We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, small plates” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Continental Parkhotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Continental Parkhotel to your Saves list
Continental Parkhotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Basilea 28, Lugano 6903, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place, small plates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Very nice hotel with good service and a high standard in the room, including great internet access by wifi. A pretty good breakfast buffet, but only very small plates are available - is this a way to stop people overeating?

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    134
    27
    12
    8
See reviews for
53
178
27
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The hotel is just walking distance from the railway station and very near to the ropeway cum tram that takes you down to the city centre/ lake lugano. The staff is not too friendly and the rooms are small. Overall an average hotel to stay at

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

we can't say enough good things about the Continentalpark Hotel in Lugano. The management very kindly upgraded us to their Prestige top room (without us asking) which was a gorgeous room. Spotlessly clean and well appointed, like the rest of their hotel. Staff made us feel like welcome and honored guests. Everyone we interacted with went out of their way to be helpful; the location was perfect for easily getting in and out of the city of Lugano. Their breakfast buffet was also a nice surprise, much better than the other 4 hotels we stayed at during our 14 days in Switzerland. Wish they could replicate the Continentalpark and their staff throughout other Swiss cities, we would have stayed at them all. The only downside was leaving and having to stay elsewhere during our trip to other regions (none of the remaining nor previous hotels in Lucerne, Interlaken, Lausanne, or Geneva came close to the 4 star quality of the Continentalpark).

Room Tip: if you are concerned about noise from the trains, request a room facing the back (garden / pool area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Continental Parkhotel for two nights. We selected it as it was convenient to the railway station (500 metres easy walk). We were asked if we would like a lake view room and when you're in Lugano what else would you want to look at. Our room was a good size, big enough for us and our suitcases. Bathroom was good -the shower magnificent. The beds were firm but comfortable. Our balcony overlooked the lake, the mountains and the railway line, but the fantastic views more than compensated for the noise from the trains, and when you shut the extremely efficient windows you couldn't hear a sound anyway.
The breakfast which was included in the cost was outstanding. It was the best we have found in Europe. There was something to suit everyone's taste. The staff were very friendly and very helpful and were a credit to the management. The surrounding gardens and pool area provided a lovely relaxing environment. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkirkara, Malta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We had a lovely weekend break at this hotel. The breakfast is vast and great, the staff are so helpful and well educated and the breakfast room and view is lovely. I love the newsletter they leave on all the tables with suggested excursions and sightseeing.
We received an upgrade from the comfort room to the standard room with a lake view. The only hitch was that the curtains had no black out so at 5.30 - 6.00am we would wake up with the sunlight beaming in . we didn't mind actually as we got more out of the day......
Free car park is a blessing and being on top of the hill going to the hotel is easy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
154 hotel reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Hotel is at the top of the town, with a nice view. Plenty of free parking. Awesome staff. We got an upgrade to a big spacious family room; good beds and good shower, TV and DVD player. Only letdown was the thin curtains (no black-out) which let through all the light (daylight and outside hotel lamps). Breakfast was decent enough. Small kids playground in the garden. Very cold outside pool, which we therefore did not use (not yet heated in early May!).

It is next to the train station and takes a short walk down to get to the city center (and a cable car up if you don't want to walk back up).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Flew into Milan from Australia and eventually after some drama caught the train to Lugano. Easy walk to hotel from station,delighted to find had been upgraded and had a third floor superior room with balcony. The view was amazing over the lake. Short walk to furnicular down to Old Town.Large room and bathroom ,extremely comfortable beds. Reception staff helpful.
Dinner in the lovely dining room remains the best meal of our trip and the breakfast buffet in the morning was one of the most delicious and visually attractive I have seen. The wait staff were lovely.It was a perfect place to start our trip and recover from jet lag.A little expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Continental Parkhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Parkhotel

Address: Via Basilea 28, Lugano 6903, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lugano
#4 Business Hotel in Lugano
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Continental Parkhotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HostelBookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Continental Parkhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Parkhotel Lugano
Continental Parkhotel Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Continental Parkhotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.