We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more could you want!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Continental Parkhotel

Save Saved
You added Continental Parkhotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Continental Parkhotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Basilea 28, Lugano 6903, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Melbourne
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“What more could you want!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Continental Parkhotel for two nights. We selected it as it was convenient to the railway station (500 metres easy walk). We were asked if we would like a lake view room and when you're in Lugano what else would you want to look at. Our room was a good size, big enough for us and our suitcases. Bathroom was good -the shower magnificent. The beds were firm but comfortable. Our balcony overlooked the lake, the mountains and the railway line, but the fantastic views more than compensated for the noise from the trains, and when you shut the extremely efficient windows you couldn't hear a sound anyway.
The breakfast which was included in the cost was outstanding. It was the best we have found in Europe. There was something to suit everyone's taste. The staff were very friendly and very helpful and were a credit to the management. The surrounding gardens and pool area provided a lovely relaxing environment. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    126
    26
    12
    7
See reviews for
51
168
25
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birkirkara, Malta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We had a lovely weekend break at this hotel. The breakfast is vast and great, the staff are so helpful and well educated and the breakfast room and view is lovely. I love the newsletter they leave on all the tables with suggested excursions and sightseeing.
We received an upgrade from the comfort room to the standard room with a lake view. The only hitch was that the curtains had no black out so at 5.30 - 6.00am we would wake up with the sunlight beaming in . we didn't mind actually as we got more out of the day......
Free car park is a blessing and being on top of the hill going to the hotel is easy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
152 hotel reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Hotel is at the top of the town, with a nice view. Plenty of free parking. Awesome staff. We got an upgrade to a big spacious family room; good beds and good shower, TV and DVD player. Only letdown was the thin curtains (no black-out) which let through all the light (daylight and outside hotel lamps). Breakfast was decent enough. Small kids playground in the garden. Very cold outside pool, which we therefore did not use (not yet heated in early May!).

It is next to the train station and takes a short walk down to get to the city center (and a cable car up if you don't want to walk back up).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Flew into Milan from Australia and eventually after some drama caught the train to Lugano. Easy walk to hotel from station,delighted to find had been upgraded and had a third floor superior room with balcony. The view was amazing over the lake. Short walk to furnicular down to Old Town.Large room and bathroom ,extremely comfortable beds. Reception staff helpful.
Dinner in the lovely dining room remains the best meal of our trip and the breakfast buffet in the morning was one of the most delicious and visually attractive I have seen. The wait staff were lovely.It was a perfect place to start our trip and recover from jet lag.A little expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Only used first time as a stop over, however Hotel and room was really great.
Good value and good location near rail station and town centre only a short walk.
Carparking spaces included.
Staff friendly and helpful - recommended value and location

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Lugano is a beautiful city on the lake. If you want a hotel that is convenient to the train station, this is the place for you. The hotel is located on the hill above the station, it is all of a 5 minute walk. The train can be noisy if you sleep with your windows open, but not a problem otherwise. The views from the rooms are of the town and the lake. You can sit on the terrace outside of your room and enjoy the lake and the snow capped mountains.
It is a steep walk up and down the hill to the center of town and the lake, but it is only a 10 - 15 minute walk and there is funicular if you're not up for it which is really fun and only about a franc to ride.
We stayed here 3 different times over the course of 2 weeks and each time we stayed, our room was upgraded. We were in 3 totally different rooms, but all were clean, roomy and comfortable. the bathrooms appeared to be recently upgraded and were very nice. We found it interesting that each room was so different in layout and set up, but we appreciated the staff's thoughfulness in upgrading us and we liked each room we stayed in. The room on the 4th floor was the best - it was considered one of their premier rooms and was definitely a couple of notches above the other rooms we stayed in.
The breakfast was average as compared to the others we had on this trip, but it had everything you needed, eggs, yogurt, fruit, cheese, sausages, pastries, cereal. The hotel has a restaurant and bar, neither of which we tried. It was not swimming weather when we were there, but the pool out back was beautiful and inviting.
Would definitely recommend the Continental Park Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor overlooking the lake. Beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This hotel has been by far the best overall experience in a long time. The fact that is family run I am sure has its influence, and we definitely appreciated the level of service as well as the free room upgrade upon arrival.
The staff are very friendly and most speak 3 or 4 languages.
The recently renovated rooms are clean, modern and extremely comfortable. The option of TV channels and excellent wifi service made a rainy afternoon pass away almost unnoticed.
The moderately priced restaurant (compared to all other restaurants in town!) turned out to be our refuge in the evenings, and had us coming back for more because of the excellent food served.
The location is great just on top of the hill and near the town centre but with easy acccess to the roads leading out of Lugano.
In fact, our stay was so good that we are planning to go back again. Next time we hope to go during the warmer months and enjoy the pool and gardens too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Continental Parkhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Parkhotel

Address: Via Basilea 28, Lugano 6903, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lugano
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#4 Business Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Continental Parkhotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Continental Parkhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Parkhotel Lugano
Continental Parkhotel Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Continental Parkhotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;