is just walking distance from the railway station and very near to the ropeway cum tram that takes you down to the city centre/ lake lugano. The staff is not too friendly and the rooms are small. Overall an average hotel to stay at

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

we can't say enough good things about the Continentalpark Hotel in Lugano. The management very kindly upgraded us to their Prestige top room (without us asking) which was a gorgeous room. Spotlessly clean and well appointed, like the rest of their hotel. Staff made us feel like welcome and honored guests. Everyone we interacted with went out of their way to be helpful; the location was perfect for easily getting in and out of the city of Lugano. Their breakfast buffet was also a nice surprise, much better than the other 4 hotels we stayed at during our 14 days in Switzerland. Wish they could replicate the Continentalpark and their staff throughout other Swiss cities, we would have stayed at them all. The only downside was leaving and having to stay elsewhere during our trip to other regions (none of the remaining nor previous hotels in Lucerne, Interlaken, Lausanne, or Geneva came close to the 4 star quality of the Continentalpark).

Room Tip: if you are concerned about noise from the trains, request a room facing the back (garden / pool area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Continental Parkhotel for two nights. We selected it as it was convenient to the railway station (500 metres easy walk). We were asked if we would like a lake view room and when you're in Lugano what else would you want to look at. Our room was a good size, big enough for us and our suitcases. Bathroom was good -the shower magnificent. The beds were firm but comfortable. Our balcony overlooked the lake, the mountains and the railway line, but the fantastic views more than compensated for the noise from the trains, and when you shut the extremely efficient windows you couldn't hear a sound anyway.
The breakfast which was included in the cost was outstanding. It was the best we have found in Europe. There was something to suit everyone's taste. The staff were very friendly and very helpful and were a credit to the management. The surrounding gardens and pool area provided a lovely relaxing environment. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkirkara, Malta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We had a lovely weekend break at this hotel. The breakfast is vast and great, the staff are so helpful and well educated and the breakfast room and view is lovely. I love the newsletter they leave on all the tables with suggested excursions and sightseeing.
We received an upgrade from the comfort room to the standard room with a lake view. The only hitch was that the curtains had no black out so at 5.30 - 6.00am we would wake up with the sunlight beaming in . we didn't mind actually as we got more out of the day......
Free car park is a blessing and being on top of the hill going to the hotel is easy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Continental Parkhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Parkhotel

Address: Via Basilea 28, Lugano 6903, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lugano
#4 Family Hotel in Lugano
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Continental Parkhotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Continental Parkhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Parkhotel Lugano
Continental Parkhotel Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Continental Parkhotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.