We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Continental Parkhotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Continental Parkhotel to your Saves list
Continental Parkhotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Basilea 28, Lugano 6903, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Only used first time as a stop over, however Hotel and room was really great.
Good value and good location near rail station and town centre only a short walk.
Carparking spaces included.
Staff friendly and helpful - recommended value and location

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    169
    34
    13
    9
See reviews for
70
212
30
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Lugano is a beautiful city on the lake. If you want a hotel that is convenient to the train station, this is the place for you. The hotel is located on the hill above the station, it is all of a 5 minute walk. The train can be noisy if you sleep with your windows open, but not a problem otherwise. The views from the rooms are of the town and the lake. You can sit on the terrace outside of your room and enjoy the lake and the snow capped mountains.
It is a steep walk up and down the hill to the center of town and the lake, but it is only a 10 - 15 minute walk and there is funicular if you're not up for it which is really fun and only about a franc to ride.
We stayed here 3 different times over the course of 2 weeks and each time we stayed, our room was upgraded. We were in 3 totally different rooms, but all were clean, roomy and comfortable. the bathrooms appeared to be recently upgraded and were very nice. We found it interesting that each room was so different in layout and set up, but we appreciated the staff's thoughfulness in upgrading us and we liked each room we stayed in. The room on the 4th floor was the best - it was considered one of their premier rooms and was definitely a couple of notches above the other rooms we stayed in.
The breakfast was average as compared to the others we had on this trip, but it had everything you needed, eggs, yogurt, fruit, cheese, sausages, pastries, cereal. The hotel has a restaurant and bar, neither of which we tried. It was not swimming weather when we were there, but the pool out back was beautiful and inviting.
Would definitely recommend the Continental Park Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor overlooking the lake. Beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This hotel has been by far the best overall experience in a long time. The fact that is family run I am sure has its influence, and we definitely appreciated the level of service as well as the free room upgrade upon arrival.
The staff are very friendly and most speak 3 or 4 languages.
The recently renovated rooms are clean, modern and extremely comfortable. The option of TV channels and excellent wifi service made a rainy afternoon pass away almost unnoticed.
The moderately priced restaurant (compared to all other restaurants in town!) turned out to be our refuge in the evenings, and had us coming back for more because of the excellent food served.
The location is great just on top of the hill and near the town centre but with easy acccess to the roads leading out of Lugano.
In fact, our stay was so good that we are planning to go back again. Next time we hope to go during the warmer months and enjoy the pool and gardens too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had a great experience at this hotel while visiting family staying in Lugano. The hotel was charming with beautiful views of the Alps and a very helpful, friendly staff. Our room was clean and ready for us upon arrival. The location was also wonderful for walking down to the shops, the lake and was conveniently located near the train station for easy access. We would definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

If anyone is planning to visit Lugano, Continental Parkhotel is an excellent location. The hotel has character and the room we stayed was very well situated with a stunning view of the lake. Very friendly and polite staff. We were lucky to be upgraded. I will stay again if I go back to Lugano.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This hotel has a great location. Parking right in the front of the hotel and at the back too. Thanks to the reception for an upgrade to superior room, lake view was stunning. Despite the fact that the train station is very close noise was not an issue thanks to new (and efficient) windows. Room was clean. Mattress needs replacement. Breakfast was a disappointment. No fruit and no vegetables whatsoever. Both times we came there were just eggs' left overs. The reception staff was very kind to lend us a socket connector (the Italian sockets are narrow). The weather and the view made up for those small things.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Really like the hotel. Had an upgrade to superior room, lake view was stunning, spacious and clean, comfy bed! Breakfast is good. Friendly staff.
Noise from the train could be an issue if you're not a deep sleeper. But we were fine.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.2 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.7 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#12 of 43 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Federale
Hotel Federale
#9 of 43 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
#21 of 43 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Parkhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Parkhotel

Address: Via Basilea 28, Lugano 6903, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#4 Business Hotel in Lugano
#5 Family Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Continental Parkhotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Continental Parkhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Parkhotel Lugano
Continental Parkhotel Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Continental Parkhotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.